Chevron Left
Back to Android App Components - Services, Local IPC, and Content Providers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Android App Components - Services, Local IPC, and Content Providers by Vanderbilt University

4.3
226 ratings
48 reviews

About the Course

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the core Android app components and concurrency frameworks covered in Course 2 by focusing on started and bound services, local inter-process communication (IPC), and content providers. Case study apps will be examined from multiple perspectives to learn how to program these app components using Android's material design paradigm. Students will work incrementally on a hands-on project involving a material design-based RSS reader app. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Top reviews

AA

Apr 30, 2017

This course was really good for me. I was able to learn the basic theory and working of how services and content providers work in Android. This course helped me alot.

MM

Jul 19, 2017

Assignments were pretty cool. Topics are covered thoroughly and provided links to relevant material and excellent examples.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 47 Reviews for Android App Components - Services, Local IPC, and Content Providers

By Jade F

Feb 01, 2019

The content of the course is highly relevant, but the assignment/quiz structure may not work well for all learners. Like the previous course in the specialization, lecture videos and screenshares from Doug Schmidt's college courses, optional assignments, and simple quizzes make up the course.

Your initiative to apply what is being taught is what makes the course worthwhile, and if you were to breeze through without doing the optional assignments, you may come away without absorbing much of what's being taught here.

On the other hand, if you take the initiative to apply these concepts to projects on your own, you'll be rewarded by the focused explanations in the videos and what you're asked to do in the programming assignments which are specifically engineered to make you use what's taught.

It's a great course, but requires motivation on your part!

By Bahana H M

Jul 12, 2018

This course was awesome , it has heped me a lot to know more about android development and has boosted my interest in in App development.It has met my expectations

By Abdullah M A

Oct 26, 2018

Not interactive and more academic.

Not for beginners.

By Соломонов М А

Apr 05, 2018

The course doesn't contain any useful information. Course also is obsolete. This is not a course about development for android. This course consist from some theory about android global.

By Mallikarjun H

Jan 19, 2019

Good content and very nice explanation

By Abdul H M

Sep 06, 2017

Good Subject f

By Hassan R

Nov 28, 2017

great course intricate concepts. i loved it

By Aadithyavarma

Apr 30, 2017

This course was really good for me. I was able to learn the basic theory and working of how services and content providers work in Android. This course helped me alot.

By Mahyar M

Mar 18, 2017

Great and helpful Course!

By Harold L M M

Jan 05, 2018

Very Android Architecture focused and very Design-Pattern oriented. This is a valuable course on Android because it goes deep into the details of the Full-Stack of Android Services. Highly Recommended!

By Craig S

Aug 05, 2017

Challenging material

By Michael

Jul 19, 2017

Assignments were pretty cool. Topics are covered thoroughly and provided links to relevant material and excellent examples.

By Adefunke

Oct 30, 2017

I was able to understand more about content providers but I'd have loved if there were enforced practical assignments.

By Gaetano D

Feb 03, 2017

This Course is So Great and I want to thank Prof. Schmidt 'cause every explanation is clear!

By Matt W

Jun 24, 2017

I love the detail on each of the components and the real world examples, just like the MOOC before this one. These are the kind of lectures and examples you can come back to time and time again. The material is tough, so you likely won't understand it fully your first time through the MOOC, but you'll get to know it better over time as you consult it while you make your own stuff.

By Irene B V F

Jun 14, 2018

excelente

By Francisco H

Jul 19, 2017

Another course with great content in the respective specialization.

Local IPC got my head spinning for a while, but that's good because the harder the material you study and learn, the better you get at it.

By Jaime F O C

Feb 16, 2017

This was a really good course, you'll learn, by example, theory and practice, why, how and when to use these Android App Components. Reading the entire code of each assignment is recommended, otherwise you may not fully understand why your code works, also, you may learn additional things by doing it.

By Assaduzzaman N

Sep 26, 2017

This is a very good course in most aspects.

By Prakash

Sep 26, 2018

This is an awesome experience of learning.

By Ahmed M A E

Oct 22, 2018

I like it due to its rich content!

By Gabriel P d C

Nov 02, 2018

This course does not focus on practice and coding, being an introductory course. However, there are several optional tasks that dwell deeper into coding which is good if you have extra time to spend here. Overall the course is good for beginners and can be a refresh for experienced programmers.

By Bhaskar R P

Jul 31, 2018

great

By Amit M

Sep 01, 2018

it is very helpful to make me understand the major android components

By Maria d l A T T

Jul 04, 2019

Excelente , Espero puedan evaluarme mi primer mes con la actividad de la calculadora :c