Chevron Left
Back to Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization by The University of Melbourne

4.8
225 ratings
50 reviews

About the Course

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

Top reviews

BO

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

HA

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

Filter by:

26 - 47 of 47 Reviews for Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

By claude c

Aug 19, 2017

Nothing but great!

By Chen H

Jan 14, 2018

Good perparation!

By Alexandre P

Jul 30, 2017

Very interesting and neatly prepared course. It was very easy to dive in the course and to stay motivated. I would highly recommend their course for its amazing quality.

By Dharyll P A

Jun 24, 2018

A creative way of teaching discrete optimization. Well appreciated.

By Jason H

May 10, 2019

An excellent course, very well explained and a nice touch with the story and animations. The workshops and assignments were fun and challengining. It was amazing to see the difference in efficiency given by different approaches.

By Vítor R

Apr 28, 2019

I've never been more engaged in a MOOC!!

By Boris O

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

By Pablo H

Aug 07, 2019

This is an amazing introductory course to discrete optimization. All the learning materials are very high quality, and teachers are awesome. All concepts are introduced with very practical examples, and the assignments are incrementally difficult. You will learn MiniZinc that it is a declarative programming for discrete optimisation.

It is really enjoyable thanks to the background story. I love workshop videos where teachers solved a problem similar to the assignment before you tried. Definitely, I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to introduce in this area.

By Charles E T

Jun 08, 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

By Hala A

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

By Girish B

Sep 29, 2019

Excellent course!

By breezef

Sep 29, 2019

上手有点难h

By Cristian R A

Oct 09, 2019

This course is very useful for learning basic CSP Modelling with Minizinc

By Kota M

Jan 14, 2019

Very unique and interesting course. Taught well and easy to understand step by step.

I wish the class covers more "real-world" like assignments. All examples and problem sets are described in terms of Chinese history. It was difficult to imagine what I can do with these techniques.

By Michael M

Feb 24, 2019

Challenging programming assignments and helpful workshops. Good video material. Hoped to have some more real world examples, rather than just fable-based examples.

By Kittiphon P

Jun 25, 2018

The stories and examples used in the course are great and creative. I would like to thank both professors and all TAs for creating wonderful online course and for their hard work. However, some programming assignments are too tedious with too much constraints, like PA 3.

By Krunal P

Jan 28, 2017

Good Assignments.

By Esteban

May 06, 2017

Very interesting, but I miss some theory explaining how the optimizations work behind.

By AN N

Apr 14, 2017

Excellent content. The instructors are very thorough in their explainations. The only fault I see is that there isn't many students doing the course, and such it is hard to get help, especially if your schedule is tight and you can only do online courses on Saturday and Sunday. Looking forward to taking the Advance course though.

By Shambo R C

May 29, 2019

great course for beginners and those who are looking for applications of optimisation. the only problem is it forces you to work with minizinc and may consume extra time than expected

By Leo

Jun 20, 2019

Novel, creative and interesting

By Can K

Feb 06, 2018

Should be called "Minizinc tutorial". The exercises are easy to pass, but the feedback on them are unhelpful, "You can have a better objective function" does not mean anything if you don't say which part of the model should the person improve.