Chevron Left
Back to Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization by The University of Melbourne

4.8
stars
321 ratings
83 reviews

About the Course

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

Top reviews

BO

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you so much for the course. I had to fight my coding habits, programming CP models is quite different from the traditional programming I'm, and it could even be more fun!

HA

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 79 Reviews for Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization

By Hala A

Sep 02, 2019

I recommend this course for any one starts constraint programming. It is easy to understand but I think it is required logic background.

By Jaydeep M

Jul 29, 2020

Great course for introduction to discrete optimization. Video lectures were engaging and the assignments were challenging but fun.

By Philippe C

Jan 14, 2018

Great course to learn modeling discrete optimization problems. Excellent pedagogy and amusing problems to model using MiniZinc.

By Clot J

May 30, 2019

Good teachers. They go gradually from very easy to challenging concepts. Also a good intro to the main optimization problems.

By Nikolaj V C

May 18, 2020

This course is really great. You get to model a lot of different problems, which are both fun and challenging.

By David B

Jun 11, 2020

Very good assignements, it is a good introduction to CP, so i hope to continue to the next level soon.

By Olivier C

Oct 13, 2020

Interesting course, constraint solving systems are way different from usual programming languages.

By Charles E T

Jun 08, 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

By Filip S

Oct 15, 2020

Teaches the basics of modelling really well. I'm looking forward to the follow-up course.

By Tino W

Nov 26, 2017

It's a fun course and can be applied on many optimization problems in the real world.

By Cyprien P

Jun 10, 2020

Awesome content and teachers, Minizinc is great to design contraints-based problems.

By Cristian R A

Oct 09, 2019

This course is very useful for learning basic CSP Modelling with Minizinc

By Ferry d B

Mar 03, 2020

Great course, quality of the lectures and exercises was outstanding!

By Dharyll P A

Jun 24, 2018

A creative way of teaching discrete optimization. Well appreciated.

By Juan L R A

Sep 26, 2017

A very good course. Thank you to the teachers and Staff in general.

By Duany D B S

May 30, 2017

It's a great course! Professors explain the content in a easy way!

By Cameron D

Mar 09, 2019

Great course, provided a nice introduction to discrete modelling

By Julien E

Aug 23, 2018

Excellent course ! Great programming assignments using Minizinc

By Cristina P

Feb 18, 2018

Really engaging. Also challenging assignments for weeks 3 and 4

By CHRISTIAN H

Dec 05, 2019

It has amazing knowledge, and both instructors are funny.

By Jiayi W (

Jan 13, 2020

Got some hand-on experience with constraint programming.

By Gilles L

Aug 31, 2017

Really interesting course with challenging assignment!

By Carlos A

Nov 16, 2017

Different teaching way and really interesting course

By Daniel V

Jan 27, 2018

Wonderful. It changes the way of solving problems.

By jquaranta

Jun 12, 2020

Very informative and interesting. I recommend it.