Chevron Left
Back to Concurrent Programming in Java

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Concurrent Programming in Java by Rice University

4.5
384 ratings
61 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of concurrent programming in the context of Java 8. Concurrent programming enables developers to efficiently and correctly mediate the use of shared resources in parallel programs. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use basic concurrency constructs in Java such as threads, locks, critical sections, atomic variables, isolation, actors, optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections, as well as their theoretical foundations (e.g., progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability). Why take this course? • It is important for you to be aware of the theoretical foundations of concurrency to avoid common but subtle programming errors. • Java 8 has modernized many of the concurrency constructs since the early days of threads and locks. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on the forums. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Concurrency theory: progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability • Use of threads and structured/unstructured locks in Java • Atomic variables and isolation • Optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections in Java (e.g., concurrent queues, concurrent hashmaps) • Actor model in Java Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of concurrent Java programs, and will also help you master other concurrent programming system that you may encounter in the future (e.g., POSIX threads, .NET threads)....

Top reviews

PS

Sep 02, 2017

Great course. With minimal effort you can learn about important concepts and see immediate results regarding the actual speedup you can achieve using concurrent programming.

SM

Nov 12, 2017

This was a good course and covered all the topics relevant to the course. I liked the Optimistic Concurrency in week 4 - that was an area I was not exposed to before

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 60 Reviews for Concurrent Programming in Java

By Abinash S

Jan 24, 2018

Precise but comprehensive at the same time

By Saifuddin M

Nov 12, 2017

This was a good course and covered all the topics relevant to the course. I liked the Optimistic Concurrency in week 4 - that was an area I was not exposed to before

By Tai H T

Nov 22, 2017

Good course. Thank you.

By Mahesh B G

May 31, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course more than the Parallel Programming in Java

By Robinson S

May 19, 2019

The course is very good, teaching in simple way several complex questions.

By Naveen L

Jul 15, 2019

The course is pretty good and lays down the basic theoretical knowledge about concurrency needed to begin developing expertise in this field. The quizzes and projects help you remember and understand the theoretical aspects while at the same time the projects also give you a glimpse of how the learned theory and aspects are applied in a more realistic coding setting rather than pseudo code.

By Elias R

Jul 29, 2019

Very interesting and comprehensive. Maybe a little bit too easy.

By Prabhakar K S

Aug 11, 2019

one best course to understand the foundation for threads and concurrent programming.

By Ag I B A D

Sep 17, 2019

great course on concurrency topic

By Guillermo D

Jan 03, 2019

Excelent course, just some mixups with the concurrent API used in the assignment for Week3

By Luciano F

Jan 28, 2019

Lo consiglio a tutti, Vorrei soltanto che gli argomenti fossero affrontati più approfonditamente dal punto di vista teorico

By vini g

Apr 12, 2019

Better than Parallel Programming

I would prefer more assignments.

By Josefine L

Jul 09, 2018

Very good, but I'd like more practical examples and walk-troughs. If you don't get it the in the only example or the demo, then you're left on your own to Google for more examples and a deeper understanding.

By Samuele M

May 06, 2018

Good course, with relevant basics of concurrency, even if I expected deeper and detailed contents.

By Atsuya K

Feb 06, 2018

A good primer to concurrent programming. Week 3 and Week 4 assignments are well-designed.

By Simon C

Oct 18, 2017

Very interesting! i hope that the third is the same

By Cong X

Nov 10, 2017

It's a good introductory course. The programming assignment are indeed too simple though...

By Antonio J M G

May 13, 2018

Only thing I missed are more optional exercises, otherwise a great course.

By Xiao X

Mar 15, 2018

The feedback will be similar to the first course, parallel programming in java, such that the course contents are good. The lecturer can explain the theory very well. But the homework is just repeating of the demo video. I hope we can have the opportunity to practice the actual thread creation, joining, etc. instead of using the API call.

By Konstantin M

Dec 10, 2017

Generally, provided material is very usefull in modern programming experience.

Something I would change in the course program are instructions to use custom PCDP library. This hardly can be used in real-life projects in future. Some original Java constructions is a better choice for me.

By Fu S W

Aug 09, 2017

some suggestions: *the assignment is too easy.*

perhaps make more mini projects with different situations to solve:

parallelize simple program (more!!) / identify and fix deadlock / livelock / improve performance for bad implementation)

thanks for your great effort in offering this course! GREAT JOB!

By Travis W

Jul 30, 2018

A lot of my time has been wasted due to a very poor explanation of actors. All it takes is "Actors have their own threads and that is how they are concurrent.

By Marcos N F

Jun 13, 2019

It is great but some homework had bugs

By André F L C

Jul 04, 2019

Este curso depende del curso de Paralelismo, por esta razón se debe tomar los cursos en orden. Debería tener mas ejemplos de código para un mejor feedback de la teoría.

By John O O

Aug 06, 2019

This course is great!... But... it could be better if code explanations are giving in the videos.