Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
stars
3,631 ratings
770 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BH
Jan 13, 2020

Provides a comprehensive introduction to cryptographic history, current technology, best practices and known attacker techniques. A great deal of material is covered in a relatively compact program.

BC
Mar 10, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 757 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Keshav S A

Oct 19, 2020

I have greatly enjoyed the course though learning has been slow for me as I have been out of touch too long.

By Lauris L

Apr 21, 2018

Very hard course although explained very well, takes a lot of time to understand every concept but worth it.

By Sebastien A

Apr 6, 2020

Great course, some difficulty reading notation, I would make the questions a bit more verbose in the tests

By Mostafa B

Mar 16, 2018

Thank you very much for this amazing course, my priorities in software has been changed after this course.

By Boyan

Jul 24, 2017

Pretty informative course! Material was well presented and seemed up-to-date. Looking forward to Crypto 2!

By Nelson P V

Mar 27, 2020

Excellent courseware and delivery! I highly recommend digital security professionals to take this course.

By bdug

Oct 14, 2019

Gives a very good comprehensive view of cryptography. One regret: should have included digital signatures

By Fernando G

Feb 26, 2017

Excellent course, i recommend it to any one willing to start understanding and working with cryptography.

By Andrey L

Dec 6, 2020

In this course I've got much more cryptography knowledge than during my 15 years programming experience.

By Partha M

Nov 19, 2016

Really helps to understand the underlying concepts of SSl and hence helps understand the working of SSL.

By nate

Mar 9, 2019

I feel pretty pleasure for finishing this course. The teacher is patient and knowledgeable, I like him!

By Arshi B

Oct 20, 2020

A broad, fundamental dive into private and public key encryption systems. Challenging and informative!

By Davide

Aug 11, 2020

Great course. Arguments are explained quickly but clear. Very good the quality of lectures and slides.

By Dalton P

Dec 17, 2018

Challenging Interesting Course. Really goes thought very basic concepts to build everything bottom up!

By Alexey A

Mar 11, 2018

The schedule was very tough. There were a lot of tests in the end of each module. But it was worth it.

By Nicolai S

Jun 4, 2017

I did a lot of crypto back at the university. This is a great opportunity for a thorough refreshment.

By Julien C

May 31, 2017

Excellent material to learn what "security" means, and what algorithms have been built to improve it.

By yuji w

Feb 22, 2017

it is a great course, covers a lots of different area with details and concepts. i like it very much.

By Stefan H

Sep 19, 2017

Very thorough course and engaged presentation. Thanks for providing, and waiting for the sequel ...

By Daniel D

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent introduction to crypto primitives with gentle coverage of formal definitions and methods.

By Ed K

Feb 15, 2018

This was an excellent introduction to a topic that is difficult to understand at the detail level.

By Pramanshu R

Jun 13, 2017

Complete introduction to basic aspects of cryptography along with required pre-requisite of maths.

By Joaquín H R

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent content and the teacher is very clear. A decent mathematical background is recommended.

By J.P. H D A

Oct 3, 2017

Your course is very much informative and the quiz gives scope for self exploration on the topics.

By Deleted A

Mar 31, 2016

This course is one of the best course I have tried lately and I cannot wait for Cryptography 2.