Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
stars
3,326 ratings
690 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BH

Jan 14, 2020

Provides a comprehensive introduction to cryptographic history, current technology, best practices and known attacker techniques. A great deal of material is covered in a relatively compact program.

BC

Mar 11, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 674 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Christer J

Jan 04, 2020

Very instructive videos and lectures, did the course to get an better insight into crypto and it gave me just what I wanted

By Rahul B S

Jun 06, 2019

This course's take on Cryptography seems very unique. I would love to be a part of the next course. Eagerly waiting for it.

By Raymi K C

Jun 21, 2020

Very insightful course. The professor explains concepts very well and backtracks to make sure you've grasped the concept.

By Jacob R

Mar 13, 2016

Excellent course for those of you who want to know the very inner workings of encryption, how it works and why we use it.

By Georgi A

May 26, 2018

Amazing course. I would recommend it to everyone who is interested into more in-depth cryptography knowledge. Good job !

By 黃暐倫

Oct 29, 2017

Thanks to this nice course, I now have some basic ideas about my Special Project. I am now anticipating Cryptography II.

By Ang L

Apr 10, 2017

Succinct but in-depth course about the important crypto primitives and how they work behind the scene. Awesome course!

By Fabio L B

Feb 24, 2020

Great Course, very important for me to get more informations to create new solutions for my company here im Brazil.

By Sai K A

Dec 24, 2019

Really good course..but application should've been taught ..was very tough to learn coding it in python from scratch

By Juan P V C

Jun 03, 2017

Excelllent course , the evaluations are hard but i think that is because the topic need mathematical and algoritms

By Chen S

Feb 12, 2017

Lecturer was able to communicate and breakup difficult topics into simple easy to understand lessons progressively.

By Ivan M

Oct 19, 2016

Very stimulating, very accurate, good balance between theory and practical examples. Many thanks to the teacher !!!

By Sudhir C

May 05, 2016

This is one the best course to learn Cryptography. This course is speacilly design for basic level to higher level.

By Vladlen L

Dec 17, 2016

One of the best introduction in Cryptography and Number Theory. Thanks to Author for clear explained information!

By David W

Jul 20, 2020

Excellent overview of Cryptographic concepts with a great range of interesting and challenging problems to solve.

By Luiz C

Oct 27, 2018

This Course is TOP level: a must for anyone interested in cryptography, without any strong prerequisite knowledge

By 端木赐

Sep 01, 2016

Pretty nice course! It helps me understand why encryption algorithms have been designed to be the way it is now.

By Abiven J C

Jun 08, 2016

Un cours excellent, capable de vous emmener des points de détails important. J'ai beaucoup aimé même si c'est un

By Kartikeya S R

Jul 03, 2019

Highly recommend this course for understanding the Basics of Crypto with the necessary Mathematical foundations

By Igor T

Jun 28, 2017

This course is excellent, it fullfills what is promised in the course intro through crystal clear explanations.

By matt s

Dec 13, 2016

great introduction to crypto.

Enjoyable and well designed course. Challenging material and practical exercises.

By 洪恒藝

Mar 23, 2016

Very very interesting topic. I like this course so much. It is the key to the information security. Thank you.

By Pedro G

Jun 06, 2017

Stanford's MOOCs are the best! They are hard but always worth the effort. And can't wait for Cryptography II.

By Lauris L

Apr 21, 2018

Very hard course although explained very well, takes a lot of time to understand every concept but worth it.

By Sebastien A

Apr 06, 2020

Great course, some difficulty reading notation, I would make the questions a bit more verbose in the tests