Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
2,729 ratings
542 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BC

Mar 11, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

LG

Dec 16, 2017

This course gives is perfect to start learning cryptography, explanations are detailed, topics carefully selected combining theory with real world examples and making emphasis in important details.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 529 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Tapas K N

Nov 28, 2018

This is a very nice course. It is my first Crypto course. Professor Dan Boneh, you explained concepts nicely. It made me realize how crazy and intelligent hacks are possible.

By zeyuan

Jan 07, 2019

LOVE this course and cannot wait to start Part II: Professor Boneh is a wonderful professor and he truly enjoys teaching this course. Some mathematical background is required, however, and some of the formulation at this points look unnecessary (but also necessary for being rigorous)

By Junaid M

Jan 10, 2019

nice one..

By Amoghavarsha R

Feb 11, 2019

Great course! Waiting for Cryptography II ! Thanks very much!

By 路凡义

Mar 10, 2019

I feel pretty pleasure for finishing this course. The teacher is patient and knowledgeable, I like him!

By Manana M H

Mar 07, 2019

This is the best course for a beginner especially in terms of understanding the concept of security in relation to encryption schemes that are used in practice today. This course best explains security of encryption algorithms. Looking forward to crypto II.

By Ionut M C

Mar 10, 2019

I took this course back in 2015. I still remember the joy I had then as I did now :)

By SAURABH K

Mar 14, 2019

GOOD COURSE WHICH COVERS ALL TOPICS

By Cesar M G

Mar 14, 2019

Excelente curso.

By SIDDHARTH S

Mar 17, 2019

really good course

By Zurisadai H S

Mar 20, 2019

very good, compadre

By Eduard S A V

Dec 15, 2018

Really a great course, I enjoyed it.

By Trial E

Nov 15, 2018

This course really teaches the theory I was missing while using all the latest crypto tech practically and understanding it conceptually. Thank you Dan!

By Dalton P

Dec 17, 2018

Challenging Interesting Course. Really goes thought very basic concepts to build everything bottom up!

By Idan F

Sep 14, 2017

Great course!!

By Jorge A A E

Sep 08, 2016

Excelent course and professors..

By Rolando A C V

Jan 24, 2017

nitido

By Torgeir H

Feb 11, 2017

Great course. Challenging topics and exams

By Thein T T L

May 31, 2017

This is a really exciting and enjoyable course. I've learnt a lot. The segments are structured very well, and the assessment questions and exercises are very helpful.

By Kenneth H

Apr 09, 2017

This course is the real deal. You will have to work hard to pass it. It gives a solid overview of the main cryptographic concepts like pseudo random generators, functions and permutations, block and stream ciphers, public key encryption, and key exchange. If you haven't studied number theory, plan to spend some extra time getting up to speed.

By Nikita K

Feb 25, 2017

The way material is presented and the cource pace is perfect. After lessons the topics are clear and there will be much more understanding why all those crypto libraries are built like they're built, and how to use them even in case the API is not elegant and is error prone. Can't wait until part II!

By Matthew W

Nov 15, 2017

Can't wait to see part 2 (and more advance ones).

By Srinidhi

Jun 04, 2017

Amazing! cant wait to do the second part

By Camilo H V G

Sep 21, 2016

Dan Boneh is an excellent techer, he has the ability to simplify complex topic. So greatful to be able to take clasess with him.

By Thomas G

Nov 19, 2016

brilliant