Chevron Left
Back to Getting and Cleaning Data

Getting and Cleaning Data, Johns Hopkins University

4.6
5,419 ratings
868 reviews

About this Course

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top reviews

By BE

Oct 26, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

By AR

May 14, 2018

Loved the structure of the course. Learned a lot. The course project seemed a little funky , especially creating the codebook for an already existing set of data but was a useful teaching aid.

Filter by:

829 Reviews

By Siva Mani

Dec 06, 2018

It is great time. The course content was amazing. I learnt lot of new things.

By Johannes Kirchner

Dec 03, 2018

Really helpful course

By Dimitris Andriopoulos

Nov 30, 2018

The assignments are sometimes poorly explained. Other than that this is a solid and very useful course.

By Thej Kiran Ravichandran

Nov 29, 2018

Horrible Assignment. So vague. So much puzzling to do. Students cannot waste their time in attempting to understand the loose vague assignment that was made. ASsignment took me 4-5 hrs of pondering and referrinf to online material just to freaking understand partially what the hell is expected of me to do. I hate this part of CoursERA IT is ugly!

By Walson QIAN

Nov 29, 2018

2

By Francisco Miguel Rivas Ortega

Nov 28, 2018

This course was very good, I learned a lot of useful things about R and how processed data should look.

By Lisa Noor Arida

Nov 24, 2018

greaat

By Alex Hudson

Nov 21, 2018

The course has very valuable information and teaches many useful skills. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone with an interest in programmatic data analysis and/or data science. It's not a flashy course, but it teaches very necessary support skills.

By vipin jose

Nov 20, 2018

A must take course for data science carrer... Very good concept explaination with really good hands on with Swirl.

By Javier R Lores Gil

Nov 18, 2018

U

n

p

r

o

f

e

s

s

i

o

n

a

l

.