Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox, Johns Hopkins University

4.5
18,689 ratings
3,771 reviews

About this Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)

Top reviews

By LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

By AI

Apr 24, 2018

This course was a good intro especially in setting all the necessary software for future courses. I suggest to read the manuals, books and other readings the profs suggest. The resources are helpful.

Filter by:

3,643 Reviews

By Vannesa Giraldo

Apr 24, 2019

This is a really good way to start in Data Science. The course is easy to follow, it has many exercises and practices. And you can also study by your own and get more knowledge and feel more and more confident with data job

By Piyush Danej

Apr 22, 2019

GOod for setup

By Leonardo Arbelaez

Apr 22, 2019

It was straight forward. However, there were some difficulties installing RStudio using the latest version. I had to go the previous one .e.g. Latest was 3.5 I used 3.4 matching RTools. Other than that very straight fwd, including Github (basic) usage

By Abhay Parameswar

Apr 21, 2019

Very useful for beginners

By Jake Perfetto

Apr 20, 2019

The lectures are sometimes needlessly long with a lot of superfluous talking. The course would be better with more concrete examples and THE OUTPUT OF EACH INCLUDED. The course explains very simple queries and then asks you to do complex ones in the quizzes when the examples were poorly explained. Khan academy is a much superior course to this one, yet it does not offer a course certification. If this course actually wants to teach people efficiently it should emulate the real-time learning and coding in browser that Khan Academy has.

By Fengqi Xu

Apr 19, 2019

I learned git hub, which is really useful for me!

By Ornella Sathoud

Apr 19, 2019

The tutorial on github was not very clear to me, and the images used during the video and for the reading section were very blurry. Everything else was helpful

By Marc-Antoine Giguère

Apr 19, 2019

Pretty basic (from a software developer perspective) but can see the utility for newcomers to programming and informatics in general!

By yepin

Apr 18, 2019

Very impressive

By Nedino Lester D. Cayetano

Apr 18, 2019

I really like your approach on making people who are new in this field understand most of the basic concepts. I've been in software industry for so many years now and the reason why I took this course is because I am planning to include most of your courses on my team enabling program. Many thanks and cheers!