Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox, Johns Hopkins University

4.5
17,959 ratings
3,638 reviews

About this Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)

Top reviews

By LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

By AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

Filter by:

3,514 Reviews

By Conrado Hernán Villa Gil

Feb 17, 2019

Excelent course

By Kenichi Araki

Feb 17, 2019

I liked the fact that only nominal numbers of tools are explained with clear reasons. So, I can trust the recommendations and spend my time on learning these tools.

By Michael Jonita

Feb 17, 2019

Interesting and relevant to my current job. Learnt something new which I can apply in addition to course requirements.

By Max Meier

Feb 16, 2019

I believe an updated version would be beneficial, as some R packages have now somewhat different functionalities. Furthermore, I would have liked a bit more instructions into how to create a markdown file. Otherwise fairly easy course; not sure what to expect for the rest of the specialization then, although I've read very positive results. Therefore, I will continue.

By Eric Petersen

Feb 14, 2019

The quickest yet most in-depth way to learn the RStudio tool kit and also learn the basic definitions that exist in data science.

By Jorge David Baez Hernandez

Feb 14, 2019

Buena introducción

By Antonio Arcano

Feb 14, 2019

Excellent

By Biplab Haldar

Feb 14, 2019

Very Basic and easy to learn

By Sakib Shahriar

Feb 12, 2019

Well organized and straight to the point with the various introduction to the field.

By Anirudh Bhatjiwale

Feb 11, 2019

Perfect way to begin your data science journey.