Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
14,644 ratings

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors

(331 Reviews)

Interactive content

(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

CR

Invalid date

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

CC

Invalid date

This one of the best courses I've ever had here in Coursera. I really learned a lot and enjoy my learning career. The topics were well explained and the ideas presented in an interconnected manner.

Filter by:

5001 - 5025 of 5,035 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By John T

Feb 13, 2017

Pretty basic stuff but you have to take it to advance to presumably more interesting material

By Berkin K

Aug 1, 2023

So far so good. But the contents look getting older...

By Hassan K

Jun 3, 2024

Personally, it was boring.

By Bilal A

Aug 8, 2017

We need extra materials

By Mariette R

Aug 10, 2018

Fast paced

By Nang M T A

Oct 23, 2019

Thanks

By Mustafa A

Feb 22, 2023

شكرا

By A G

Mar 17, 2020

good

By yurigutierrezm@hotmail.com

Sep 3, 2021

NO

By Mohamed t

Oct 24, 2020

i

By John T

Apr 30, 2024

The instruction is good but a worksheet should be made to cut and past our work. Also, the form used to attach the video and lesson plan should already be cut and pasted, to be retrieved without Hassel. I was a cook in the army. We only filled out the menu, we did not need to create the worksheet to fill it out. Alot of people are not tech people nor should they be. A pre-made worksheet to fill in would solve this problem. The professors may think it's simple. We learn I +1 but have to know I + 10 to submit the work or download the work sheets. The worksheet can be pre-made so the students just have to fill in the material

By Ryn P

May 4, 2024

A lot of the questions are either subjective. Dude is over the top weird, distracts from learning. VERY white, zero intersectionality, and very WERID. That some white people s*. The best quote to describe this comes from them, from Mod 3. "But to me, it just looks like the teacher thinks that gaining attention means drawing attention to yourself. A little Scary, no doubt."

By Benjamin K

May 12, 2016

There was some interesting information in here, and I found a few things useful. That said, you have to sift through a lot of gimmicks to get to the parts of the lessons that actually matter.

By 罗詹妮

Apr 2, 2016

好难。觉得没讲清楚。而且作业也太让人头疼了

By Byron C

Apr 1, 2020

No entendí nada

By Dr. M U

Oct 16, 2015

Worse taught

By Shahlo S

Apr 4, 2023

By Sour

Dec 31, 2020

The quantity of assessment is a joke. I'm an English teacher in Beijing and I literally passed the most of the exams within an hour cause I'm a good teacher that knows how to teach. However the fact that I have to submit homeworks and videos is out of context. In this class we've seen that teacher should take care of their time and balanced their profession to not get exhausted. What's the point of giving us homework then ? To be honest, if I didn't what I'm talking about with my subjects, I wouldn't be able to pass the exams. This is my opinion so take it or leave it. I thought this was all about acquiring competences rather than testing results. It's a shame that I can't learn at my own pace too because of that.

By Martin S

May 10, 2023

Right now, the course is a waste of time. Took the course as a review. Blitzed through the 1st course in one day, which I should, only to get hamstrung by bogus peer-reviews ... **The peer reviews are absolutely killing this course-series.** It's obvious that users with limited English-Skills are rejecting native-speakers, and there is no way ASU and the platform aren't aware of it. The system even rejects file uploads that are completely valid. The 4.9 rating that the course boasts all the way through is very difficult to believe.

By Marianne B

May 21, 2022

I am stuck with a quiz that I received 100% the first time and I'm graded with a D score. I took a few more times, thinking that there was a glitch I could fix, but it still will not let me proceed.

Also, I have asked where to find the financial aid support for my course and was directed to the financial aid information on the site. Yes, I read that. I cannot, however, access how to obtain an application for financial aid specifically for my course.

Disappointing.

By Sandhya C

May 14, 2024

A clickbait course. Advertised as free, and then mid-way you are told you HAVE to upgrade to continue with the course. How unethical is that?

By Könül İ

Nov 5, 2023

Can you please review my assignment in 4th week ?

By Jivan Y

Mar 7, 2021

its not about what i need to learn.

By Maryam K

Sep 14, 2023

I have reaceived the certificate

By Abdullah G

Sep 22, 2023

i want to unenroll this course