Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
14,644 ratings

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors

(331 Reviews)

Interactive content

(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

CR

Invalid date

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

CC

Invalid date

This one of the best courses I've ever had here in Coursera. I really learned a lot and enjoy my learning career. The topics were well explained and the ideas presented in an interconnected manner.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 5,034 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Bishoy T

Aug 22, 2022

This one's course materials are excellent. In addition, professors' explanations and methods are enjoyable, simple, and perfect.

Thank you to the University of Arizona for providing this first course of the TESOL certificate of TESOL programme and allowing me to study there, as well as to the Coursera platform for providing us with this scientific momentum. I thank the professors from the bottom of my heart for their hard work with us and for the valuable scientific material presented in this course.

By Andres F M D A

Sep 26, 2016

Thanks, this course is an evidence of the advantages of a mooc and a good use of the technology, i learned a lot and i'll keep in mind all your advice. I want to go through all the courses of the specialization, even though i don't have the $$ to purchase for the courses certification, the important thing is that i'm learning a lot and my future first students will be the real certification and rectification of what i have leaned, giving my best self to teach them. Teachers. You are awesome. thanks

By S Z

Jun 25, 2023

In my considered opinion, the course under discussion represents an exceptional example of pedagogical excellence. Throughout the duration of the program, I have acquired a considerable amount of knowledge and am deeply appreciative of the instructors' efforts in crafting a comprehensive and insightful curriculum. I would like to express my gratitude to Dr. Shane Dixon, in particular, for their exceptional dedication and commitment to delivering a course that is truly exemplary in all respects.

Sara

By Daniela C

Jan 25, 2020

I enjoyed the video lessons. I found the system of rating my classmates and my classmates rating me an interesting and stimulating activity. It was interesting to read other peoples' opinions, rate them and give feedback. I became aware that my feedback improved and was more constructive over the duration of the course and I hope that it was a bit helpful to the classmates that I rated. It gave me a sense of practicing something that will be part of what I do when teaching a language. Although,

.

By Hakan A

Jan 30, 2020

The course combines theory with practice in an organized and effective way. After a quick and understandable information about the teaching principles, course teachers really illustrate how we can apply these theoratical information into our classroom environment. The course also handles every aspect of teaching process: Methodologies, Learning Strategies, Students Autonomy and even Teacher Burnout. Really useful course for all language teachers. Thank You Coursera and Arizona State University.

By Carolin C

Nov 30, 2016

It is a recommended course for any teachers out there. Even though this course is focusing on teaching English language, I find that it is still helpful for teachers of any other subjects, even other languages! I thoroughly enjoy weekly assignment even though I have to admit that I didn't complete some by the end of the week. But, it is all on me because I am responsible for my own learning. Good luck to everyone who is taking this course and anyone who will be taking this course! Cheers!

By Jacqueline K

Aug 10, 2016

The Foundational Principles portion of this specialization is really comprehensive, but also not complex enough that a new learner can't complete and understand the material. There is a strong focus on teacher technique that I appreciated. There is a good combination of audio-visual material and reading material. I prefer to learn through reading so it was nice to intersperse articles and authentic research with the lessons. Would definitely recommend this to new and seasoned learners!

By Ijeoma U

Sep 27, 2020

It was an amazing experience! I must commend Dr. Shane Dixon's level of creativity in making the course interesting and very easy to comprehend. His ability to explain the most complex ideas in simple forms is quite incredible. I never thought that taking an online course will be so rewarding and educative, my experience has cleared all my doubts. I also appreciate Coursera's efforts in putting this wonderful courses together, and I look forward to taking my courses on this platform.

By Francis Y

Oct 19, 2019

Although it was an introductory course, the foundational principles were very helpful, even as an experienced teacher. Because I did not have any formal training in education (i.e. did not major in the education field), the principles taught offered a lot of insights into why I have been doing what I did in the classroom and why I was trained in particular ways of teaching. This is a great course to start the TESOL certification process or to see if this is what you really want.

By Saida H

Jun 13, 2020

The course was very useful and gave me a lot of ideas that I didn't know as a future teacher and also it gave me the opportunity to discover more about the teaching field making it seem like an exciting journey to take. The tutors were very spontaneous and not strick at all, they are friendly and have a smooth message delivery way that the student understands what they are talking about immediatly. I really enjoyed the course and looking forward seeing you in real life. Thank you

By Ana L

May 9, 2022

Great course. The only thing I would change is the peer review process. It would be great to add another review question. Something that establishes if the answer is readable, looks plagerized, looks to be written by someone who doesn't have the language level needed to be in this course.

I am a very simpathetic reader/listener, and I don't look for accuracy or correct grammar. Even still, many of the assignments I reviewed showed huge gaps in comprehension and comprehensibilty.

By Gennie V

May 7, 2022

That was an incredible experience! I got so much useful information, advices, examples and even practice in expressing myself while writing essays every week. And even more than that, I started to feel myself integrated in a global community of talented teachers and gained more confidence in my teaching practice. Sending my gratitude to Dr. Shane Dixon, Dr. Justin Shewell and Jessica Sinco for creating this beautiful course and to Coyrsera for giving us the opportunity to study.

By Натали Н

Jan 27, 2021

I enjoyed this course a lot! It has really meaningful and useful content, interesting video and thought-provoking assignments. Getting through this course I gained a great deal of knowledge and got to know teaching techniques and strategies. I can’t thank the creators of this fabulous course enough for the opportunity to participate in it and want to express sincere gratitude to all teachers who were behind the scene. I am looking forward to going in-depth of the next course.

By Mark A C

Sep 27, 2021

I am really grateful and thankful that I was able to join and have this course. I learned about how teaching English is, what are the methods, strategies and the principles. How teachers, students, and class are compared to some objects to emphasize and explain every thought in an understandable way. I am also thankful for the faculty and the Coursera itself for granting me the privilege to be one of their student in this course, which will be a great plus for me in the future.

By Brant T

May 23, 2017

Having both taken Barbara Oakley's coursera course about learning as well as reading her book, I was already familiar with the ideas about focused and diffuse learning modes. This course applied not only that information that I was aware (and quite fond) of to the idea of language learning, but also pulled in a number of other useful pedagogical resources and presented them in a coherent and cohesive manner. I am looking forward to the next course in the TOEFL specialization.

By Fernando B M

Nov 22, 2020

I took this course to learn how to teach myself better. I feel stuck in my english learning and I'm currently learning a third language, so this was a pretty nice oportunity. In the end... I actually feel motivated to get into teaching, and even better, what I learned here can translate (Pun intended) to any other topic, not only language teaching, something that will come very handy as a Software developer and musician... I don't know, after TOEFL, I might just go for TESOL.

By Rosa F

Sep 8, 2020

I gave a 5 starts rate because i really like the way you presented the part 1: materials and videos was so precisely ant not too long, that study was not feel like taking a course but reviewing things that we may be achieved a long time ago but we had forgotten somehow. it has a personal approach to me as a person and as a teacher, in order to never forget how ridiculous we have to be while teaching to help our students to feel really comfy with their learning process.

Thanks,

By Engaisi P

Aug 25, 2018

I loved and enjoyed the teaching style of this course. It modeled the way I should be teaching perfectly and so I was able to connect the content I was learning to the way the teacher was teaching. Lots of teacher talk and body language and scaffolding was modeled.

I also learned very useful information which I look forward in using in my own classes in the future.

All in all, spectacular. Keep it up and I hope those who come after me will enjoy it just as much.

And thank you!

By Larry N C W

Dec 13, 2023

I enjoyed the course. It was a little more difficult than I imagined it would be though. It comes back to a principle we spoke of in the course where students need more real-world experience. The introduction to some of the scholars, such as Francious (among others) was just so brief that I found it difficult to retain which one said which thing. Overall, I think being able to feel this is important as it allows one to experience what their learners might experience as well.

By Hong L

Mar 19, 2022

Teaching English now! Lessons have created an unforgetable life-long impact on my teaching with its solid, professional, theoretical and practical instructions. It has spread a complete new scene of teaching before my eyes and guided me in teaching successfully and in designing consecutive nation -wide certified teaching plans for the rest of years ever since I started the lessons in 2015. I admire the teachers with their profound knowledge and their beautiful smiles!

By Shashi P

Aug 8, 2023

This course provides technical knowledge and effective instructional strategies to teach not just English but any other course. The valuable practical references guide educators on how to empower students by giving them autonomy for implicit learning beyond the confines of the classroom. Finally, toward the end of the course, educators become confident enough to ignite student's interest and sustain themselves in the profession without a burnout.

Dr Shashi Prabha Nagendra

By Jose d C G M

Jun 28, 2021

It has been a great and inspirational experience from the teachers to the few peer's reviews readings from other tutors from different parts of the world. The teaching techniques used by this university teachers 'metaphors' very engaging and useful a great tool! It definitely helps me and I am planning to continue taking the next TESOL course in order to achieve a higher degree of certification. Thank you to all involved in producing this fine program. Gonzalo Manrique.

By Narimann

Aug 23, 2022

I really enjoyed the course! Very insightful and informative yet not boring. The way it is presented adds so much fun to the learning process; the videos, the stories and the reflection questions were amusing. Also, the assesment methodology is pretty accurate and didn't need extended periods of writing considering that us -the learners- are professionals with jobs and responsibilities, this was a very thoughtful act of the material developers. Definitely recommended.

By Steven D J

Sep 29, 2019

Thank you for this help on teacher/student relations; sharing the importance of practice, helping students feel smart, relating teaching experiences to others, and stressing how hard it is to perform something new. This class has helped me with my teaching practice, to make certain my classroom is more of a co-op with students. Dr. Dixon is so engaging as a teacher and mentor, I'm now going to search for his books to further learn his techniques to help develop mine.

By Rakhmonova M

Sep 18, 2020

I love teaching. But sometimes I feel that my students do not want to learn English. And I always ask myself: "Why are they lazy? Why aren't they doing anything?" And I found the answer. Because I did not give them enough chance to practise. Almost all of my lessons were organized by lecturing. I used to teach only grammar rules. I can't remember using body language during my lessons. After taking part in this course I learned many things. Thank you all very much!!!