Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
14,658 ratings

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors

(331 Reviews)

Interactive content

(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

A great course! It is a well planned and goes light taking into consideration that the learners work as teachers. I have become a great fan of Dr. Dixon and hope to learn more in the modules to come.

IV

Invalid date

I really loved being in the course. Every lesson is challenging and enlightening. And the kind of approach each lessons were delivered, very much endulging! Kudos to the new best teachers on my list.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 5,037 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Egunjobi M

Apr 16, 2020

Teach English Now is filled with a lot of needful contents and techniques for better language learning acquisition. And lessons under it are not, at all, limited to teaching language alone; it extends to every aspect of teaching subjects. It exposes a teacher to better strategies for teaching , that would make students feel engaged and interesting about the contents. With adequate understanding of this course, teachers can produce confident and competent graduates who are as proficient at speaking, writing, reading and listening as native English speakers. I was fortunate to have taken this course.

By jujuyuan

Nov 18, 2016

I love the course and it is so useful.

The Lecturers are so wonderful even thougth all the lessons are on the video but I really can feel their efforts to make the course more approachable and easier to catch up.

The principles and techniques introduced about language learning are really pratical and scientific.

Besides, reading other learners' assignment is also beneficial to me!

Love it soooooooo much!

I will keep on learning as soon as I've got spare time!

Hope I can get the final certificate!

Thank you all who have made contribution to making this course! You guys are just awesome!

By SAFFANA A S

Apr 23, 2021

Greetings to all teachers and founders of this very useful and thoughtful course in all its steps.

I had a lot of fun during this session and lamented a lot because I haven't had this experience in a long time.

I really took all the principles of this course and started using them with my students immediately. I started to feel like a different teacher after this.

Very valuable information that I did not know so clearly before, I will be grateful to you all for life.

I hope to complete the next session with you and keep abreast of all new things you have in the future

Thank you so much.

By Angelo A

Jul 4, 2023

This course has already introduced me to the foundational principles of ESL instruction. Metaphors were provided to ensure we understand the language importance in for the student linguistic acquisition! The lessons and modules are cohesive. I appreciate the peer-graded assignments because it allowed me to understand the viewpoints of people from around the world about the essential questions raised every time. Overall, this course was very helpful to me because it provided me an in-depth understanding of the basic knowledge to become an effective ESL instructor! Thank you!

By Van A N T

Oct 30, 2021

My cordial thanks go to Susan Edrington, Executive Director, Global Launch at ASU, for organizing such a magnificent Professional Certificate on TESOL. I offer my special thanks and gratitude to DrShane Dixon and Ms. GL Jessica Cinco for taking us on some incredible adventures. My heartiest thanks also go to DrJustin Shewell for designing the curriculum more engaging and effective. Finally, I must thank and express my gratitude to my peers for guiding me with formative reviews throughout the journey.I now consider myself honored and lucky to be a member of the TEN family.

By Valentina

Mar 28, 2023

This course is a great alternative to all TEFL online courses you can find out there. It allows you to proceed at your own pace, without limiting yourself with time and energy. Dr. Dixon is extremely prepared and the overall structure of the course is well-organized. I found extremely useful all the material and information provided throughout the course. I will definitely apply these strategies and techniques to my teaching method! I recommend the course to everyone who is willing to get certified as a TEFL teacher and who needs to schedule their own learning journey!

By Aedrian A

Jan 20, 2021

This is an extremely engaging, enjoyable, whole-rounded and well-prepared course, perhaps one of the best MOOCs I have taken. While this course (and the Coursera Specializations and Professional Certificate where it belongs) is geared towards TESOL, the takeaways from this course can perhaps be applied in any teaching-learning/pedagogical setting since, ultimately, all educational efforts should draw from maximizing the participants' urge and faculties to learn and practice. I am looking forward to complete the whole Professional Certificate in the foreseeable future.

By Iryna K

Feb 28, 2018

Thank you very much for this course! It was very useful and interesting!

I've already started to implement all the knowledge I got here and I feel that my lessons became better and the students' result became higher as well! I am going to pass all the courses and capstones because the more we do something the easier it becomes!

Now I am an undergraduate student; however, in future I am planning to obtain my Master's Degree in the USA. So, if I succeed, I will definitely try to meet all the team of the course, because you are awesome professionals!

All the best to you!

By azlang s

Apr 8, 2023

I must express my utmost admiration for the exceptional quality of the course that I have recently enrolled in. The course content has been meticulously curated to cater to the needs of English teachers. Furthermore, I must commend Dr. Shane Dixon for his outstanding performance in delivering the course material. His teaching style has been so effective that I feel as if I completed the course in a face-to-face setting. I extend my gratitude to the organizers of the course for affording me the opportunity to undertake this enriching learning experience.

By Mark J B

Oct 4, 2022

I learned a lot!. It refeshes my mind and gives me new ideas why language acquisition is important and all the foundational skills are very relevant and applicable to the ESL Industry. It is a good motivator for the teachers who are losing their passion in teaching to look back on the foundation and fundamentals of Teaching English as a Second Language. I am an ESL Teacher for 9 years now but here I am! motivated and ready to pursue to finish these 8 modules to learn more and become more effective or best teacher soon. To Dr. Shane, thanks a lot.

By Jayakumar K

Jan 4, 2019

Was quite useful in setting the ground for the teachers to take a deeper look into the theoretical foundations of language teaching and their practical applications.

The course infact gave insights into how teachers should handle their classes as well as to what extent to shoulder their responsibilities as teachers.

In fact, I was a bit surprised when the Dixon advised not to assume too much responsibilities, but then got to understand how doing that affects teachers in the long run, and results in burn outs.

Thanks to the instructors of the course.

By Zerrin C

Dec 12, 2020

Hello! I really enjoy while I am taking the course. The information I have comes back. Dr. Shane is so good that We can understand the metaphors easily. Videos, readings, summaries are too clear to understand the subjects. I really wrote the assignments with the help of these contents. I had these lessons during my High school and university years. But it makes me feel happy remember again. I especially liked the lessons Dr. Shane acted like on the stage with costumes. In the beginning I didn’t think it will be so organised and clear. Thanks a lot.

By Camila J G

Dec 13, 2015

This was a very interesting module, other than giving out imporant information to question ourselves as language teacher it encouraged us to think again and review how is it that we are really performing as teachers, are we asking the right questions? are we thinking of the best ways to enroll our students on leargning languages? are we wnjoying our labour?

All of the lessons provided not only gave information to improve our classes but gave us the opportunity to wonder what can we do better and how can we be better as teachers.

Thank you!

By Eduardo E

Oct 27, 2020

The course has been an excellent resource of information and change of mine. It feeds the soul of teaching that makes me see my classes from different perspectives and the many things that I can do with them to make my students acquire the language. I was reborn with new methods and creativity to be in front of the classroom again. Indeed, I also see that my methods and techniques of teaching aren’t worthless as I thought. I thank you to all that make this course possible and the people that give me the opportunity to take this course.

By Thomas P M

Jun 22, 2021

This course is awesome! I learned so much in the first section that I am anxious to keep going. I have already signed up for the second course and ready to learn.

This is a great class for someone who hasn't been in college in a while or has never been. I got my Bachelors in 2009 and coming back to school for this has a breeze so far. These instructors know exactly what their doing and don't go overboard with useless information and they tie everything together perfectly. I know I will have the cert from ASU at some point this summer.

By A. P

Nov 16, 2019

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles is a great informative course. The self-paced style allowed time to focus on content where I needed to gain more skills. The instructors are pleasant and enjoyable to watch. The readings are fun and interesting. The constructive feedback I received from my classmates has improved my writing skills. The required reviews prepared me for grading students' work in the classroom setting. I highly recommend this course to anyone considering the ESL / TEFL / TESOL Teaching profession.

By mohamed h

Feb 9, 2016

Course is fun, easy, enjoyable and beneficial. Prof. Shane is a very talented presenter and managed to pull me into the lectures. My only concerns are: The length of the course was too short and it was not very deep. In other words In my opinion they could have easily added another course worth of material to this course without it becoming overbearing. It made me feel that their stretching the number of courses you have to take to finish the specialization.

Other wise its a good course. Great instructor and good content!

By Karimzada G V

Feb 13, 2020

This course is just awesome. It will be very helpful to the ones who are at the beginning of the profession. The topics covered solutions for many of my struggles about teaching ways, the importance of practice, how to manage time in class, understanding my students' views etc. It also improved my analyzing skills with the assessment questions which were really food for thought. The best thing is all lessons are explained in a very simple way. I am very grateful to all Arizona University and Coursera team. Thank you!!!

By Ngô T Q P

May 10, 2020

I have learned a lot of interesting knowledge from this Foundation Principles course. Sometimes you seem to know it a lot but when you update you will see what you know is only the top of the iceberg. Everything need to be acquired with good instructors. Thank for the course's beloved teachers, I burn lightly with my teaching job again. I recommend this course for all teachers of language. If they feel bored with teaching, want to leave your profession, this will help them to find best themselves and core value again.

By sangeetha

May 21, 2017

This was an excellent course! I love how everything is taught in the form of metaphors. I particularly liked the simplicity of the course and the way it was presented in the form of short modules. I loved Shane Dixon's way of talking and his expressions made the course a lot of fun. I enjoyed all the assignment questions as they really helped me apply everything I learnt through each module. I will definitely recommend this course, and hope to move to the next level with it. Thank you for such an amazing experience!

By Edward L

Dec 7, 2020

I've been teaching for over 20 years and hold a Masters in Adult Education, but lost my licensure due to an out of state move during the Covid-19 crisis. This course reflects teaching skills and knowledge that I wish was presented to me on day one of my teaching and that all teachers should definitely have. It is also well presented and provides opportunities for learners to express their own ideas. I would highly recommend the course to just about anyone who wants to become a skillful student centered educator.

By Cynthia P L

Nov 11, 2020

It was really interesting, joyful and inspiring. Although I am a teacher myself, sometimes we have assumptions and beliefs that are wrong. I really loved this course and I believe it would help me to change students' view on learning a language and also my approach on how to reach to them. Lastly, also remember that because we want to give the best to our students does not mean to neglect ourselves. Balancing our personal life and teaching will surely have positive effects for both the learners and teachers.

By Taner U

Jul 23, 2023

This course is a platform that provides well English language teaching. In my opinion this course showed me me how the English teacher taught students the language properly. Using correct strategies to teach English ease teachers burden such as time, hard working etc. Body language and first impressive teaching style affects students decision making for teacher in a just little time. So teacher should prepare his programme and be collective his colleagues to make sinergy for effective teaching style.

By Diana Y

Oct 22, 2022

I love Dr. Shane and his engaging virtual teaching methods! I am pleasantly surprised with the quality of this course and the entire certificate program. As an instructor of in-person and virtual learning myself, I know it is difficult to captivate the attention of your audience, and I actively avoid virtual learning whenever possible due to so many poor experiences. I love the structure of this course, the way the material is presented, and the amazing instructors. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

By Joe S

May 13, 2018

Outstanding! I love the enthusiasm Dr. Dixon brings to this MOOC. This course is taught by people who really understand how to teach at the most basic level, which has made taking this course so informative. Not only did I learn the foundational principles of EFL instruction, but simply watching HOW this whole course was setup, executed, and designed has been a learning experience in and of itself. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is or is thinking of teaching English as a foreign language.