Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
14,644 ratings

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors

(331 Reviews)

Interactive content

(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

CR

Invalid date

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

CC

Invalid date

This one of the best courses I've ever had here in Coursera. I really learned a lot and enjoy my learning career. The topics were well explained and the ideas presented in an interconnected manner.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 5,034 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Dildora N K

Nov 4, 2021

Teach English Now! Fundamental Principals course was great impact for me to make progress in my career and teaching method. It was very interesting and unforgatable. I liked Dr Dixon's way of teaching. Every activity was very fruitful and exciting. All moduls made me think and learn something useful for my teaching experience. Thank you so much dear teachers fro giving such brilliant teaching strategies about learning languages.

By Thi T T

May 1, 2023

The "Teach English Now! The foundational Principle" course is an excellent opportunity for educators to enhance their teaching careers. This online course provides a comprehensive overview of second language acquisition theories and their applications in the classroom. By completing this course, educators can develop a deeper understanding of how students learn languages, which can enable them to become more effective teachers.

By Romyka M M K

Nov 22, 2022

The course is very helpful and informative. I didn't even notice the time passing by whenever I watch the videos because the professor's very great in explaining the topic. I was able to learn while having fun, and there was no single dull moment while taking up the course. Since I am so invested to it, I managed to finish the course just for a day. Hoping to learn more from the professors. Thank you for the opportunity!

By Azizeh A

May 31, 2021

Hi, I newly completed this interesting course and I believe that it would be helpful for me. I enjoyed the course because it was well presented and using metaphors to explain the points made the topics more imaginable and easy to understand. Definitely I will enroll in part two of this course.

At the end. I would like to express my gratitude to all the ones who has prepared this course.

With best wishes,

Azizeh Atapur

By Halima N

Aug 5, 2020

I enjoyed the lessons. The class was pretty good I actually think I have learned a lot from this class. This was my first online class and I thought your homework and tests really made me think critically and search for the answers making me learn more especially peer assessments. And through watching videos i have learned how i can speak confidently while making my point clear e.t.c. Great thanks to my teachers.

By Rosario D R

Jul 13, 2021

Your way of teaching may be slow for a native speaker, but I think it's a very effective way of instilling in your students, the importance of the Foundation Principles. After all, an effective leaning is not how fast you finished a course, but how well you understood. A well-understood foundation is the corner stone of an effective and fun language learning. Thank you very much for helping me understand that.

By Behnaz S

Jun 25, 2020

Starting this course, I was so hopeful and optimistic about all the things I needed to learn about foundational principles of teaching, and to be honest, I wasn't disappointed. I enjoyed every second of the videos and every word of the readings. took many notes and wrote many comments. met great ideas from different people.It was an amazing experience. Thanks you Coursera and thanks you Arizona State University.

By ian O

Aug 19, 2023

I would like to express my sincere appreciation for the ESL course that I recently completed. This course has exceeded my expectations in terms of providing comprehensive and valuable information to enhance my English language skills and apply it to teaching my students. The amount of useful content and the thoughtful approach taken by the instructors truly made a significant difference in my learning journey.

By Shoon L W P

Nov 1, 2021

This course could help me a lot for my career. The instructors also clearly explained the techniques we can follow in our teaching. I understand more what language is by discussing the metaphors with the peers and feedbacks for assignments by the peers are really helpful to me. So , if you are a prospective or experienced language teacher, I am sure that joining this course can help you more than you think.

By Carlos G H C

Feb 24, 2019

I learned a lot about the theories behind language acquisition from Krashen.

Dr. Dixon enthusiastically explains the concepts fo "teacher talk", "elaboration" and more, in the context of teaching languages.

The course checkpoints aren't tedious like in other courses, they just check for the essential parts and the elaborations are left for assumptions about language learning explained in videos as assignments.

By Amr A

Sep 8, 2023

This course is a wonderful resource for teachers who aspire to be more effective educators in the field of TESOL. From the very beginning, I was impressed by the comprehensive content and the well-structured modules that cater to both novice and experienced teachers alike. I strongly recommend this course to anyone seeking to elevate their teaching skills . Thank you so much for your teaching and support.

By tataboi n

Jul 6, 2018

This course has given me new insights into teaching English effectively to non-native speakers. The theories have widened my understanding of the concerns, issues and trends in teaching English to foreign students. In addition to that, the Dr. Dixon and Dr. Haraway are very engaging with their delivery of the lessons. I have enjoyed every moment that I have spent for this online course. Well done, Coursera!

By Yana K

Oct 5, 2023

Teaching looks so simple and obvious to many people, but those people have never tried to teach anybody themselves. To me this course was a real support and a huge amount of useful tips and ideas. It is not just about some boring definitions or dull lifeless texts. The course is vibrant, it has lots of working approaches and different recommendations from other teachers. I enjoyed it and hope you will too!

By Deleted A

Jun 12, 2019

This course was by far the most engaging introduction to teaching ESL that I’ve ever come across. The structure (short lectures interspersed with assessments) meant that information was provided at the optimal level or ‘sweet spot’, and Dr Dixon’s humorous anecdotes made the course fun. The two aspects motivated me to complete the course - in flying colours to boot! I can’t wait to start the next subject!

By sinan k

Feb 5, 2017

thanks to all teachers and students i am so happy to being here with you. this course help me to see my skills level and teach me to how can i improve them. i am a students of English language teaching and i am the one of the future teacher with this course i will be a good teacher and i will guide my students according to what i learned here. it is very useful for future teachers. thanks for everything.

By Andrêssa d S P

Jun 4, 2021

Finally an online course I truly enjoyed taking! I caught myself smiling while watching every single video! I've learned so much from this course, not only as a teacher but also as a language learner myself. I found myself more passionate about teaching than I was before and I will definitely keep on improving my teaching abilities with this amazing team of selfless people! Gratidão e amor, from Brazil.

By Belinda S

Aug 11, 2021

This is a great course. While focused on teaching English as a second language, these concepts are excellent to apply to teaching other languages as well. It has a strong focus how to help the learner on the acquisition of language rather than just teaching vocabulary and grammar, and acquisition of useful language we can communicate with is the ultimate goal. EXCELLENT JOB Dr. Shane Dixon!!!!!

By Macario P

Jan 6, 2021

It is a spectacular course that teaches you the correct way to learn and how to teach. Professor Dr. Shane Dixon is an excellent teacher, he has a talent for teaching through his charisma and abilities, and he makes the course enjoyable and motivating. Thanks, Dr. Shane Dixon for your enthusiasm and guiding us in this week and concerning us. And the rest of your team.

Sincerely.

Macario Pájaro Hernández

By Youness L

Dec 22, 2017

Excellent course framework, and presentation. The content is of superior quality, and in par with what one will learn in the brick and mortar TESOL schools. I have also received interesting feedbacks from my course mates, and they have been all timely, constructive and pertinent. It goes without saying that the lecturers are highly intelligible and competent in the matter of presentation and language.

By Jocelyn S

Dec 29, 2020

I thought I'm not going to make it. Yes, I finished it after countless nights just to beat the deadline. This course has thought me discipline, aside from the foundational principles I have acquired. I am very much indebted to all the people behind this wonderful opportunity. Thus, I will utilize all the learnings I acquired to be the best mentor I can be. Kudos, ASU and Coursera for a job well done!

By Jean C P

Nov 18, 2022

I really love this course. From the beginning I was very engaged, 100% recommended. I have so many notes on everything that was taught and I am sure I will re-watch some videos to keep everything fresh in my mind. Thank you very much for the passion and all the effort you put into this course. This course will be with me my whole life, thanks to all the lovely people who work hard to make it happen.

By Lindemberg P d S

Apr 23, 2019

Excellent!! A wonderful TESOL course for any one who dreams of becoming a great teacher someday!! It grasped my attention since the very first moment I started watching the first lesson. All the classes by Dr. Shane Dixon are quite interesting and enriched with a lot of pedagogical tips to teach better English language. Congratulations for ASU university and all the team behind this amazing course!!

By Diana V F

Jul 5, 2020

This course was really good for knowing basic techniques used for teaching!! I loved the teachers, they were all very nice and willing to answer questions on the Discussion Forums. The videos are really useful for explaining the topics and I found them to be entertaining with the use of metaphors and anecdotes. Overall, its a good course if you're looking for knowing the basis to be a good teacher.

By Alexandra C S

Nov 2, 2020

I found the course touched on important topics with useful links and additional resources and references for deeper learning. Additionally, the content was presented in an easy-to-understand fashion, with engaging videos and readings. However, the assessment criteria via peer reviews to me seemed to lessen the overall standard as everyone taking the course wants to support everyone else to pass.

By Giang N

Mar 22, 2024

I'd like to say a huge thank you to ASU for organizing such a wonderful course like this, to Dr. Dixon and Dr. Haraway, and the whole team for their effort in producing lessons which has an enormous impact on my awareness about teaching principles. I have a lot of opportunities to practice everything I learn in every lesson by taking review module tests, which are really detailed and effective.