Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles by Arizona State University

4.9
stars
14,644 ratings

About the Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors

(331 Reviews)

Interactive content

(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

CR

Invalid date

Simply amazing. Loved every single minute of it. I feel myself a much better teacher, I’ve learnt how to see resources to give a better class as well as offer my students better practices of learning.

CC

Invalid date

This one of the best courses I've ever had here in Coursera. I really learned a lot and enjoy my learning career. The topics were well explained and the ideas presented in an interconnected manner.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 5,035 Reviews for Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

By Maryam A

May 20, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. It was fun and with a great structure. I learned a lot easily and it was so fun I didn't wanted it to finish. Time passes so quickly with Teach English Now. I want to thank Dr. Dixon for his wonderful teaching and all the Teach English Now team for making this amazing course. I also want to thank Coursera team for letting me take this course and giving me this wonderful opportunity.

I don't know how to thank you enough.

Thanks a lot

Maryam

By Kirsten K

Nov 15, 2019

The videos are very well done and the course material was a good start to learning Teaching English as a Second Language theory and foundations. There is some delays in waiting for peer reviews and to be able to review others work which can affect your timeline and goals, and peer reviews can be unfair and there seems to be no recourse to challenge them, but the assignments are simple and you can just re-do them and get different peers to grade you which worked fine.

By Lorena M M

Apr 17, 2017

This course is essential for anyone who wants to be a language teacher. I have taken an online advance TESOL certificate but unlike it, TEACH ENGLISH NOW! Foundation Principles course is what I needed: the video lectures, the readings were all presented clearly and the tasks are reasonable. It's refreshing for those who have been teaching English for a long time who might be thinking of giving up or who might be very tired by now, this course is just invigorating !

By Daniel N Z

Mar 2, 2022

The course was nothing short of spectacular. Not only was the content carefully curated to have the most impact on my views on language learning and teaching, but it also managed to make learning incredibly fun. What really impressed me was just how much the instructors practised what they preached. I do have a few suggestions: (i) Add supplementary readings to further our understanding of what is discussed in class; (ii) Make the quizzes a bit more challenging.

By Oluwatoyin O E

Apr 24, 2018

I knew this course would be great and worth it, what I did not expect was to be wowed. The modules are sooo rich, so easy to comprehend and very applicable to everyday life. I'm not a teacher yet but I'm already applying these principles. I have a nephew who is having troubles learning a second language and I found myself giving him tips from what I learned here. I can't wait to begin the rest of the courses. A big thank you to the instructors. Thanks you!

By Yulia N M

Oct 25, 2016

It's very useful though theoretical course,there are many advice how to teach; methods,approuches and devices.It's a ineresting view with metaphors and psychological articals,learning strategies and recommendation how to keep professional without burning out but being bright candle with appealing fire .Not only burning to teach but ignite this fire in your students! I appreciate for this course and I hope it will be better and interesting in further parts.

By Cesar A A A

Apr 17, 2021

Amazing course!!! The videos and articles and concise and clear. Analogies to explain the course content are great, we I could understand much better by them tan by using complex concepts. And the process to check little by little every topic and at the end summarize the information is an stunning way to learn. Immediately I remember the complete examples and characteristics explained during the course. I have amazingly enjoyed it!!! Thank you so much!!!

By Richard R

Oct 17, 2016

ASU has done a great job of putting together materials to present the ideas needed to teach English as a second language. It's far and away the most well organized and presented class I've taken through Coursera. I am auditing the class so I can't speak to the response times and response quality of the instructors but the forums seem active and I did get responses to my questions within a week. I look forward to enrolling for the certificate next year.

By Ronald Y

Jun 12, 2020

This is a great course. I taught for 20 years in schools of Medicine without any instruction on how to teach. This course has opened my eyes to the possibilities of teaching language in multiple ways. The presentations are clear and concise and easily understood. The combination of videos and written information makes for an excellent teaching strategy. Finally, I really enjoyed taking the course and learning so much more about how to teach languages.

By Deborah A H

Nov 2, 2020

Thank you so much! Coursera is the best! I really enjoyed and learned a lot from all the well-explained and clearly demonstrated lectures that I am sure I can also apply in the near future. All the concepts were made simple and easy to remember. I also sincerely appreciate the metaphors and the Taxonomy at the end of the course. I will definitely remember all of them. Great work, Professors and Creators of Coursera. Salute and more power to you all!

By Paul P

Jun 11, 2021

This course authorized by Arizona State University and offered through Coursera is such a blessing for all of us who enrolled. This course made me love English language more. I have learned a lot when it comes to teaching English language. The instructors are so intelligent and passionate in what they are doing, which made every learner to be more diligent and dedicated to finish the course. Thank you so much to the instructors, ASU and coursera.

By LESLYN M

Sep 10, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The content was well presented and the videos were very interesting and appropriate lengths. As a result, I was able to easily follow and retain the information and visualize how I will apply some of the new techniques I have learned. The peer assignments were thought provoking and it was beneficial to see what my peers in the class had to say. Thank you to all of the teachers, peers and wider production team.

By Heather L

Jun 22, 2020

Really great course to start my TOEFL journey. I have been out of college for over twenty years and this was a great way to get back into further learning. The content was interesting without being overwhelming and was presented in a simple way. Dr.Shane Dixon has great energy and is able to make the concepts relevant but also inspiring. In addition, I really enjoyed getting to interact with other learners as we reviewed each other’s submissions.

By 장혜정

Oct 20, 2022

Perfect and very well organized and fun and interesting! I expecially loved the time travels and the devil and angel talks a lot! Great acting and very insightful contrast put into an excellent and novel way. Two thumbs up and Three if I had! Thank you so much for your efforts and endeavor. I really enjoyed every lesson, which is out of this world.

I should pay you more! Your service is very much appreicated. Thank you so much again!

God bless!

By Hemlata M

Jan 21, 2022

This is just amazing. thanks Coursera for providing this opportunity to complete the course in a better way. when I go through with this course i feel that my leanning ability has been inceresing day by day...and the most happiest thing is to see your grades and find your ability to see the achivements and leanring of concepts. in this pandemic online platform like Coursera make me whole in English langauge leanrning.Thank you coursera team.

By Assem A

Nov 21, 2021

This course was a wonderful refreshing journey. My learning was engaging as I could confront the assumptions and some of them are common myths. It was interactive as I could review other colleagues' works and give my feedback, which is the most exciting part of this learning. The taxonomy of language learning is an excellent example of designing a teaching philosophy which I take a model and draft my own. Thanks to ASU for this opportunity.

By Adalto F d G

Feb 22, 2016

The course is excellent! In fact, the professor, Dr. Shane Dixon is an expert able to capture and keep our attention.

More yet, the content and the approach used are really good! The way Dr. Shane conduct the course and explain how to become a better teacher make this course a must for future teachers.

I highly recommend, not just for english teachers, but those who wants to improve their abilities as professors at colleges and universities.

By Nadine E M K

Nov 24, 2020

My name is: Nadine Morrison, I am from Panama Republic of Panama. I am greatful for the opportunity you gave me to participate in this course. It was very helpful. I appreciated the way teacher presented the class. I have learn a lot of techniques and strategies I didn't know. I cann't afford the complite year, I know I learn someting in this course. Thank you so much for your time and effort.

Best Regards,

Nadine Elizabeth Morrison Knight

By Maged I I A F

Dec 21, 2022

It was a great chance to get and receive new lessons harboring perfect skills in teaching English Language. It was an amazing course provided by Coursera and ASU, this course will help me to develop my teaching techniques as a scientific researcher while teaching students different subjects.

I would to express my deep thanking to Dr. Shane and Dr. Justin for their fruitful videos that lead me to enhance my skills.

Thanks Coursera and ASU

By Susan S G S

Nov 14, 2020

I am so thankful for having the opportunity to learn to teach English with this awesome team! Dr. Shane Dixon, Andrea Harawa, Justin Shewell and all their supporting team, and of course, The Arizona State University, I appreciate your professionalism, all the tips and guidance provided in this course. This course is a great option to improve our teaching strategies and build new skills and abilities to do a wonderful job a ESL teachers.

By Roohi D

Oct 14, 2019

I found the course particularly exceptional and exciting as the things that were taught and how they were taught, was the first of its kind in my experience of traditional learning. I believe second language is one of the most difficult things to teach. Our teachers in the course, by way of teaching the modules taught us techniques of HOW language should be taught. I'm looking forward to learning more from them in the following courses.

By Sujata S L

Jun 12, 2021

I was somewhat skeptical about this course but it turned out the other way. I am so glad that I joined the it. I never felt like a passive learner as our instructors Dr. Shane Dixon and Andrea Hathway left no stone unturned to make the sessions interesting. Everything was so interesting about this course, from content to presentation. Thank you so much everyone. I am going to get enrolled myself for the next part of this course.

Thanks

By Alexandra P

Jul 10, 2018

This course is amazing, I've got a lot of new useful information in really concentrated form and it didn't take a lot of time. In my school and university there was a huge amount of useless information, and it was very hard to isolate important parts from the whole, and in this Coursera course I see absolutely opposite situation. Everything I read and saw in this course will be useful in my further work.Thank you.Kindest regards, Alex

By Nomindari B

Aug 20, 2020

First of all, thank you so much for empowering me and building me up through so many interesting lessons and reading materials. it is very helpful and it is absolutely one of the best courses. I'm so grateful for the professors and teachers who taught this course and prepared this course for us on behalf of the teachers all over the world. I am willing to use methods I have learnt from this course to my students at GMIT, Mongolia:-)

By Howard P (

May 1, 2023

The material is great. I was able to learn some fundemental principles. However, the writing assignment is below standard. Students are expected to grades among themselves. I gave many 100's to my fellow students not because their writings were good but because the grading system is very general. The course said teachers should give ample time for student to practice. Unfortunately, we did not have much practice in this course.