Chevron Left
Back to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis by Macquarie University

4.9
stars
1,054 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis. In this four-week course, we introduce Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI, three power tools for transforming, analysing and presenting data. Excel's ease and flexibility have long made it a tool of choice for doing data analysis, but it does have some inherent limitations: for one, truly "big" data simply does not fit in a spreadsheet and for another, the process of importing and cleaning data can be a repetitive, time-consuming and error-prone. Over the last few years, Microsoft have worked on transforming the end-to-end experience for analysts, and Excel has undergone a major upgrade with the inclusion of Power Query and Power Pivot. In this course, we will learn how to use Power Query to automate the process of importing and preparing data for analysis. We will see how Power Pivot revolutionises the actual analysis process by providing us with an analytical database inside the Excel workbook, capable of storing millions of rows, and a powerful modelling language called DAX which allows us to perform advanced analytics on our data. We will finish off by venturing out of Excel and introducing Power BI, which also uses the Power Query and Power BI architecture but allows us to create stunning interactive reports and dashboards. This is the third course in our Specialization on Data Analytics and Visualization. The previous courses: Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis and Data Visualization in Excel, cover data preparation, cleaning, visualisation, and creating dashboards. To get the most out of this course we would recommend you do the previous courses or have experience with these topics. In this course we focus on Excel Power Tools, join us for this exciting journey. Please note that Power Query, Power Pivot and Power BI Desktop are only available on the Windows platform, so Mac users will require Bootcamp running Windows or a Virtual machine with a Window O/S. While Power Query is available as an add-in Excel 2010 and 2013, the tools have changed significantly, and this course has only been designed and tested for Excel 2016 and later. For an optimal experience, we recommend Office 365....

Top reviews

DS

Invalid date

It's really a interesting part to learn the Power query and power pivot and power BI, this will be really helpful for me to improve myself for my career. Thanks you!

QZ

Invalid date

Great explanation of every detail throughout the course. But I thought I'd let you know that there is a typo in the answer for the achieved % target in the Week 2 Practice challenge.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 283 Reviews for Excel Power Tools for Data Analysis

By Asdrúbal C R

Nov 27, 2021

Excellent Specialization, all the videos and material on point, a lot to practice, i did many courses and specializations and this one is excellent in so many aspects, i put it like a role model and 100% recommended.

By Ville R

May 20, 2021

Very well put together course that contains real-life relevant content in an easy to digest and learn manner. My only complaint is that while very up to date, some of the UI changes have made some parts a bit tricky.

By Jennifer T

Dec 12, 2021

Great course by Nicky, she really shines over here. Gave me a real in-depth view of M, Dax and Power BI and I cannot wait to learn much more. Thank you for the additional info in the toolbox. Really helpful.

By Chikamso A N

Oct 14, 2021

Too good. The tutor was so helpful in explaining concepts and the quizzes both optional and compulsory truly help to reinforce all that has been learned. It's so good I'm going to check her other courses :)

By Carlos A N H

Sep 21, 2023

It's one of the best courses I have taken, it is really very complete, full of valuable information and a lot of practice. The teachers have experience and mastery of the subject. I totally recommend it.

By Toni M

Mar 4, 2023

It widely exceeded expectations. Lots of useful content and everything explained so clearly. Even as an advanced user of Excel I've discovered many things I didn't know exist. Totally recommend.

By Luke M

Jun 4, 2024

Very useful course. Learning a bit of power query sped up the amount of time it takes for me to generate reports. Also makes the process more repeatable, and less prone to errors. Great job!

By Qian Z

Jun 3, 2023

Great explanation of every detail throughout the course. But I thought I'd let you know that there is a typo in the answer for the achieved % target in the Week 2 Practice challenge.

By XUAN, X

Jul 14, 2021

Another wonderful course with a handful of tools for data analysis and visualization. All the practices are easy to follow and the toolbox is a great summary of all the topics.

By Jean-Philippe G

Apr 26, 2021

Great training with powerful video illustration. The course material (excel spreadsheet, data sets, PowerBI templates) are also very well articulated and prepared. Thanks very.

By Mahesh G

Oct 8, 2021

Very nice course. Learnt a lot. The instructors Nicky BullOpens in a new tab and Dr Prashan S. M. KarunaratneOpens in a new tab were good. Helped me to develop my knowledge on excel.

Thank You

Mahesh Gokhale

By Aldo A

Apr 1, 2024

Aprendí muchísimo de cada una de las herramientas estudiadas, muchas gracias por la oportunidad, de esta manera puedo acceder a mas oportunidades de trabajo. Gracias!

By Dhinagaran S

Sep 24, 2021

It's really a interesting part to learn the Power query and power pivot and power BI, this will be really helpful for me to improve myself for my career. Thanks you!

By Mohamad F B R

Nov 14, 2021

Excellent training on Power BI, even though its only compressed into one course. Looking forward to more data analytics related courses by Macquarie University.

By Daniel G T

Nov 10, 2022

This course is excellent. There are a few issues, but in the forum, you can find the answers. Exercises are perfectly prepared to understand all three tools.

By Aileen G

Jan 26, 2022

This course was well-organized and well-paced, with reasonable assignments and assessments, and I was immediately able to apply what I learned to my job.

By GURUGE D S G

Sep 14, 2021

Though worked with Excel for so many years, had the opportunity to learn many new powerful tools which are essential for the future. Great contents.

By Leif L

Apr 11, 2023

Very informative course with powerful tools which are getting more and more important in today's business environment and in the future as well.

By ENVER H

Nov 1, 2022

I have learned many useful subjects that I haven't ever thought that I'd learn. Thanks for all the instructors who were behind this great course

By Ahmad N A T

Apr 6, 2024

Sangat terbantu dengan kursus ini, terima kasih untuk pengajar dan coursera yang sudah menyediakan wahana belajar online yang nyaman dan keren

By Juanmi R

May 12, 2021

Aun exprime más Excel ofreciendo herramientas muy necesarias para trabajar de forma eficiente con grandes cantidades de datos. Todo un logro!

By Mayank S

Jan 2, 2024

Very well designed and easy to follow. However we still have to learn a lot but this course does a very good job of developing a solid base.

By MIGUEL A S G

Mar 5, 2022

Cours de très bonne qualité pour apprendre à se servire de Power BI. Les explications sont très claires et le s exercices très pragmatiques.

By Brooke W

Nov 4, 2022

Really well explained and easy to understand. Really good working files to practise on and easily transferrable skills to my current role.

By Amiya S

Nov 23, 2022

turned out to be very useful for me. Starting from the basics, it goes to the details. thanks to the instructor and the Coursera team.