Chevron Left
Back to Financial Risk Management with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Risk Management with R by Duke University

4.4
stars
242 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches you how to calculate the return of a portfolio of securities as well as quantify the market risk of that portfolio, an important skill for financial market analysts in banks, hedge funds, insurance companies, and other financial services and investment firms. Using the R programming language with Microsoft Open R and RStudio, you will use the two main tools for calculating the market risk of stock portfolios: Value-at-Risk (VaR) and Expected Shortfall (ES). You will need a beginner-level understanding of R programming to complete the assignments of this course....

Top reviews

AD

Invalid date

The concepts are beautifully explained. This course requires basic understanding of Risk management and R coding. Thank you for such a good learning experience. Best of Luck

JW

Invalid date

This course has been very well planned and structured. I enjoyed taking it. Thank you.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 96 Reviews for Financial Risk Management with R

By Serge B

Nov 24, 2020

Excellent course - Exactly what I expected!!

By Héctor A H A

Aug 21, 2020

Interesting and well explained. Very usefull.

By Vaibhav K

Jul 26, 2021

Very practical and straight to the point.

By Jairo H G N

Oct 20, 2020

Pretty good materials and explanations

By Stepan R

Aug 15, 2020

Clear, concise, minimalist and calming

By Salih T

Jul 11, 2020

Excellent course, too long quizzes.

By Stardust N

Jan 6, 2021

Nice to learn new things with R.

By BHAVNA D

Nov 6, 2020

had great learning experience

By Foued H

May 22, 2020

Very nice course . Good job

By Xiaohan C

May 20, 2020

Excellent course!

By Rafael H T G

Jan 4, 2022

Excelente curso.

By Marco U M L

Aug 25, 2020

Great starting

By Gabriel A C N

May 30, 2020

Excelente!!!!

By JOSE L L G

Jul 25, 2021

Excellent!!

By Martin G

May 22, 2020

This course is very practical and R is intuitive, so it helps visualizing what VaR and ES. I think it would be useful to remind people that in "real life" these parameters are not run directly on market data returns but rather on portfolio P&L, which adds a (big) computation step and thus require dedicated systems to value all the positions. Besides, I failed to use the function ugarchroll (Rstudio processes forever) which was a bit frustrating. Luckily is wasn't part of the quiz.

By Wenzhao A Z

Feb 8, 2020

The course is great and useful. But there are a few minor problems that are needed to fix:

1) Some of the data cannot be collected through the package mentioned in the class, although we can still finish the course without finishing those quizzes, it is still a little confusing.

2). The materials covered in the course are a bit simple for financing-majored students, the scope of the course is also a bit narrow, all the course is about the VaR and ES.

By Rene L

May 15, 2020

My first time working with R, the learning curve was therefore quite steep. Content is good, but I dont think it fits well to the overall “Entrepreneurial Finance: Strategy and Innovation Specialization”. This content would be more relevant for investment management.

By Ilhan I A

Jan 2, 2021

Very clear explanation for terms and the applications. Real-world data applications are also beneficial for practicing and interpreting. In total the course is very useful both for the market and academic. Thanks a lot.

By Sandra J C C

Mar 5, 2021

Me pareció muy interesante el curso, dado que asocia el lenguaje de programación R a los conceptos y sus aplicaciones. Corregir los errores que se encuentran en los cuestionarios y quices de las semanas.

By Regina G

Oct 17, 2020

You need a solid statistics knowledge and some knowledge in finance, but don't be scared of using R. Week 4 could be broke down to 2 weeks, but other than that overall a good course!

By François M

Jul 12, 2020

Really good assessments method, and very interesting topics covered. Material (slides) is however not fully complete in my opinion, hence I rate it with 4 stars "only".

By Claudio R V

Oct 25, 2020

There are certain things. mostly plots, that are not explained and would be good to get the background on how to do it. But overall really good content.

By ANDREA D B

Mar 11, 2023

Useful to have a recap on the foundations of Risk Measurement and have practical experience on R with VaR and ES. However, I found the course too easy.

By Esteban D A

Jul 28, 2020

Some explanations are quite vague, especially in the formulas used in week 2; there's no clear where do parameters came from.

By Kleider S V G

Jun 20, 2021

The content of the course is very interesting. I am very satisfied with the new knowledge acquired.