Chevron Left
Back to Financial Risk Management with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Risk Management with R by Duke University

4.4
stars
242 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches you how to calculate the return of a portfolio of securities as well as quantify the market risk of that portfolio, an important skill for financial market analysts in banks, hedge funds, insurance companies, and other financial services and investment firms. Using the R programming language with Microsoft Open R and RStudio, you will use the two main tools for calculating the market risk of stock portfolios: Value-at-Risk (VaR) and Expected Shortfall (ES). You will need a beginner-level understanding of R programming to complete the assignments of this course....

Top reviews

SL

Invalid date

Simple yet well thought through course to give beginners a good starting point to learn risk management using code.

RR

Invalid date

Challenging, but worthwhile -- would recommend approaching over weeks, and not rushing through.

Do not need a strong background in Statistics, but would definitely help understand the terminology.

Filter by:

76 - 96 of 96 Reviews for Financial Risk Management with R

By Venkata S S G

Jun 16, 2020

good introductory course on VaR, ES topics, and their inuitions, and implementations in R

By Giulia P

Apr 6, 2021

good course, I would have gone deeper in the last part, about GARCH modelling

By Yaroslav B

Dec 14, 2023

Good explanations, but very messy R codes sometimes

By Fares S

Dec 14, 2022

Few issues with the examples

By ANGEL A V M

Sep 6, 2021

Buen curso introductorio

By Timothy C E H

Apr 4, 2021

It's a really interesting contains and the sample code provided make the course very easy to follow if you had some previous experiences on R but for people without any previous R experience, maybe a bit hard to understand what happening. The hardest part of the course for me is to downgrade my R and the version compatibility for individual R packages installation, some R packages is not supported on install.packages function and you need to find out how to run it on individual machine. For example, the Microsoft Open R is not work on the Mac and end up I used CRAN to do all the exersices. Quiz 4 didn't gave a right hints on the answer format and make to need to guess several times to pass the exam.

By Jean C E

Mar 6, 2021

Debido a que en la semana 2 se presentan algunos inconvenientes al momento de calificar los puntos de las evaluaciones, considerando que hay respuestas correctas que califica como mal, por ejemplo en el quiz 2 de la semana 2 pregunta 1 intente inicialmente con la media redondeando a 6 decimales pero me arrojo que estaba mal, luego probe con la media sin redondear y me arrojo lo mismo. Sin embargo, el var y el ES resultaban bien calificados, entonces esa parte fue confusa. Todo lo demás bien.

By Subhav M

May 18, 2020

Most of the answers in the quiz have issues regarding the version. But the course comprises of important features one might want to know beforehand while entering into the risk management sector.

By Nicola D B

Jul 25, 2021

I do not appreciate that it is not possible to find a solution for week 4.1 nor using the code provided during the lessons nor slightly modifying the code .

By Bobby M

Apr 26, 2024

Teacher was not engaging and the tests were a mess. Had to retake several multiple times to find the right rounding state to get the correct answer.

By Rick R

Jan 9, 2021

If you're into command line interface programming with obsolete software that doesn't run on current operating systems using data from the 1980s - then this is the course for you.

This was a super frustrating waste of time. Cancel this course..!

By Dina A

Apr 7, 2023

seems all course materials or steps are outdated. upon following the steps as taught, I got all my answers wrong. And hey, I wasn't the only one who encountered this program.

By Xiao X

Jul 27, 2022

there are many bugs and really don't like it. the teacher was unwilling to explain the meaning of code of R programming, making me feel disappointed.

By Deleted A

Jun 14, 2022

The R files given in the curse doesn'tload properly, and there is no support whatsoever in the course to offer any doubt clearance sadly.

By Abraar A S

Jan 22, 2024

Outdated quiz with outdated version of R which won't run properly. Any answer from newer versions are wrong. It is a waste material.

By Abdellah L

Dec 20, 2019

Il y a un problème avec l'importation des données pour faire le quiz sur les raisons pour lesquelles je ne peux pas le réussir.

By Henri

Sep 13, 2023

no real help when loss, no correction of the practice exercises to understand errors

By Sivuyile N

Dec 1, 2021

The quiz answers are reproducible in any version of R (3>).

By Ronelle C

May 8, 2023

Why am I not seeing the unenrollment option?

By Eric T

May 3, 2020

Poorly designed, need to update databases

By Carlos D

Dec 2, 2022

First practice file was corrupted