Chevron Left
Back to Game Developers and Esports Organizations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Developers and Esports Organizations by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
183 ratings

About the Course

Before you can have an Esport, you must have a video game to play and a game developer to design it. This course is dedicated to discussing game developers and their relationship with their respective Esport. The content will help you recognize the qualities a video game must have to become a successful Esport. We will examine the diagram demonstrating the various competitive structures commonly found in Esports. Esports, just like traditional sports, have their own professional organizations. These organizations strive to become successful businesses that win, make a profit, take care of their professional players, and attract a large audience. We will explore the factors that contribute to an Esports organization’s success, including branding, positioning, structuring the organization and funding sources....

Top reviews

JC

Invalid date

great content presented in a logical progression with immediately useful application in the real world!

JJ

Invalid date

Perfect course, and detailed materials with challenging assignments that are simulating the real world.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 52 Reviews for Game Developers and Esports Organizations

By Jorge T

Apr 24, 2021

The interviews, articles and videos are really interesting

By PROFESANDI

Dec 11, 2023

Excelente curso de formación para empezar en los Esports

By Vitoria V

May 21, 2020

Ótimo curso! Essencial para ter uma base de eSports!

By Maria G

Oct 20, 2020

Detailed and very easy to adapt to!

By SAHIL K

Oct 13, 2020

Name a better platform i'll wait

By Rohit P

Oct 15, 2020

thnku for this oportunatiy

By Tarun S

May 30, 2021

It was knowledgeable

By eyo e

Sep 10, 2019

Brilliant Contents

By Déo - G A

Jun 9, 2021

Excellent cours

By Pascal D

Dec 31, 2020

Great Insights,

By Kevin E

Oct 21, 2020

Great course!

By Teuku I

May 25, 2022

succes full

By SHAMIL B A

Jul 3, 2020

good course

By Juan P G

Jun 11, 2020

Good course

By Ihab H M F

May 16, 2021

Thanks!

By Gabriel I

Jul 11, 2023

Interesting overall - I think the peer assignment part it's a bit of a down-side. Having to wait for someone to review my submission without knowing when that'll happen.

By Miretta S

Jun 17, 2021

I really like the content and the way how the course is structured. However, We are in 2021 and material is from 2017. I think the material could be renewed more often.

By Juan A

Feb 9, 2021

Es muy bueno, pero algo corto y básico

By Sean M

Jan 7, 2020

Decent Introductory Information

By Steve S

Jun 22, 2021

Material is good as far as it goes but it refers to 2017 as being in the future. I'm taking the course in 2021 so the material is five years old. There have been many developments in esports in the past five years that are not covered in the course. Instructor is listed as Stephane Muller but I have seen no content from him. All interviews were done by Chad Smeltz.

The content is good and I'm glad I took the course. The material is just dated and needs to be updated.

By chris h

Mar 24, 2021

Interesting topics for an introduction but fairly light on content

By Felipe C

Oct 23, 2023

Superficial material.

By Jared C

Jan 23, 2021

The assignments are very confusing. They give you the rubric up front, but don't give you the actual criterion until you have finished the assignment and are ready to submit it. The assignments are supposedly peer reviewed, but if that's the case, some A-Hole failed me on the very first one. I know I didn't write anything ground breaking, but damn, give me enough points to pass. There is no way that paper was not good enough to move on. It was literally about what makes a good Esports game. Are you seriously telling me someone else, in my same position, read my paper and thought, "no, this isn't worth 7 out of 10 points to move on." Give me a break. Who the fuck does that? If you're paper makes sense and is comprehensible, I will absolutely give you 7 out of 10, if not more. What bullshit.

By Edwin A P V

Sep 13, 2021

A lot of links without video explanation

By Luke R

Oct 20, 2020

Granted, this is a swiftly evolving space, but course materials are quickly outdated. More problematic is that the scoring system across the entire Esports specialization is a poor one: based on the math, any marks off in a peer review and one is likely to fail (less than 70%) and honest assessments across different language barriers on subjective reports make failing likely. It is hard to re-submit and get another review. This was my most frustrating experience on Coursera and more students seemed inclined to "game" their grades in a way that was due to frustration with poor course and grading construction. Several complained high-level work was not rewarded and also went un-reviewed for some time. It's an important specialization to include, but this is genuinely poorly done as it stands.