Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory by Stanford University

4.6
stars
4,576 ratings

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind," game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Beyond what we call `games' in common language, such as chess, poker, soccer, etc., it includes the modeling of conflict among nations, political campaigns, competition among firms, and trading behavior in markets such as the NYSE. How could you begin to model keyword auctions, and peer to peer file-sharing networks, without accounting for the incentives of the people using them? The course will provide the basics: representing games and strategies, the extensive form (which computer scientists call game trees), Bayesian games (modeling things like auctions), repeated and stochastic games, and more. We'll include a variety of examples including classic games and a few applications. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-Syllabus.html There is also an advanced follow-up course to this one, for people already familiar with game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/gametheory2/ You can find an introductory video here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Top reviews

SC

Invalid date

I would have preferred a more mathematically rigorous treatment of the subject. Nevertheless, this was a great course — the instructors expounded all concepts with exceptional clarity and engagement.

RC

Invalid date

The course is generally good. The exercises however are not very well explained. Furthermore, it would be nice to have a pdf from the course in order to be able to study independently.

Filter by:

901 - 917 of 917 Reviews for Game Theory

By ROHIT S

Sep 21, 2021

Not very hard to pass it.

By Jingxin Z

Oct 19, 2018

a little bit confusing

By NIKHIL K

Mar 25, 2017

For a beginner, it is a fair start but definitely many things could have been better. The course does cover the main subject concepts in fair amount of depth and with decent rigor. The course videos are sometimes kind of less engaging. Many a times I felt my interest waning off. Many a times, the mathematical equations looked daunting. I think more focus should be put on including more number of real world examples and solving them within the videos.

Also, the concept of three Professors for one course was hard to digest, which led to the whole course feeling discontinuous and disconnected at several instances.

By Pablo E

Mar 27, 2018

The course could be more didactic. I miss many more examples, exercises and complementary readings to the videos. The videos are not always easy to understand. The games could be explained better and the teachings that can be drawn from them are not usually commented. It is a very interesting subject in which I would like to come back into the case that there were more suitable materials. Thank you very much for offering this course.

By Brij R S

Aug 11, 2023

well although i did this course but the teaching style was absolutely rubbish no examples no nothing. 3 Teachers of them 1 looks always half asleep(yoav) they were all just reading and giving complex examples i would never recommended this course to anyone dont waste money and time here and this entire course is available for free on the YT Channel named *Game Theory Online*.

By Kalyan L

Jun 25, 2023

The theory taught in the lectures is sub-optimal. The practice problems often are very different from what the majority of the lectures about. More examples should be solved in the lectures.

By Sajjad H K

Aug 9, 2020

It is a nice course but only if you need to know the game theory's formal definitions. In most of the cases to solve the examples and exercises I needed to search the web.

By Aaron W

Jul 25, 2017

Game theory is super interesting but this was crazy dry. The floating heads just don't get me immersed and I don't feel like I know the professors. The quizzes were silly.

By Q T F T

Aug 20, 2018

J

u

s

t

s

e

e

m

e

d

c

o

n

f

u

s

i

n

g

f

o

r

c

o

n

f

u

s

i

o

n

'

s

s

a

k

e

By Ahmed A S E

Sep 3, 2016

You need to simplify it a little more

By Jonathon C

Sep 20, 2016

i didn't really enjoy this course

By Nguyen V T

May 10, 2024

little hard with me

By TOMAS I M

Jun 2, 2020

The course ir really good (I am in week two). The problem is the locked asignemnts (i have to wait until June 28 to complete this week). I find it really frustrating trying to use my extra free time to move on the course and get blocked by locked assignements. I had other courses where you could move at the speed that was more comfortable for you. (I also don´t like the fact that the course has specific start dates). This makes the course unengaging and hard to follow.

By dulce r

Apr 17, 2021

He hecho cursos en Edx de MIT y Harvard y eran divertidos, prácticos y muy bien explicados, siento que aprendí. Este curso, los profesores explican todo de manera abstracta, la calidad del video es mala, no hay ejemplos concretos. No hay tareas cortas para fijar conocimiento luego de cada 5 videos. Es muy aburrido como hablan, les falta dinamismo. No volvería a hacer un curso en coursera

By Dwight J

Apr 28, 2023

If you are going to present a course you should probably give the student the information that you will test them on. If prerequisites are required list them. There was not a single mention of what the symbols in their formulas represented or how to interpret them. At age 52 I failed my first test. Thanks!

By Mathieu B

Jan 5, 2017

Another approach but mathematical demonstration is probably possible.

Coursera offer technologies to avoid classroom demos on whiteboard.

By Frank E

Jul 10, 2023

Shallow.