Chevron Left
Back to Game Theory II: Advanced Applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Theory II: Advanced Applications by Stanford University

4.7
stars
610 ratings

About the Course

Popularized by movies such as "A Beautiful Mind", game theory is the mathematical modeling of strategic interaction among rational (and irrational) agents. Over four weeks of lectures, this advanced course considers how to design interactions between agents in order to achieve good social outcomes. Three main topics are covered: social choice theory (i.e., collective decision making and voting systems), mechanism design, and auctions. In the first week we consider the problem of aggregating different agents' preferences, discussing voting rules and the challenges faced in collective decision making. We present some of the most important theoretical results in the area: notably, Arrow's Theorem, which proves that there is no "perfect" voting system, and also the Gibbard-Satterthwaite and Muller-Satterthwaite Theorems. We move on to consider the problem of making collective decisions when agents are self interested and can strategically misreport their preferences. We explain "mechanism design" -- a broad framework for designing interactions between self-interested agents -- and give some key theoretical results. Our third week focuses on the problem of designing mechanisms to maximize aggregate happiness across agents, and presents the powerful family of Vickrey-Clarke-Groves mechanisms. The course wraps up with a fourth week that considers the problem of allocating scarce resources among self-interested agents, and that provides an introduction to auction theory. You can find a full syllabus and description of the course here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/GTOC-II-Syllabus.html There is also a predecessor course to this one, for those who want to learn or remind themselves of the basic concepts of game theory: https://www.coursera.org/learn/game-theory-1 An intro video can be found here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Game-Theory-2-Intro.mp4...

Top reviews

AV

Invalid date

Great course. Very relevant to a lot of problems in business. Content was overtly mathematical. More practical examples cold have been interesting to solve.

GL

Invalid date

Very interesting and challenging... I wish there were more practical/real-world examples to learn the concepts but I was very glad to take this course

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 123 Reviews for Game Theory II: Advanced Applications

By Meghna V

Aug 25, 2017

A great course on the applications of game theory. I found this course to be extremely informative and the advanced information was taught really well through the videos. However, it would be helpful if more reading material was available to support the course videos.

By Rahul P

Nov 26, 2016

Great course and it's fun. I shall rate 5 stars. I highly recommend this course. The instructors presented difficult concepts in a lucid manner. To have more instructors teach a course gave multiple perspectives on the subject.

By Wilberth C

Feb 4, 2017

I belive that this course is usefull in computer science research, the discipline might allow us to explore alternative solutions from other approaches. Excellent instructors, excellent course! Thanks Coursera!

By Shawn A

Jan 13, 2017

An exceptional course that is extremely informative and sufficiently challenging. The best part about this course is the fact that it provides the applications of all the theoretical aspects of game theory.

By Ayushmaan D V

Jul 17, 2020

This was a wonderful and very mathematically intensive course, but completing all the quizzes gave a great sense of accomplishment and developed my understanding of game theory and its various facets.

By Paolo I

Jul 26, 2020

The subject is quite interesting, one of my favourites, if not my favourite, in economic theory. Both this and Game Theory I had concepts I din't previous knew, with didatic explanations.

By Meetkumar P

Apr 15, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on game theory. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you Stanford University,The University of British Columbia and Coursera.

By Ashish k

Jan 10, 2019

Brilliant mind-teaser, helps you form skills that will lead to logical thinking in strategic interplays between everyday events and even the more complex one.

By Greg L

Oct 19, 2022

Very interesting and challenging... I wish there were more practical/real-world examples to learn the concepts but I was very glad to take this course

By Li W

Jan 18, 2018

Great, the Problem set very helpful to understand the core of Mechanism Design conception. Thanks the 3 professores 's instruction.

By Anders A

Mar 13, 2018

Solid through the entire course, good lectures and interesting tasks. Only missing a few explanations in some of the task.

By Bayu S T

Aug 24, 2021

I have been grateful to be part of both Game Theory I and II, thank you for all this was very helpful for my career

By Himanshu P

Nov 6, 2020

I learned strategic thinking and how to make applied that in real world with various Game Theory methods. Thanks

By Roger G

Feb 18, 2018

Excellent course, I wish it was longer to have more examples but very interesting and well taught material

By Lee S Y

Jan 6, 2018

Lectures were clear and quizzes were effective. Could have helped to explain solutions in the quiz though.

By Pablo P S

Apr 25, 2021

An excellent resource to learn Game Theory, I would say at a graduate level. This course helped me a lot!

By Bhavook B

Oct 23, 2017

Great learning experience, one advice is to show the working of the solutions of the problem sets

By Abhiraj H

Jul 23, 2017

Loved the course.It is a little on the hard side but is overall very enjoyable and enriching.

By Luis F

Mar 21, 2020

Good intro to some applications of GT, particularly on auctions. A bit drier than part one.

By Kiryukhin R

Apr 1, 2018

perfect one to get a taste of theory behind the voting schemes and game mechanisms design

By Chusu H

Aug 27, 2017

A good step from basic game theory to more advanced theory and application in this field.

By Metin B

Oct 21, 2016

So much information given, in very compact but clear style, in short time. Great course

By Zhu

Feb 22, 2020

Fasinating course!!Comprehensible and lucid book also!Professor Jackerson is so cool!

By Mikhail K

Sep 30, 2017

Good course. And I like the teachers very much. But I woul like more on Game Theory.