Chevron Left
Back to Java for Android

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java for Android by Vanderbilt University

4.5
stars
2,431 ratings
660 reviews

About the Course

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

Top reviews

RB

Aug 04, 2020

This course will provide all basic information of android and it will also help you to understand the fundamental of java which is used in android. It really help me to improve my skills in android.

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 654 Reviews for Java for Android

By Carolina A

May 23, 2018

The course content good, but I take 2 stars away because it is wrong to say it is for beginners and people who are new to coding/programming.

It has taken me a significant amount of time and effort to provide the assignments on time, the lessons and the material provided are not enough to solve the assignments.

By Ivan K

May 18, 2016

The course is nice, lectures is fine.

But assignments is a bullshit. The instructions are uncertain, with typos. There is random number used, and you have to do magic with your algorithm in order to match expected output. I strongly dislike it.

By shashank p

May 26, 2020

it does have good explanations for topics but the assignments are kind of tough for beginners in programming. I had a lot of trouble on some assignments where I even had to ask others for advice and program which should not be the case.

By Debaditya S

Jul 04, 2019

The peer review assignment system is the worst....it demands 5 reviews and am still not able to fetch a single one......had to plead to so many unknown people in the discussion forums yet no response..............i hate this.

By Scott W

Aug 10, 2016

Its a solid java class that has almost 0 android learning. If you are expecting any kind of Android related learning. you will get none this is 100% a java class that just runs in the android environment.

By Reyadath U

Aug 24, 2020

A lot of times it felt like someone reciting a text book on Java rather than taking a proper class. Often times the instructor use terms that have not been covered previously which causes great difficulty.

By Prabhjot S

May 24, 2019

In my opinion, this mooc has pretty hard assignments to do, for basic things like 'for loop', they had created such tough assignments which require high thinking & logic.

By João P A M

May 17, 2016

I liked the course contents, but in my opinion the slides should be more modern, and the main idea in each lesson should get more highlight, and the ideas to retain too.

By Shadman I S

Jul 13, 2020

Not recommended for absolute beginners. You need at least a fair bit of understanding about Object Oriented Programming and Java language before taking this course.

By Rishabh N

Apr 05, 2020

The course is well structured but a bit boring at times. Overall the instructor's knowledge of the subject is good. The course could be more interactive.

By Ashish N

Nov 25, 2019

Teaching methods used in java, are not so good. So, please improve it upload new videos in this course.

This step would be really helpful

By Aditya J

Aug 13, 2020

good course for Android,

but, I would say that this can be much better course if Android Studio is running on step-by-step....

By Ali A

Mar 31, 2017

if you're a somewhat experienced programmer looking to start and hand on learn how to build apps this course is not for you.

By kavita s

Jul 14, 2019

upload zip file details are not properly given in last two assignments and projects are given on oldest methods.

By Deepak K

May 12, 2020

course and content and teachers are great but the technology used is very old that is an obstacle in learning

By Andrey Z

Jun 25, 2018

Good course in general but there are many errors and missing information in the assignments specifications.

By Lydia R

May 28, 2018

very nice course, but i would give less focus on algoritmia and i would focus more on android

By Akshay R

Aug 27, 2016

Very brief for java for android should add more details.

By Dmytro N

Jan 01, 2018

Course is very-very basic. No response from the stuff.

By Harsh K

May 28, 2020

course is very difficult to understand for beginners

By Bhargav R G

Aug 05, 2019

Good course. It could be made more interesting.

By theokanellopoulos24@gmail.com

Jul 01, 2016

Too little detail but nice course as an idea.

By Sarthak M

Apr 30, 2020

bit outdated course need a soft reboot .

By Sathya N R

Nov 07, 2017

Programs should have been taught more.

By Miguel Á R G

Aug 15, 2016

Its learning curve is almost vertical.