Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Speak Korean 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Speak Korean 1 by Yonsei University

4.9
stars
10,889 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Learn to Speak Korean 1! This course is for beginner students who are familiar with the Korean alphabet, Hangeul. Through this course students will learn the skills essential for daily interactions with Koreans while living in Korea. This course consists of six modules, and each module is composed of five units. Each unit has vocabulary, grammar and expressions, conversation practice, video clips, quizzes, a workbook, and vocabulary lists. In order to assist students with their independent studies, Korean learning materials such as lecture notes, workbooks, and vocabulary lists detailing each day’s lecture are also provided. The vocabulary lists are accompanied by English, Chinese, and Japanese translations. I hope that you enjoy all this program has to offer over the next six weeks. After studying in this program, you will be able to have a real Korean conversation with your newly acquired knowledge of the Korean language. Thank you! Your Course Team Chief Contents Developer: Sang Mee Han Contents Developers: Bock Ja Lee, Yoo Kyung Choi, Ha Min Cho, Ju Eun Kim Production Assistants: Jin Hee Kim, Eun Hye Kim...

Top reviews

PF

Nov 17, 2022

Excellent course. I learned a lot of the basic words and phrases to speak to my Korean friends in their native language. Very easy to follow and the practices helped the learning and listening skills.

JD

Jan 17, 2021

I find it hard and confusing at first but eventually I had fun. I love Korea so much that is why I want to learn Hangul. Also I will visit Korea when the pandemic is over. Thank you Yonsei University.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,693 Reviews for Learn to Speak Korean 1

By KHIN O M

Apr 4, 2022

I can learn basic Korean in reading and listening. Then practice spoken Korean a little.

This course give me some knowledge of Korean food and vocabulary.

Thank you so much for giving me chance to study online among COVID-19 crisis.

By Yajaira R A

Apr 5, 2021

Lo mejor de lo mejor, aprendí muchísimo y estoy muy feliz con mi progreso. Las clases fueron muy explicativas y fáciles de entender. 100% Satisfecha. Lo mejor es que puedes descargar todo el contenido y estudiar en cualquier momento.

By Melanie C

Sep 24, 2017

I started out only knowing the most basic greetings and how to read hangul and now I can definitely understand Korean more and speak sentences because of this course! I really do recommend! Stay on track and study and you'll be good!

By Wendy M C E

Feb 8, 2022

Me gustó mucho, tenía lecciones fáciles y directas que hacían que fuera mas sencillo comprender la gramática, con los documentos de lectura y trabajo facilitaba la práctica, y las listas de vocabulario de curso fueron de mucha ayuda

By Atalia L

Dec 11, 2020

I’m so glad for finding a course to help me improve my Korean. I self-study to learn 한글 but I still needed more to learn and with this course I can now say I’ve learned so much and now can have conversations. Thank you ☺️ so much!!!

By Angela K

Nov 13, 2020

I loved this course, especially Mrs. Sang Mee Han's teaching, she was great, besides Yonsei university is one of the best universities in the world and I feel proud for accomplishing this course 100%. I hope I will be in Korea soon.

By Rudolph R

May 13, 2020

Very good and grateful to be able to go back all the time to brush up on terms and understandings. Good course over all and the pace is good too . There is flexibility which i appreciate as well as deadline that keep you motivated.

By Daphney M

Jan 20, 2019

This style of teaching has been a great way to learn! I cannot wait to use what I've learned. The repetition you get helps with memorizing the vocab. I want to continue learning with Yonsei University!! Thank you for your lessons!

By Marco R

Jul 2, 2021

Very nice course, there's a lot of grammar to take in, and many words introduced in each lesson, if I could add anything to it, it would be a little more practice time, it was challenging for me to memorize all the words I needed

By Sabeur s

Sep 13, 2020

The course is well structured. the videos are interesting and well explained.The lecture notes are so helpful and easy to understand, the same goes for with the workbook. the perfect course for a beginner. I really recommend it.

By Tisha S

Aug 9, 2020

I enjoyed this course so much. It taught me a lot! The modules are very useful for a foreigner like me, especially when visiting South Korea. I truly recommend this course and hope to learn more about their language and culture.

By Ashwini R

Jun 29, 2020

I am really glad having taken this course . The professor has done a great job in making these videos including the demos by the students of Yonsei University. Go for it guys its a package of real fun, knowledge and experience .

By Niken P

Sep 24, 2021

Thank you to Yonsei University and Coursera for providing a place to practice speaking Korean properly and correctly. Thanks also to Professor Sang Mee Han, your explanation is very simple and easy to understand, and good luck.

By Basant B M

Aug 30, 2020

It was so helpfull and our dear professor makes everything looks easier to understand , she is an amazing person and teacher.. I thank her from the bottom of my heart and I'm looking forward to have the next course with her ^^

By Sophia C

Aug 6, 2020

The teacher explains herself so good, so I am able to understand the course. Now I am able to speak more confident this language.But, the course is too short and you should add a low intermediate course and so on until advance.

By Muzaffar M

May 22, 2020

Thank you for the fruitful and significant content for my very first Korean language course. I am very satisfied with the learning modules and promise myself to learn more. Thank you again, very helpful and truly appreciate it.

By alejandra l

Jun 4, 2017

Ha sido una experiencia muy grata aprender mediante este curso, duro tan poco y aprendí tanto... Sin duda alguna he ampliado mucho más mi vocabulario, y creo que ya puedo decir que estoy lista para ir a Corea. ¡Muchas gracias!

By omnia f

May 10, 2024

I really learned a lot and I can say that I can talk to my friends really well. Thank you very much for your trouble. I really love Korean culture and I want to study my master's degree in Korea. Thank you for helping me a lot

By AISHA K A

Oct 25, 2019

I think this is a great course. I learnt a lot from here , I already knew a bit of Korean but this course just strengthened my knowledge. It was worth it and the teacher is very friendly...I definitely made the right choice!!!

By Veronica T J C

Sep 26, 2023

Aprendi demasiado con este curso, la manera en que enseña es demasiado bueno, las actividad que se realizaron en el curso y los quizz en cada tema fue buena opcion para aprender mas rapido, espero con ansias el segundo nivel.

By Emma

Dec 8, 2022

i've taken other beginner korean courses, but found that i had many gaps in my knowledge. even though i still have a long way to go, this course has been the most helpful course i've enrolled in!! so wonderful and thorough !!

By Georgina M L M

Jun 28, 2020

Excellent course !!! I appreciate the time and work invested by all the participants in preparing and presenting the course. I wish they can continue the courses. Excellent work and a big thanks to Yonsei University. 감사합니다!!!

By Naveen G Q

Oct 1, 2022

This course helped me to learn the skills essential for daily interactions with Koreans while living in Korea.

I would like to thank our professor "Sang Mee Han " for arranging this helpful course for the beginner students.

By Daniel C

Mar 11, 2022

I learned so much in this class. I'm very grateful for the excellent instruction. Together with First Steps Korean I feel like I'm off to an excellent start in my process or learning to speak Korean. Thank you very much!

By Yupar L

Oct 26, 2020

I've learned this course, this course is the most effective for me.I've known Korean grammar more and more. And then,professor teach Korean language with english speaking carefully. I love this course and Yonsei University.