Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,777 ratings
1,141 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Feb 24, 2021

I always wanted to learn statistics from scratch, but I never had a good university teacher. Here I found a good teacher and also the opportunity to learn whenever I want ( and skipping parts I knew!)

AM
Feb 7, 2021

After trying several courses to get me started with R programming, this one came to the rescue and had all the info I wanted. It also provides a great way to practice through labs and a final project!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,116 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Rohit D W

Jan 30, 2020

It was really a great course, on an initial basis, you will learn different things a lot. And as a statistics student, I enjoyed the coursework, with an r programming language it was different at first but while getting used to it, it's a nice and easy way to deal with data.

By Christopher R

Jan 19, 2017

I enjoyed the RMD labs. I think they provide a great interactive hands on learning experience that video and paper assignments alone can not cover. The material covered in the labs is worthwhile as well, showing how to dissect that table into different cuts for investigation

By Thomas M

Sep 3, 2016

Very good introductory course to probability and data. Very hands-on examples and outstanding explanations. I already had several statistics courses before in my life but not in this quality. I can really recommend this course to anyone who to learn more about statistics.

By NIKOLAOS K

Jan 14, 2021

Very interesting course, both for Statistic and R language. Before the course I have no idea for programming, and i was felt nervous for my progress. With a lot of practice and the pace of the lectures i complete the course. For sure, i will continue to the next course!

By Karin S

Oct 5, 2017

Having very little statistical knowledge and no R programming experience before starting the course, I have learned so much! The coursework goes at a good pace, the instructors are very clear and explain things well. I look forward to taking the entire specialization.

By Tewis P

Jul 10, 2020

This course is very useful to know how to interpret the data, as the professors introduce R programming. R language is difficult to understand for beginners without prior knowledge, however it is not so difficult if you try your best as each command is well-explained.

By Yeonhwa A

Oct 26, 2020

Thank you so much Dr. Çetinkaya-Rundel and Coursera! I was able to learn the foundation of probability with great video lectures with readings. It was not easy for me to complete the R project at the end, and I learned a lot from the final project and peer reviews.

By Sanju S

Aug 12, 2016

Excellent course. Very engaging. The amount of effort the team has put in is very evident. The quizzes in the lecture make you pause, think and reinforce the concepts. I am currently doing John Hopkins data specialization as well, but this is way better. Thank you!

By DoubleJ J

Sep 21, 2020

Really good introduction to the principles of probability. The lab is really useful as well because it requires you to learn how to use R. Sometimes the 'simplest' things can be challenging because of how R functions & knowing these intricacies is very useful.

By Raghav A

Jul 17, 2017

The Course & Slide Material is nice.The examples used help in getting & applying the theory matter taught in the previous videos.It's great.

Only suggested thing is if the instructor could provide a word or handwritten material it would be an icing on the cake.

By amoulay

Apr 4, 2021

This was such an amazing course. The instructor is very knowledgeable about what she teaches; she is also very nice and explains the topics very well. The course assignment was my first at doing EDA on a data set. It was not easy but I was able to wrap it up.

By Marcellus R

Apr 18, 2020

Great course! Dr. Mine is a great instructor and the course structure is good. The final project is a bit challenging, especially for those who don't have prior R knowledge like me. However, I think this is the best way to learn a new programming language.

By Sky E G

Apr 20, 2020

a bit fast paced for people with no background in statistics, but for those who have the basis, it is great. Mine is a great instructor.

what bothered me a bit what the way the R part and the statistics (lectures) par was unrelated and almost independent.

By Valeriy K

Oct 25, 2019

I couldn't be more happy with this course. Super rich course materials, diverse tasks, hands-on labs, and many more. I really love the textbook, Open Statistics - the best statistics guides I've seen so far. Huge thanks to the professor Çetinkaya-Rundel!

By Zhou C

Aug 24, 2017

A great course by Professor Çetinkaya-Rundel whose teaching is very easy to understand. It was really instrumental and interesting to join this course especially when I dealt with those related assignments and ran R in the lab. Strong recommendation!!!

By Sarah W

Apr 27, 2018

Excellent course! I learned a lot about probability, and it was clear that a lot of work went into this curriculum. The slides were already perfect for taking notes from, and the examples were great. The instructor spoke very clearly and was awesome.

By Bruno R S

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent introduction to statistics. An good refresher to whom have already taken such a course long ago. The course content is mostly focused on basic statistics and math, so the R programming is quite challenging if you are a complete newbie to R.

By Tae K K

Apr 19, 2016

I have not taken Statistics 101 and Probability Theory 101 since college. This course was a great refresher course for review! I highly recommend this course as a refresher/review course to jump into real-world-application courses down the road.

By Khaled A I

Dec 12, 2019

The course is very organized and informative. explanation is very clear.

the only issue is that the final project requires R skills that are not taught during the course. The labs during the course is extremely primitive compared to that project

By Charly A

Nov 26, 2016

The professor is fantastic and the content is top-notch. A great mix of theory and real-world application. The course is not math-heavy but provides enough additional material for one to delve into those details. I highly recommend this course!

By Ilir S

Dec 28, 2020

The course is well-structured and easy to follow. In addition, the professor explains it in an interesting way, not making the subject boring. Looking forward to move to the rest of the specialization once i have some free time. Great content!

By MD A S

Sep 2, 2020

This is the best R programming course I ever came across on Coursera. It is very interactive and real life application based. The assignments and projects helped me to have a better understanding of technical aspects of both R and statistics.

By Corina S

Jun 13, 2020

This course helped me break into the world of R programming pretty easily. I also really enjoyed the course material. The only thing I thought could use some improvement were the instructions for the final project. They were a bit too vague.

By Lindsay C

Dec 13, 2018

This course was a good introduction to basic probability, experimental design, and data structure. The labs and final assignments made great use of R Studio and markdown. This course is best suited for someone who is proficient in R already.

By Prashant S

Aug 22, 2017

The course was structured and explained in easy to understand fashion. The project submission at the end of the week was a challenge for a beginner like me, but having submitted it and gained a good grade on that is a satisfying experience.