Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data with R

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Probability and Data with R by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,536 ratings
1,076 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Jan 23, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

HD
Mar 30, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 1,051 Reviews for Introduction to Probability and Data with R

By Masa

May 3, 2020

There could be more clear instructions and completed tasks for R exercises. For beginners it does get too complex too fast without a resource to turn to.

By Raenish

Nov 11, 2018

Hi.I had a wonderful time with this course.Thanks to Instructor Dr Mine Rundel. I am a beginner and new to stats,still i got clarity on base statistics .

By Kaley H

Jun 25, 2020

Great course! Really great prof, who does a good job explaining the concepts. I am completely new to R and the course really helped develop my skills.

By Robert H

Aug 12, 2017

I appreciated most of the course. I thought that the final assignment did not fully represent the course as a whole, though otherwise I appreciate it.

By guanglingxu

Sep 10, 2018

The R practice is really useful,however,you need to pay more effort on final project by learning more knowledge than what was offered by this cours

By José L E N

Aug 15, 2016

Fantastic course. Both the lessons and materials were very educational. Besides it constitutes a very didactic introduction to ggplot2 and dplyr.

By Mark T

Jul 28, 2016

Great introductory course in statistics. The lectures are not about R per se, but you learn R by applying the statistics that you have learned.

By Yao H

Nov 5, 2017

Very informative, the project might be a bit difficult for R starters like me since the introduction to R in this class is not very systematic.

By Murray S

Jan 2, 2017

Does a good job of covering the basics. In my case, I'm looking for more of a refresher rather than learning the concepts for the first time.

By Johannes J V

Nov 10, 2020

Good course for statistics. However, it would be great if instructor explained some of the R tools used in the labs in her lecture videos.

By Saurav G

Dec 28, 2017

This was one of the great course available and the first one I have completed.

Thank you mentors for your hard work in making this course.

By 李晓蕾

Mar 17, 2018

statistics are quite adequately illustrated; however, the R skiils teaching is not efficient. i encounter alot of probelems of graphing.

By Alessio B

Jun 1, 2017

Very good course. A bit basic for my background, but useful anyway to refresh concepts and look at them from a different point of view.

By Miguel A B

Jun 8, 2020

Cheatsheets should be provided for beginners in using the RStudio. In that way, graphs and plots can be easily understand by the user.

By Chee C H

Aug 8, 2019

This is a good course for learning basic statistics, and then learning how to use some of those ideas with the R programming language.

By mnavidad

May 3, 2018

This course was well structured and provided the right information, the lectures give a beginners understanding of statistics and more

By Hung Q P

Nov 15, 2018

The course material covers the concepts of probability quite well. However, the course should go deeper in R programming techniques.

By Melissa S

Jul 13, 2017

The coursework is manageable and well taught but I think there is a disconnect between the first few weeks and the capstone project.

By Shiyue L

Nov 3, 2019

The data material choose is not good enough, there various of the problem in the process of draw graph, due to the data quality.

By Tasmeem J M

May 23, 2020

The theoretical part was really very useful, the R sessions could be a bit more descriptive to make the conceptions clearer.

By Peng G

May 6, 2020

Most learning is independently to expolring data, and you will bring you own question Using R to find the correlate answer

By Luo Y

Mar 22, 2018

I love the lab of this course. But I hope there can be one lab teaches us where to start with a data set. like the project.

By Henry B

Dec 12, 2017

Love the lecture style and the learning is at the appropriate level for those with an interest but not much prior knowledge

By Abraham P

Jul 23, 2019

I think it will be better if you give students more R practical assignment. But overall, very useful and helpful learning!