Chevron Left
Back to Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
5,302 ratings
888 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

OK

Jun 27, 2020

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM

May 14, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 874 Reviews for Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

By Rodolfo G

Jun 21, 2019

it is not as extensive as other courses in Coursera, it should try to expand a little more its content

By Leon V

Apr 04, 2017

Seemed more introductory, here are the tools - go have fun rather than actually teaching teaching

By Kamruzzaman T

Jun 29, 2020

One of the best courses. However, the assignment questions lack clarity. Teaching Staff absent.

By Daniel W

May 28, 2020

I liked the course but not so much the fact that every assessment was to be reviewd by peers

By David M

Oct 14, 2018

Much more refined that course 1 in the specialisation. Worthwhile to practice matplotlib

By Karen Y

Jul 30, 2017

This course gave a solid introduction to plotting, charting, and data representation.

By Isuru W

Jul 03, 2018

This is ok. I don't think it is very structured. Homeworks are not guided well

By Richard L

Aug 20, 2018

More technical guidance and concrete examples would be much appreciated.

By Harshith S

Jun 03, 2019

Better than the previous one. But still very vague explanations

By Sanjay S

Aug 11, 2020

This was a good course. I learned a lot about charting.

By Xavier P C

Apr 20, 2020

The only course in the specialization that's worth to do

By Peter B B

Feb 10, 2018

Fine for learning matplotlib, little additional benefit

By Sylvain D

Mar 19, 2018

Good but I feel not comfortable with peer reviewing...

By Jesús P S

Jan 09, 2018

Not so good as the first course of the specialization

By John W

Mar 20, 2018

Solid, but not as good as Applied Machine Learning.

By Rizvaan M

May 05, 2020

Overall a good course, but has to improve.

By Sandeep S

Sep 20, 2019

Week 4 - Assignment is very frustrating.

By Avi S

Jun 29, 2018

tough unexplained assignments

By Rahul

Jul 03, 2018

Peer grading is not worthy

By Mohd S M

May 06, 2020

Little hard to understand

By Qiang L

Jan 15, 2019

Skills taught is limited.

By Muhammad s k

Oct 12, 2019

Not a defining one

By Vishen M

Feb 07, 2018

Good course.

By Muhammad T R

Jun 19, 2017

best I think

By Daniel M

Feb 16, 2019

sucks