Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) by University of Michigan

4.8
66,541 ratings
16,399 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)

Top reviews

BU

Feb 14, 2017

Great teacher Chuck and obviously a great course for people just starting out with programming. Well paced. The suggested timings for the assignments were a bit off, I think, but well, that's just me.

EK

May 13, 2017

Excellent, although, even without having any programming experience except some Visual Basic at school about ten years ago, in my opinion the course could have bee more difficult and the pace quicker.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 15,909 Reviews for Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

By Eduards K

May 13, 2017

Excellent, although, even without having any programming experience except some Visual Basic at school about ten years ago, in my opinion the course could have bee more difficult and the pace quicker.

By Bryan T H A

Jan 28, 2019

Lecture videos were broken into small parts whereby it's easy to understand and digest. Assessment given were relevant to what was taught for each segment. Navigating around course contents were easy.

By Yuxin N

May 25, 2019

this course is extremely suitable for an individual who does not know anything about python. but after i learned the course . it seems like a litter bit of easy. i commend that at the final of the course. the text should tend to more difficult so that people who learn this course can actually improve programming skill

By Brittany N

Jan 17, 2016

After trying tutorial after tutorial and exploring many different resources to learn Python, I have finally found one that works! This is a very fun course, and the free textbook is simply incredible.

By Rui D

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely basic but Dr. Chuck is so interesting that you never get bored. You can pass the course in a few days with minimum or even no programming knowledge. It's a good starting point for beginners.

By Mayar S F

May 17, 2019

It's perfect

By Eric V H

Oct 05, 2017

I did not find this course helpful. The assignments seem to ask for more info that you've been taught in any of the videos. My analogy for the course is this: It's like making a newborn baby watch a video on swimming and then throwing it into the ocean and acting shocked when it doesn't know how to swim. The mentors in the discussion forum are condescending and do not help when you don't understand the terms they are using. I would not recommend this course for beginners.

By Siddharth

May 17, 2019

Great way to start. It is excellent for persons with no programming background

By sanketi g

Dec 25, 2018

Best Course I have done on Coursera

By Tristan L

Jan 03, 2018

Thank you. It was a worthwhile course. Entertaining as well. I just wish that there were more sample homework before the exercises so students could see how the lessons are applied to actual problems.

By Mohak G

Jun 17, 2019

Great course to start programming in Python.

By MRITUNJAY K S

Jun 07, 2019

i know about a bit of programming language skills by using c or c++. But i also wanted to learn about the python programming language, so i decided to go with coursera & i want to say....waao...Dr. Chuck is awesome, the way he taught is pretty great... i mean to say that... this course is pretty awesome for everyone who want to go with python programming language So, i'm highly recommending to go with this course.

By Alan W

Nov 20, 2015

Easy to follow and not boring. The instructor breaks things down in simple form. The Coursera platform is sometimes a bit quirky but otherwise the content in this course I thought was quite excellent.

By Jerol T

Nov 12, 2016

I completed the course in about three days. I've never programmed before to the learning curve was excruciating but nonetheless I managed to get through and finally get my python feet wet so to speak.

By Taniya M

Jun 21, 2017

first time i had done any course online and this was a wonderful experience

I learned all the stuff and the explanation provided was good.

i would like to do more courses from here

thank you!

By Yared N

Oct 15, 2017

This course is organized and explained very well. It is moderately challenging, and I recommend it to get interested in Python. The teacher and the assistant staff are very good. I enjoyed the course.

By Jan H H

Jul 26, 2019

Good systematic course for beginners - although for real beginners some parts may be quite a bit too geeky, the promise that even if you don't know much about computers you will still be able to follow the course doesn't convince me. If you had some experience with programming, go at your own speed with the course materials and you will be able to finish within a couple of hours - I finished the whole seven weeks in two days, not working on it full time and watching all the videos, which is not really necessary. Some of the examples don't seem to make much practical sense, which would be good for motivation, but they serve their purpose to understand syntax and structure. Some have errors, which is surprising given the huge audience that can help to correct them. There are extra materials about hard- and software developers that are not really connected.

By Shubham J

Jan 10, 2019

Best of Instructions and the best teaching faculty on internet.

By Hemant V R

Dec 13, 2018

I really enjoyed the course.

Charles Severance explains every concept in a simple way with good examples.

By Nimit R

Aug 19, 2018

Very well explained the concepts of programming in the context of Python and that too with good fun. Love you Chuck

By Pratap C

Apr 22, 2019

Great starting course in Python for anyone interested in programming. Very engaging and informative.

By Miranda E

Mar 08, 2019

I really liked Dr Severance. He kept my interest and didn't drone on about things....had a great personality and didn't assume you knew everything he has learned throughout his entire career. He has made me want to take the entire specialization. Great Job!

By Demetrius l

Mar 07, 2019

Course explains everything in a well defined manner and it's so easy to understand but challenging enough to have you think on your own. Very impressive. Hope there are more courses like this for more advanced subjects.

By Chaitanya K

Feb 27, 2019

Great interactive course for beginners in programming as it doesn't only offer theoretical knowledge but also provides a platform to test one's abilities

By Yvonne V

Mar 06, 2019

I am an absolute beginner to programming. I find this course a clearly instructed one for beginners. The course design is pragmatically useful because you need to practice by yourself, going through videos and books, in order to pass all the assignments. It is worth it in the end!