Chevron Left
Back to Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python), University of Michigan

4.8
53,472 ratings
13,863 reviews

About this Course

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Introductory course
(4203 Reviews)
High quality instructor
(1484 Reviews)

Top reviews

By AW

Nov 20, 2015

Easy to follow and not boring. The instructor breaks things down in simple form. The Coursera platform is sometimes a bit quirky but otherwise the content in this course I thought was quite excellent.

By RD

Jun 23, 2016

Extremely basic but Dr. Chuck is so interesting that you never get bored. You can pass the course in a few days with minimum or even no programming knowledge. It's a good starting point for beginners.

Filter by:

13,368 Reviews

By Tony Fastiggi

Mar 22, 2019

This class served as not only my introduction to Python, but to programming in general. For whatever reason, programming can seem like a daunting task to people, including me. However, Professor Severance had a casual, yet confident attitude that made each week feel like an approachable game that happens to be very useful. I didn't expect to have a great time watching the lectures, but I did. Obviously, I'm not very advanced yet with programming, but it seemed to me Professor Severance was great at anticipating faulty habits or inclinations and nipping those in the bud for us beginners. He has well-constructed examples to explain his points without making them overly complex. In short, I think the title of the course is apt; it does a good job at making Python understood by everybody who is interested to learn. Thanks for the solid foundation!

By David Martinez Sobrino

Mar 22, 2019

Amazing Course! 100% recommended

By George Kanaridis

Mar 22, 2019

Thank you very much!

By Lovejeet

Mar 22, 2019

Instructor was really a good person. It literally helps new student to get skills in python and an achieve things using python

By Malaya Kumar Swain

Mar 22, 2019

thank you

By Juan Manuel Verme Insúa

Mar 22, 2019

The best course for beginners

By Luuk Vincken

Mar 22, 2019

Perfectly clear to learn the basics of Python and Programming

By LI Chuan

Mar 22, 2019

Very good class

By 노진형

Mar 22, 2019

Basic of Prog

By 蒋雨暄

Mar 22, 2019

Great course! Many thanks to people who work hard on sharing knowledge with everyone in the world!