Chevron Left
Back to Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
4,375 ratings

About the Course

Finding and hiring the right people is often cited as the number one concern of businesses today. It seems we are all competing for the best and brightest workers. As you will see in our time together in the second course, a critical component of the People Manager Value Proposition is to hire talented people who enable the organization to achieve its strategic goals. This course is an introduction into the topic of recruitment, selection and onboarding. At the outset of the course we will explore the importance of linking recruitment goals with overall company strategy. We then look at a number of options to recruit and select employees both effectively and legally. Throughout the course we will examine current issues in talent acquisition, such as how companies are now leveraging social media and hiring analytics to ensure better quality hires. At the conclusion of the course, we look at how to onboard employees to promote employee commitment and engagement....

Top reviews

KS

Invalid date

Hai All, I strongly recommend this course for all the People Managers who are handling team and recruiters . As this course gives us strong foundation which enable us to perform better.

JL

Invalid date

Learning new techniques in hiring and onboarding was great information. These tools can be used to improve any organizational structure. I am very excited about the knowlege I have gained here .

Filter by:

1051 - 1072 of 1,072 Reviews for Recruiting, Hiring, and Onboarding Employees

By JIA N

Jun 2, 2020

I am not satisfied with the course at all. Firstly the recording. It is observed multiple times that the first 50 secs of a video was recorded poorly - the audio volume recorded was so low that it was not audible.

Secondly, the content. The slides were blunt. Many times the entire slide is just one big title or a few bullet points. I might as well just read the transcript.

The quiz is not well designed. The questions are literally trying to test the recency of you watching the video. There is a question which asks you to choose the right percentage of something from four options! It is not even a fact that is worth to remember! Many other questions are simply true/false questions, which does not require you to apply what you learned from the lecture but rather remember what you have watched.

Even for the lecture itself, the lecturer gave absolute statements without qualifying it or combining it with sufficient contexts, which is off-putting. For instance, one of her opinions is, "whenever you can, hire internally". She gave reasons such as boosting morale, less hiring costs etc. These are true reasons but "whenever you can" gives the absoluteness and it is ambiguous (how do you define can/cannot?)

I feel pretty upset after going thru the first two weeks of content and just don't want to waste my time any more.

By Adrienne C

Aug 12, 2019

This course seemed much less thought out than the other courses in this specialization. The slides were lacking, with only one or two words on a slide while the professor rambled on for minutes at a time. Dead air randomly through every video made it seem like no one had bothered to review these before posting them online. The random splicing of in-lecture quizzes seemed like an after thought, especially because they were typically quizzing on something that hadn't yet been addressed.

The other courses in this specialization have been fantastically put together, and if this were the first course I had attempted, I probably wouldn't have bothered with the specialization as a whole.

By Mika A

Jan 28, 2024

I did not find this course as engaging as the first one by John Budd. This one was lacking - the presentation slides were not engaging or easy to follow and the presenters themselves didn't seem very sure. The quizzes were so easy like an intern put them together and I didn't feel like I really learnt anything. The Onboarding module in particular was bleh. I felt it lacked structure and the instructor did not want to actually go into the really helpful stuff. It altogether generally felt like a rushed job and a waste of my money. Now, I'm not sure whether to continue the specialisation because one course has been good and one has been bad.

By Sandy G

Jan 25, 2022

I'm so disappointed by how outdated this course is. Some of the information is timeless and useful, but when the instructor mentions an upcoming law suit with Uber in 2016 (and the year is 2022) we've got a problem.

There's actually an entire section called Go Mobile! that tells students that they need to be on their phones and have good websites.

With the ongoing pandemic, the workplace has changed dramatically and people are working differently than ever before. A course on recruiting, hiring, and onboarding NEEDS to reflect that.

By Julie L

Apr 10, 2020

Very basic and outdated content. This course teaches the basics of how Hiring and Onboarding were done 15 years ago. It does not mention the new innovative methods that Best companies use today. It barely mentions the new A.I.-driven and/or video-based technologies available today to look for a job or how to hiring Millennials. Good if you don't know anything about Hiring at all (like what are the steps: phone call, interview, background checks, etc.)

By Miguel L

May 4, 2023

The first 3 weeks need a lot of more effort. The presentations aren't as dynamic as the first course. In the tests, the professors are evaluating things that were not previously teached and it's really frustrating because I was never able to find the reference for that question was being asked. I believe that this course needs improvement as it is the second part of a specialization.

By Alka P

Sep 1, 2019

3 stars because of fluctuating audio, repetition of subject matter instead of giving contemporary examples and the last assignment was not well directed nor laid out for us. I hope students aren't just giving each other the highest scores just to get a high score. I'm here to learn. With an assignment like that, I am rethinking paying for more of these HRM courses.

By Madhavi D K

Jul 27, 2019

The course was good but I did not enjoy the teaching style/presentation of the lecturer. Professors/Lecturers in other courses have made their course more interesting using well crafted slides. This course had lot of monotonous talking and very less of slides. Its becomes a challenge to sit through such lectures.

By Cindy H

May 4, 2017

I liked the professors and their delivery but I felt the content was too relative to one's job. I found that not all of it was relevant to me and I abhorred the final peer graded assignment. It was long winded and repetitive.

By Oliver M

Jul 1, 2021

Course material is not well maintaned, quizzes have formatting errors and submission's are very simple. Expected content more deeper; very on the surface. Delivery of the content by the instructors isn't very well performed.

By Veronika K

Mar 1, 2024

I didn’t like the way this course is organised. Compared to the first course in this specialization, this one is much much worse. The lecturers cannot make presentations and quizzes. Awful.

By Eline J

Oct 8, 2017

I was a bit disappointed... I hoped to dive a little deeper into HR this time, but all the information was quite self-evident.

By Andreea P

Mar 31, 2020

This course had been taught only for managers but I am an HR professional and this course had hardly manage to engage me.

By Erica G

May 14, 2024

Videos would stop suddenly, exam wouldn’t provide recently submitted answers to know what was wrong

By Nanda K

Jun 7, 2021

It should be taught by Proff John budd he explains the topic very well

By Amr M

Mar 17, 2019

not as good as the first course in the specialization

By Jean D N

Sep 2, 2020

ok

By Adam P

Jun 13, 2024

I can’t even doing this survey so why would I give this more than a 1 star. Also much of this information is from 2016. Let’s go!

By Pratti N (

Dec 30, 2021

I haven't received my course completion certificate yet.

By VENKATRAMAN P

Aug 7, 2020

My assignment is in due

By Tonmoy K

Jun 21, 2020

it was a good course

By Robert H

Jul 7, 2018

0