Chevron Left
Back to Relational Database Administration (DBA)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Relational Database Administration (DBA) by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
84 ratings

About the Course

Ongoing and proactive management is critical to the security and performance of database management systems. Database administration is the function of managing the operational aspects of database systems and maintaining them. Database administrators work to ensure that applications make the most efficient use of databases and that physical resources are used adequately and efficiently. In this course, you will discover some of the activities, techniques, and best practices for managing a database. You will learn about configuring and upgrading database server software and related products. You will also learn about database security; how to implement user authentication, assign roles, and assign object-level permissions. You will also gain an understanding of how to perform backup and restore procedures in case of system failures. You will learn about how to optimize databases for performance, monitor databases, collect diagnostic data, and access error information to help you resolve issues that may occur. Many of these tasks are repetitive, so you will learn how to schedule maintenance activities and regular diagnostic tests and send automated messages of the success or failure of a task....

Top reviews

RG

Dec 5, 2022

Great practice and learning experience, looking forward to begin the next course.

CD

Oct 26, 2022

Thanks for all the excellent info....great experience!

Filter by:

1 - 10 of 10 Reviews for Relational Database Administration (DBA)

By David B

Jan 5, 2023

I would have given this course three stars but the mistakes in the final assignment which took me forever to figure out due to my being a novice lost them an additional star. The instructions give you a partial syntax of a GRANT statement but place DATABASE after rather than before the DATABASE name causing me to have to eventually figure out that the error I was experiencing was due to COURSERA providing the incorrect syntax for the assignment. Glad I had the opportunity to troubleshoot but I have seen too many examples of sloppy course design as I have gone thorough the Data Engineering IBM certificate program.

By Carlos M D

Oct 27, 2022

Thanks for all the excellent info....great experience!

By Santiago Z A

Sep 13, 2022

Good course in overall. Labs should be debugged. In my opinion, it also introduces a lot of concepts without the enough practice.

By Matthew M

Mar 20, 2023

Pros: Great intro to DBA. Labs are great for hands-on experience and general playing around with the concepts. REALLY appreciate the exposure to both command-line and GUI for PostgreSQL, MySQL, and IBM Db2.

Cons: Related to Peer-Graded Lab and Grading rubric -- A few of the Final Assignment Peer grading rubric requirements conflict with the expectations described in the Final Assignment Lab questions (Task 3.1, Task 3.3, Task 3.5).

Also, the IBM Db2 GUI Cloud version that I have access to through these Coursera courses does not show the SQL panel side-by-side with the Results panel- the version I have access to shows the panels above-and-below on the screen. This version also will NOT indicate query runtime in the same window as the query results; this version can either show a window indicating query runtime, or show a window showing query results, but NOT both. The Peer-graded Rubric conflicts with this as it requires a screenshot that shows query runtime ALONG WITH query results.

By Natale F

Dec 7, 2021

Very good course which allows to approach the concepts of relational database administration. I found this course technical but the alternation between theory and practice allows to assimilate the notions well! I do not recommend this course to people who have no knowledge of databases, a course on RDBMS is necessary before.

By Roberto C U G

Dec 6, 2022

Great practice and learning experience, looking forward to begin the next course.

By interactive l

Jul 27, 2022

Simple and straight to the point

By Mojtaba E

Jan 17, 2023

Excellent course

By Ayman M

Jan 17, 2023

Great, Thanks

By Manuel G C

Aug 23, 2022

Great course