Chevron Left
Back to Relational Database Administration (DBA)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Relational Database Administration (DBA) by IBM

4.4
stars
170 ratings

About the Course

Get started with Relational Database Administration and Database Management in this self-paced course! This course begins with an introduction to database management; you will learn about things like the Database Management Lifecycle, the roles of a Database Administrator (DBA) as well as database storage. You will then discover some of the activities, techniques, and best practices for managing a database. You will also learn about database optimization, including updating statistics, slow queries, types of indexes, and index creation and usage. You will learn about configuring and upgrading database server software and related products. You’ll also learn about database security; how to implement user authentication, assign roles, and assign object-level permissions. And gain an understanding of how to perform backup and restore procedures in case of system failures. You will learn how to optimize databases for performance, monitor databases, collect diagnostic data, and access error information to help you resolve issues that may occur. Many of these tasks are repetitive, so you will learn how to schedule maintenance activities and regular diagnostic tests and send automated messages of the success or failure of a task. The course includes both video-based lectures as well as hands-on labs to practice and apply what you learn. This course ends with a final project where you will assume the role of a database administrator and complete a number of database administration tasks across many different databases....

Top reviews

HT

Oct 16, 2023

There are many advanced knowledge through this courses that I feel helpful when applying to manage your database system. You should review the lecture videos many times to digest them

AS

Apr 4, 2023

These courses, from leading institutions all over the world, are only accessible to me through Coursera. I learn something new and fascinating every day.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 33 Reviews for Relational Database Administration (DBA)

By David B

Jan 5, 2023

I would have given this course three stars but the mistakes in the final assignment which took me forever to figure out due to my being a novice lost them an additional star. The instructions give you a partial syntax of a GRANT statement but place DATABASE after rather than before the DATABASE name causing me to have to eventually figure out that the error I was experiencing was due to COURSERA providing the incorrect syntax for the assignment. Glad I had the opportunity to troubleshoot but I have seen too many examples of sloppy course design as I have gone thorough the Data Engineering IBM certificate program.

By Santiago Z A

Sep 13, 2022

Good course in overall. Labs should be debugged. In my opinion, it also introduces a lot of concepts without the enough practice.

By Matthew M

Mar 20, 2023

Pros: Great intro to DBA. Labs are great for hands-on experience and general playing around with the concepts. REALLY appreciate the exposure to both command-line and GUI for PostgreSQL, MySQL, and IBM Db2.

Cons: Related to Peer-Graded Lab and Grading rubric -- A few of the Final Assignment Peer grading rubric requirements conflict with the expectations described in the Final Assignment Lab questions (Task 3.1, Task 3.3, Task 3.5).

Also, the IBM Db2 GUI Cloud version that I have access to through these Coursera courses does not show the SQL panel side-by-side with the Results panel- the version I have access to shows the panels above-and-below on the screen. This version also will NOT indicate query runtime in the same window as the query results; this version can either show a window indicating query runtime, or show a window showing query results, but NOT both. The Peer-graded Rubric conflicts with this as it requires a screenshot that shows query runtime ALONG WITH query results.

By Natale F

Dec 7, 2021

Very good course which allows to approach the concepts of relational database administration. I found this course technical but the alternation between theory and practice allows to assimilate the notions well! I do not recommend this course to people who have no knowledge of databases, a course on RDBMS is necessary before.

By Carlos D

Oct 27, 2022

Thanks for all the excellent info....great experience!

By Mohammad M

Jun 24, 2023

Good courses and videos but the final exam and other quizzes need to be corrected.

By yuqi h

Apr 19, 2023

shit!

By Huy T

Oct 17, 2023

There are many advanced knowledge through this courses that I feel helpful when applying to manage your database system. You should review the lecture videos many times to digest them

By Ashwanikumar S

Apr 4, 2023

These courses, from leading institutions all over the world, are only accessible to me through Coursera. I learn something new and fascinating every day.

By VYZANIARIS G

Jul 31, 2023

Very good course and very informative. Thank you IBM, for educating me in such an important field

By Roberto C U G

Dec 6, 2022

Great practice and learning experience, looking forward to begin the next course.

By Muhammad s

Oct 15, 2023

a great way and place to learn knowledge

By PIUS O

Sep 17, 2023

Well explained and practical based

By interactive l

Jul 27, 2022

Simple and straight to the point

By Monika P

Sep 18, 2023

Very helpful. Thank you!

By Juan C J T

Jul 10, 2023

Very complete course

By Mojtaba E

Jan 17, 2023

Excellent course

By Ayman M

Jan 17, 2023

Great, Thanks

By Manuel G C

Aug 23, 2022

Great course

By Sabeur M

Jan 22, 2024

Great course

By Sayed i M

Sep 21, 2023

Very Useful

By Raneem a a

Dec 17, 2023

good

By BASEL A o

Nov 30, 2023

good

By muchu v

Sep 22, 2023

good

By Du L M

Oct 29, 2023

The final Quiz was so challenging that I have tried multiple attempts to get to Grade 80% to be able to pass. Even after reviewing the video, I still got it wrong.