Chevron Left
Back to Speaking to Inspire: Ceremonial and Motivational Speeches

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Speaking to Inspire: Ceremonial and Motivational Speeches by University of Washington

4.8
stars
149 ratings

About the Course

The most memorable speeches inspire, entertain, and praise. By blending stories and eloquence, great speeches highlight the core values motivating an audience. You might need to do this in a keynote address, a eulogy, or simply a business meeting. Inspiring audiences is a common, but difficult writing challenge. You want a speech that elevates the topic and the audience. This course gives you a method for preparing and delivering speeches that inspire and entertain. By the end of this course, you should be able to compose and deliver moving speeches that praise core audience values through evidence, storytelling, and humor. You should be able to write eloquent passages in tones appropriate to the audience and occasion and speak fluidly from either a well-prepared manuscript or from memory. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Top reviews

SS

Invalid date

Definitely my favorite course in this specialization.

MR

Invalid date

Great! I learn a lot, thank you so much Dr. Matt McGarrity!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 53 Reviews for Speaking to Inspire: Ceremonial and Motivational Speeches

By Adie, A A

Jan 19, 2021

This is an amazing course. The challenges were worth it.

By Mohd J M

May 4, 2020

I learnt here, how to give speeches at important events

By Shirley S

Nov 22, 2021

Definitely my favorite course in this specialization.

By Margaret D

Oct 7, 2023

I enjoyed the course; it opens my mind up.

By Ramil N

Dec 5, 2020

It was an interesting and useful course

By Muhammed N A

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent. Matt is good teacher ever!

By Manuela B

Jun 7, 2021

Amazing topic, examples, teacher!

By Susan T S C

May 26, 2020

interesting and challenging

By Nguyen T T A

Apr 7, 2021

What a worth course~

By Annu p

May 5, 2020

great experience

By Alex T

Nov 12, 2022

very inspiring

By AUU23EGCSE077

Jul 17, 2024

It was good

By Nguyen Q L

Oct 5, 2020

Brilliant!

By Fredy j c r

Oct 17, 2020

excelente

By NGUYEN M A

Jul 4, 2023

good

By HieuNTCA161046

Apr 7, 2022

good

By Mona A A

Jun 16, 2020

good

By 42992

May 27, 2020

T

By Akin A

Jun 29, 2020

Great course. I learnt a lot and got to spend lots of time practising (& hopefully improving) my ceremonial speaking skills. The only downside to this course is that the peer review system isn't great - I had to spend abit of time on the forums making sure I got enough peer reviews to pass. Other than the peer review issues, this was a brilliant course!

By Amit G

Feb 23, 2018

Great course gives you an insight into preparing and delivering a great speech! I will recommend it.

Thx Matt for conducting in-depth research into this topic and delivering it to us. thx

By Yoram

May 21, 2021

One big downside is how many peers dont do their assignments. It makes the grading of peers difficult as its nonsense many times.

By 18-4A3 Y

May 23, 2020

Thanking coursera for giving me this opportunity

By LATHRO

Dec 29, 2018

Thank you for this huge content.

By Nguyen T T N

Aug 10, 2019

Fewer peer reviews please

By SAKKURU L

Jul 11, 2020

very useful course