Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Vocal Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Vocal Production by Berklee

4.7
stars
362 ratings

About the Course

This course addresses recorded vocal performances and the technologies used to highlight and support them in modern record production and mixes. Most of us know that vocals serve as the focal point of modern recordings but many do not know the tools used or when the tools are used best in modern record production. The course begins with simple vocal placement in a mix, where you will also learn the fundamentals of compression and equalization. You’ll further study delays and reverbs before moving to advanced concepts in audio editing, synthetic processing, automatic & graphic pitch correction, time compression, time expansion, flex and elastic audio. Through analysis and/or hands on projects that the students will post for peer review, the student will gain an understanding of the many choices available to modern record producers as they record and mix with a modern tool set. You’ll see, in action, the Vocoder, Auto-Tune, Melodyne, Elastic Audio, Flex Time, VocAlign, tempo based editing and a host of other file modification protocols that are readily available on most Digital Audio Workstations. This course gives students a thorough look at the expanded choices that have risen in the art of vocal production as a result of these modern tools. The goal of the course is to help interested novices understand the recordings they are listening to, performers find an expanded language for their recorded voices and for vocal producers to be able to create musically artistic visualizations using singers as their paintbrushes....

Top reviews

AE

Invalid date

This course was really fun, I have learned so much. And I am glad I took the time to complete it. I work with vocals all the time. And now I feel much more confident now. Thank you Mr Prince.

JC

Invalid date

There is a lot to learn about the subject and a good amount of ground seems to be covered quite well in an informative and easy to follow sections.

Filter by:

101 - 121 of 121 Reviews for The Art of Vocal Production

By Daniel W

Jul 25, 2018

Nice!

By Hai y

Jun 7, 2018

TQ

By Кондрашев А В

Sep 19, 2021

Well, to be honest, I think that this program will be a good start for those who actually know nothing about vocal production and music in general. The tutor gives some basic knowledge about these themes, but the way how he explains some topics is really controversial.

Otherwise, this course will be a total waste of time for those who have some background of experience and knowledge in music production. Believe me, you know enough about vocals, EQs, compression and saturation.

However, I'm really glad that I have finished this course. I wasn't disappointed, because initially I did not built any high expectations and pursued just one goal – to get a certificate in order to replenish my portfolio with it.

By B E

Jan 18, 2021

A little more technical than what I was looking for but informative none-the-less. Disappointing that a course on audio could not control the volume of it's videos. One video would be so low volume you could barely hear it, the next would be so loud it would almost blow your speakers, then a normal volume one would play. Volume was all over the board, makes you wonder how professional and accurate the course material is. The instructor was decent, not the most engaging or exciting but definitely not the dullest by far.

By Milenah P

Jun 10, 2019

Requires a little bit of knowledge about DAWs, especially Pro Tools.

If I hadn't taken classes on Pro Tools before I would have a hard time understanding and following what's being done during the course in order to achieve the concepts explained.

By Shervon F

May 28, 2021

this course was insightful and have help me observed the errors i have been making in the area of vocal production, it was easy to follow and learn i just love the aspect

By Bruno A

Jul 3, 2017

It is a good course but the videos made it kind of boring. It misses some practical exercises.

By Premdas

Sep 30, 2017

Real Good. Very helpful to get a overall idea of the Vocal Production industry!

By Olivier J

Jul 3, 2017

Really interesting topics. Very helpfull for vocal mixing and production !

By Abbate N

Aug 1, 2017

Well explained basic concepts about vocal production. Worth it!

By Steveson

Apr 6, 2019

A must for beginners, Thanks to you sir and coursera.

By Ali A

Aug 2, 2017

Really great course,

awesome techniques

By Ziqi F

Aug 5, 2019

Good course!

By Ishan k

Jun 30, 2020

nice course

By Joshua M

Sep 10, 2019

Fairly old program which shouldn't be included in the specialisation course as all the information is available free anyway. The quizzes aren't all that hard and don't challenge the student much. No in-video questions and no resources helping out.

The teacher is great and explains the topics wonderfully.

By Maíra d S J

Mar 28, 2020

The course was very good, but I'm disappointed that I can't have a certificate for this course. I have no interest on completing all the courses of the specialization. That was very bad. I suggest that each course of the specialization could offer a certificate separately.

By Jordan S W

Oct 13, 2017

I didnt really like this course, maybe I just picked the wrong course or it was just to much of an intro course or something, seemed very repetitive, some people may find the info in it insightful.

By Pablo M C

May 17, 2020

The format of this course is really poor. It would have been nice to have a better step by step on how to use the plugins, have different performances. For me, it was the worst of the courses on the Electronic Music Production Specialization.

By Candy W

Apr 22, 2020

I really didn't like this course, and I'd like to withdraw from it. How do I do that?

By Théo M

Sep 8, 2019

Really Basic course not a lot of important and Artistic Uses.

By rick v

Dec 27, 2016

m