Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Web Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Web Development by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
2,451 ratings
693 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to start you on a path toward future studies in web development and design, no matter how little experience or technical knowledge you currently have. The web is a very big place, and if you are the typical internet user, you probably visit several websites every day, whether for business, entertainment or education. But have you ever wondered how these websites actually work? How are they built? How do browsers, computers, and mobile devices interact with the web? What skills are necessary to build a website? With almost 1 billion websites now on the internet, the answers to these questions could be your first step toward a better understanding of the internet and developing a new set of internet skills. By the end of this course you’ll be able to describe the structure and functionality of the world wide web, create dynamic web pages using a combination of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, apply essential programming language concepts when creating HTML forms, select an appropriate web hosting service, and publish your webpages for the world to see. Finally, you’ll be able to develop a working model for creating your own personal or business websites in the future and be fully prepared to take the next step in a more advanced web development or design course or specialization....

Top reviews

AB
Jul 18, 2019

It`s a fantastic course for a beginner. I could feel the effort that was put into to make sure people understood. Thank you Coursera, when I become one the greatest, I will remember this beginning.

AH
May 1, 2020

It was very helpful and I understood things so easily. A beginner in this field will surely be benefited. Also the extra material is very helpful. This helped me take up full stack web development.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 687 Reviews for Introduction to Web Development

By Md S

Feb 20, 2019

This course deals with all client side fundamentals of web development. It starts from teaching of HTML to javascript validation of HTML forms. Overall this course is a must for beginners.

By ANSHUMAN J

Apr 28, 2020

this was a nice introductory course to get basic knowledge of the vast field of web development. i highly recommend this course for those who want to start their new journey in the field of web-d.

By Vikas K G

Sep 5, 2019

Good to learn about Web Development.

It helped me a lot for learning and developing a site.

I like this course and I'll prefer those to choose this course who want to become a web developer.

By Anuar R A

Jun 12, 2017

Its a great course and you will definitively learn the basics to web dev. Things like HTML, CSS and JavaScript are the core of client side development and they all are learned here. The only bad thing is the peer-grade system where you sometimes get wrong reviews of your assignments from people that don't even try to do it right.

By Roy H

Jan 8, 2019

A fair chunk of the course is reading verbatim from w3schools pages. Some of the assignment inputs have been bugged for months and the lecturer hasn't bothered fixing them. Really regret ponying up money for a certificate for this rather than a more in-depth course.

By shivam s y

Jun 11, 2019

A great course for beginners. Easily taught. Practice exercises are very engaging. Overall , the course is good enough for you to create a basic website with lots of validations and CSS.

By Yogeswari N

Oct 6, 2016

This is a great course! I love its structure - it begins with info about hosting and domain name (something many others courses don't touch on) and it gives us enough guidance to start html coding before moving on to Javascript. I appreciate the precise short videos (10 mins or less each) because overly long videos tend to make me lose focus. The instructor is very knowledgeable and has industry experience in web designing and it shows as he shares his knowledge (for example I never knew <a> tag stands for anchor..woot). I love this course........oh have I said this already? :)

By Arya H

May 2, 2020

It was very helpful and I understood things so easily. A beginner in this field will surely be benefited. Also the extra material is very helpful. This helped me take up full stack web development.

By Paris C T

Jan 22, 2017

Even though I haven't been able to purchase the course (yet!), I am very glad that I decided to take this anyway~ It's like an into course for dummies! Except without making you feel dumb~ Lol.

By SAMEEN M S H

Feb 24, 2019

Very useful and helpful course. I got a better understanding of actual web development. Thanks Coursera, Lecturers and its team for giving me this golden opportunity.

By karnik j

Feb 5, 2019

very good course for beginners ,every concepts are explained very well

By Donald E S

Jun 20, 2017

Has the instructor actually done any serious web development work? Continually recommending GoDaddy is what makes me question this. GoDaddy is an OK registrar but support for web hosting is very poor. They have even been known to lose a database - a big NO-No for a web host.

I just cannot get past the intro section because of a few problems with the instructors knowledge.

By Paweł P

Jan 13, 2020

I found that course as really nice possibility to gain and structurize basic information about the web development. How the simple website works and what are 3 main technologies (HTML, CSS, .js) of web dev. Thanks a lot

By Ayaan R B

Jul 19, 2019

It`s a fantastic course for a beginner. I could feel the effort that was put into to make sure people understood. Thank you Coursera, when I become one the greatest, I will remember this beginning.

By Robertas S

Jun 12, 2018

I am not new in coding, but in here I found something useful. I really recommend this course for new people, because it is very easy steps of how to make some coding or personal web page.

By SHRUTI

Apr 12, 2020

This is a superb course for learning web development.HTML,java script and CSS are explained in this course.Reading materials and assignment helps you to learn more .

By Yash S

Feb 17, 2019

A great experience to learn basics of html, css and Javascript

By Vikram K

Dec 12, 2018

awesome

By Kendre B

Aug 26, 2020

This is my experience as a 100% newbie:

From what I understand, this course is intended for beginners, but after completing the course, I can't say that it is for true beginners. It is possible to complete the course, but if you are true beginner (i.e. someone who has never used or seen HTML, JavaScript, or CSS mark-up language or coding), you might struggle a lot to even understand what the various parts of each language are.

For example, to complete the optional assignment for the the HTML section, I had to pause, search for, and complete the Coursera Introduction to HTML Guided Project first; in the guided project, the instructor went slowly, explained HTML properties, and then walked us through the process of working with HTML; I took what I learned in the guided project and completed the optional web development assignment with much greater understanding, knowledge, confidence. If learning is supposed to be the sweet spot between activating or being exposed to knowledge and reaching a clear goal through level-appropriate challenge, I don't think the goal of learning was 100% reached, at least in my case.

As you progress through the course, you will see that the instructor has a lot of pre-made documents that he uses, and he doesn't consistently explain what he did to get those code lines/language lines or why he is utilizing them. The explicit part of teaching isn't consistent in the course, and as things progress, it is easy to feel lost, confused, and unsure of how to recreate the functions that the teacher is able to create.

The course does emphasize the importance of practice, but it seems to overlook the fact we best practice/manipulate after we are given tools that we understand. I didn't feel like the course was planned with that in mind. We are asked to do progressively more difficult tasks, as we should be in a course, but unfortunately, the support explicit explanation of "what do to/how to do it" in the course lectures does not make it always possible (at least in my experience).

I passed the course, but it was a difficult road; I needed to consult another course, outside explanatory blogs, and YouTube videos to fill-in (or completely explain) background knowledge that I needed to complete the tasks for this class.

By Brian T

Mar 22, 2017

This is a great introductory course. It focuses on client-side development and teaches you HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Web-hosting and domain name servers are also explained to give students an idea where websites actually are located and how to find them. After completing the course you will be able to design your own interactive web page, and even make it accessible on the world wide web if you desire. Definitely take this course if you are interested in learning the basics of web development.

By Aamir K

Jun 27, 2017

I have tried several courses to learn web development on Youtube but this is by far the best I have come across. It makes learning some of the most complex things easy and fun. The structuring of the course is very impressive. The coding exercises are important if you wish to make the most of this course. My only suggestion is for new content to be added to make the final project even more comprehensive, other than that no complains :)

By K S

Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Cousera so much for this amazing opportunity, it' doesn't come around often.

The introduction course gave me a head-start towards a future in an online career, from hereon I will be able to take on much heavier courses along this field.

I recommend it for those who seek a basic understanding of Html, Javascript and CSS knowledge, people who are looking to go into Web Development and more.

Thank you!

By Christopher J P

Aug 20, 2018

I started this course knowing absolutley nothing about designing web pages. Now I know enough HTML, CSS and JavaScript to probably freelance small simple jobs. The learning style is a bit frustrating of trying to copy the code off of the teacher's computer, but overall the course is well worth it. It was an intro course and I feel like I got my money's worth.

By Nicolas V

Nov 2, 2018

The course is for beginners. It really does take 6 weeks to complete. There is homework and grading which makes the course more interesting. Although the voice is sometimes a little slow, the knowledge asked by the end of the period needs a quick progression. You can expect more torough research to be done seperatly after week 4. Great investment.

By Amit k

Mar 13, 2019

This course understood me the full concept of web development and most important thing was that it have a short duration of video lecture. In this course, we use the CSS and JavaScript code which was explained in deep way ( extra having various type of informative resources).

The main interesting and learning thing was its peer graded assignment which works alot in finding some little mistake. I also will recommend this course to my friends.