Chevron Left
Back to Global Trends for Business and Society

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Global Trends for Business and Society by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
276 ratings
71 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn to analyze rapidly changing global trends, their effects on consumer and labor markets, financial systems, and geopolitical relationships among countries all over the world. Professor Mauro Guillen of the Wharton School has designed this course to help you understand the magnitude of influence these trends have on the business world and society. Through real-world case studies, both historical and contemporary, you’ll examine how changes within one society affect others. By the end of this course, you’ll have gained the tools to be able to identify, analyze, and adapt to global changes as they affect your business and society....

Top reviews

OO

Aug 14, 2018

This is a great course. It foster curiosity for creative thinking and innovation from a global economy perspective. I am now aware of global trends, inequalities, economic threats and opportunities.

AM

Mar 14, 2019

Extremely informational and highly thought provoking. Would highly recommend this course for anyone interested in international business, public policy, and other forms of global engagements.

Filter by:

51 - 71 of 71 Reviews for Global Trends for Business and Society

By zhangyuxiao

Nov 13, 2019

good

By Chen C C

Nov 16, 2019

This course really opens my mind about the globalized world. However, students need to notice that the data are before 2016. Therefore, please make sure that the content is still applicable in nowadays or not. In general, it is still a good course.

By Laurent

Apr 12, 2019

Good for beginners, clear and structured way of presenting concepts. Engaging teacher.

By Rola A S

Apr 01, 2019

I would prefer a few readings in the weekly work load and more discussion assignments.

By Annie D

Apr 20, 2018

The mobile version did not line up weekly with the desktop version. The course has tons of valuable information! I would have liked to have more additional reading suggestions from the instructor.

By Shubham K S

Apr 08, 2018

More depth in content is expected. It has a very good overview. Maybe we can split it into two level with advanced business context topics in 2nd level.

By Niels B

May 16, 2018

The course gives a good and critical overview of the biggest global trends of the last, and the coming decade. It solidified my knowledge about geo politics, and also learned a lot.

By Lorena F

Feb 13, 2018

Me gustó mucho el curso, solo tuve problemas con algunas clases que fueron muy largas.

By Alexandre S

Mar 26, 2018

Good course

By Marco G

Jan 19, 2018

Very interesting course

Mauro Guillen is retorically strong and explains topics in an easily understandable way. In addition, his short excursions from all over the world bring in the right balance into the course

By Rajini D

Dec 20, 2017

Very well structured course and the coverage of the topic has been systematic and progressive such that one is able to link all the elements well.

By Gaithiri S

Apr 09, 2018

Good overview of general trends. The course gave me good insight to population trends/ growth and dynamics of global powers in near future. Some parts of the course could be improved by providing better insight on the particular topic I feel rather than static the videos in various parts of the world - or the quality of those videos could be improved or updated.

By Sophie M G

May 27, 2018

Interesting and easy to follow

By Raniah K

May 28, 2018

Thanks to the professor's work he taught, I found this course very useful and I enjoyed it at the same time since I feel that almost all the content this course and specialization covered here is essential for overall knowledge, not just for the business minds. Thank you for this course! -RK

By Gulin Y

Jul 29, 2018

Issues on sustainable development (more on environmental and social issues) can be added besides economical, political and governance aspects.

By Md. J R

Apr 18, 2019

Excellent Course. The first week starts with a bang but it tapers off over time.

The courseisat it's best when centered on data.

By Soeren J

Oct 20, 2019

Thank you for an interesting course!

By Christopher M D

Dec 18, 2018

The course offers a cursory overview of the past century or so in terms of trade, global conflict, and the balance of power. I thought the course could have been more engaging and thought provoking. I found the interruptions of the lecture with the professor's on-location videos to be jarring and disconnected to the lecture. Had he actually showed us something interesting that illuminated his point, that would have been useful. Last, there was little discussion of the implications of global trends for business. As a student, you'll have to draw the connections between global trends and the impact on business and making a better world.

By Marcos P

Jul 22, 2018

I found the course to be quite shallow and don't feel like I have gained very practical skills. The deliverables were a bit vague and, although the course content was interesting, it didn't go beyond teaching already intuitive trends and their (very broad) effect on society. On the pro side, however, at least I did get a few nice insights while learning about a few of the concepts introduced.

By Ester S

Feb 08, 2018

Interesting, but difficult to follow due to one-man lectures

By Vinod k

Nov 07, 2019

VERY NICE