Chevron Left
Back to What is Social?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Social? by Northwestern University

4.6
2,715 ratings
686 reviews

About the Course

The “What Is Social?" MOOC is for business owners, executives, and marketing professionals who want to significantly improve their abilities to grow their social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. This hands on, "how to" program won’t just tell you how to grow your professional persona using social – you will actually do it! This course is the first in the six-course specialization, Social Media Marketing: How to Profit in a Digital World. While the course can be audited for free, paid learners will receive additional content beyond the course basics. For MOOC 1, the toolkit includes a special video from Alessandro Acquisti on Big Data and a set of studies done by IBM on engagement and social marketing strategies with bottom-line profits. This course has been designed to give you the tools, insights, knowledge, and skills to immediately impact your organization. In addition, we will help you network with thought leaders in social. After completing this course, you and your organization’s staff will be able to position, engage, and grow relationships with the consumers of highest value to you. Today, we are living in a period of massive disruption. New technologies are changing the way people engage with each other and with the organizations that interest them. This course will start you on the path to growing your own social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. Additional MOOC 1 faculty include: * Judy Ungar Franks (President, The Marketing Democracy, Ltd. & Lecturer, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern)...

Top reviews

CQ

May 13, 2016

A really great introduction to Social Media Marketing and an opportunity to gain access to really useful tools that make me competitive in the job market. Very excited to begin MOOC 2 of this program.

FF

Oct 07, 2016

Great course. Looking forward completing whole specialization.\n\nAdditionally, the course shares and recommends tools which are helpful if you are doing social media marketing or eager to become one.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 669 Reviews for What is Social?

By Abdul R A

Aug 31, 2018

very wonderful

By Geri Z

Nov 04, 2018

Decent course. Hope I can continue studying the courses for free, since in my country is hard to make money and pay for these services... :S

By Lan t

Jul 12, 2018

Very interesting course with full of essential information with clear structure. Only problem is the assignment with Klout because the website no longer exist.

By Maria F

Jan 08, 2016

Access to Northwestern's faculty and participation in a course geared exactly to my needs? Brilliant. I absolutely recommend.

By rajbeer

May 17, 2016

great insight loving it

By Kehryse J

Jan 04, 2016

Insightful! Can't wait for the next one!

By Luznery d C V M

Nov 15, 2015

What is Social? It is a modern, dynamic course with relevant information about social media. I have no experience in handling social media strategies but this course inspires me to follow all its recommendations to venture into the management of social networks and create my own brand or work alongside a creative team in social media. Thanks to Instructor Randy Hlavac of Northwestern University.

By Tracey P M

Jan 25, 2017

Great first experience for someone wanting to begin the study of social marketing.

By Ingrida M

Oct 13, 2015

Very strong course.

By Omer E

Aug 14, 2017

Great course with great professor... Just the right content for today's world of social...

By walter l

Feb 27, 2016

I enjoyed this course. I learned so much more than I ever thought possible. Thank you for this opportunity to improve my skill-sets.

By Donald A

Oct 12, 2017

Outstanding ideas, and a great flow of thought. Superb delivery and content.

By Zhao R (

Oct 05, 2017

Very useful to look at social marketing

By Blanche R F

Aug 06, 2017

Great for people who want to explore the landscape of social media and how it is affecting lifestyles, branding, marketing and storytelling.

By Adesoji A

Jul 12, 2016

Interesting propositions I must have missed in my contemplations and perceived knowledge of Social. Now I can settle down and have a deeper understanding of the subject and the new planet called Social Media Marketing.

By Beth T

Mar 05, 2016

Learned so much in this class. Social is the talk of the town everywhere you go. This class will help you to be a leader in those conversations.

By Diego S

Jul 31, 2017

Loved it!! cant wait to begin mooc 2!

By leslie

May 28, 2017

I have learned a lot already. I had no idea how much there is to embrace with managing social media!

By Lin L

Nov 12, 2015

Thank you very much for providing the access to this amazing course on Social topic. It helps a lot in enhancing the understanding of the definition of social and also provides multiple cool way to promote social skills. What I appreciate even more is that there are a bunch of tool kits introduced in this course.

By José d J D L C G

Apr 06, 2016

Excellent course and trainer!! Congratulations

By Anthony U

Feb 25, 2016

Great introduction to social marketing!

By Clive S

Jul 24, 2016

Engaging, well-paced and practically orientated

By Courtney M

Feb 17, 2016

The course is very well organized, instructors are top notch! I only registered for one course, but the level of instruction was such that I signed up for the specialization.

By Ajay P

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent course, material and superior teaching.

By nicola s

Nov 10, 2015

very practical. While also providing an academic explanation of new marketing concepts