Chevron Left
Back to What is Social?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Social? by Northwestern University

4.6
2,711 ratings
685 reviews

About the Course

The “What Is Social?" MOOC is for business owners, executives, and marketing professionals who want to significantly improve their abilities to grow their social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. This hands on, "how to" program won’t just tell you how to grow your professional persona using social – you will actually do it! This course is the first in the six-course specialization, Social Media Marketing: How to Profit in a Digital World. While the course can be audited for free, paid learners will receive additional content beyond the course basics. For MOOC 1, the toolkit includes a special video from Alessandro Acquisti on Big Data and a set of studies done by IBM on engagement and social marketing strategies with bottom-line profits. This course has been designed to give you the tools, insights, knowledge, and skills to immediately impact your organization. In addition, we will help you network with thought leaders in social. After completing this course, you and your organization’s staff will be able to position, engage, and grow relationships with the consumers of highest value to you. Today, we are living in a period of massive disruption. New technologies are changing the way people engage with each other and with the organizations that interest them. This course will start you on the path to growing your own social strategy using effective, proven methodologies. Additional MOOC 1 faculty include: * Judy Ungar Franks (President, The Marketing Democracy, Ltd. & Lecturer, Medill Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern)...

Top reviews

CQ

May 13, 2016

A really great introduction to Social Media Marketing and an opportunity to gain access to really useful tools that make me competitive in the job market. Very excited to begin MOOC 2 of this program.

FF

Oct 07, 2016

Great course. Looking forward completing whole specialization.\n\nAdditionally, the course shares and recommends tools which are helpful if you are doing social media marketing or eager to become one.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 666 Reviews for What is Social?

By HÀ M H

Jul 15, 2017

GREAT LESSON

By Brian T O D

Sep 11, 2016

Great course! Very helpful with tons of practical tools and information to apply immediately in the real world.

By Emily H

Dec 03, 2016

Great information and useful assignments! I'm looking forward to MOOC 2! :)

By Sebastián S

Dec 14, 2015

Great

By Afam

Mar 12, 2016

Insightful!!! Made me realised there's more on the social sphere than i thought.

By Adwait d

Apr 28, 2016

Really great for organizations. But even better for professionals such as freelancers.

By Anjali B

Jan 01, 2016

amazing course

By Rhonda S

Dec 30, 2015

This is an excellent course to help gain the basics of social. The course is specific, fast-paced, and designed for learners of all types. GREAT job!

By Alexandr V

Feb 13, 2016

Awesome!!!

By Chrysanthemum C

Jul 09, 2017

Great course. The structure of the lessons and the assignments are really geared towards working you towards the ability to get the entire scope of preparing a marketing strategy. I've taken some of these courses out of order and think that the assignments really give you an effective framework to make future decisions.

By Paula

Apr 23, 2016

This course gives you tools to build successful marketing strategies.

By Milan S

Sep 05, 2017

learned a lot - complete lay person so I loved the step by step

By Mawusime A

Jul 02, 2017

Its Wonderful

By Swati J

Oct 25, 2015

Very insightful starting point to Social Media Marketing. Looking forward to MOOC 2

By Jarred A

Mar 20, 2016

Easily formatted and filled with a wide range of topics that we've heard little about yet rarely understood until utilizing this course! If you wish to stay ahead of the technology, take this!

By Li Q

May 27, 2016

It is a very practice course - easy but informative content gives me great insight and engage my interest to the next course.

By Giorge A

Nov 06, 2015

It was amazing the way that the theme was approached, specially because I have some difficulties about the subject, but could learn and interact easily. Thanks you all who made that possible.

By Paulo R

Mar 22, 2017

I learned a lot and interact with the community.

I recommend everyone who are interested in Social Media or Marketing to do this course. Now I have another eyes to use social media.

Thank you, Coursera! :)))

By Yuan X

Feb 07, 2016

not easy to understand but it's a good course indeed.

By MELISSA F

Jan 13, 2016

Loved it. I learned a lot of new information and found it helpful to be reminded of things I already had a handle on but had not kept up with. I wish I had had the opportunity to increase my final grade by being prompted to engage in more discussion boards before finishing the course. I was surprised it was over when it was over, a final review page or check list type of thing would have been nice.

By benjamin m

Jan 26, 2016

great starting point

By Chris A

Feb 13, 2016

Exceeded my expectations! Great course and I plan on taking the rest of the courses in the Specialization.

By Aniya V

Feb 07, 2016

The hands-on experience throughout this MOOC will teach how to effectively have an impact through social media platforms toward your target audiences.

By Geoffrey K

Jun 15, 2016

Really passionating course and great teacher

By Hatim M S

Nov 27, 2016

Excellent Course