Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms on Strings

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms on Strings by University of California San Diego

4.5
stars
978 ratings
172 reviews

About the Course

World and internet is full of textual information. We search for information using textual queries, we read websites, books, e-mails. All those are strings from the point of view of computer science. To make sense of all that information and make search efficient, search engines use many string algorithms. Moreover, the emerging field of personalized medicine uses many search algorithms to find disease-causing mutations in the human genome. In this online course you will learn key pattern matching concepts: tries, suffix trees, suffix arrays and even the Burrows-Wheeler transform....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 7, 2019

Very good course. String algorithms are very important in day today life and one should really know how to solve command problems related to it. This course have described everything so well.

PA
May 12, 2020

course content was great but i personally feels some difficulties in the implementation part so the course is meant to be more implementation oriented . thank you for the wondorful course

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 169 Reviews for Algorithms on Strings

By Anirudh A

Dec 30, 2017

A good course giving insight into how important string algorithms are for not only to computer science community but also its use in other disciplines like bioinformatics etc.

By Snehasish S

Jan 25, 2017

Initially the accent was a little bit hard to understand, but after few minutes everything become crystal clear. Extremely useful course content.

By Aakarsh N

Jun 6, 2017

Unfortunately the forums go inactive after the first few iterations of the course. One can still learn by doing the programming assignments

By kishore k b

Sep 2, 2016

Course Content is good. Instructors are not that much active to give answers for the raised questions compared to earlier courses.

By Кирилл И

Jul 26, 2020

Порой не понятно что конкретно надо описать, либо мой уровень программирования не так хорош, чтобы понимать и воспринимать это!

By Milos M

Apr 29, 2020

An awesome course, though a bit more rushed than the other ones. Luckily with the notes, the assignments can be passed.

By DENIS K

Nov 2, 2018

I think it would be more helpful to trade BWT to more practical Polynomial Hashing tricks. Otherwise good course

By Chen L

Dec 1, 2017

The programming assignment should be more clean with detailed instruction in each code file.

By Ajay

May 30, 2020

week 3 is not understood correctly.

but i read in other source

so i understood perfectly

By Valeriano T

Jul 31, 2017

Very good, although the material in last week is way harder and rushed than the rest.

By Dmitri M

May 9, 2017

I have finished the specialization. This course is mostly useful though challenging.

By Roman E

Jan 29, 2017

Some tasks was hard to understand and solve, but it in general it was good.

By Lee B U

Apr 9, 2020

It was good. But its assignment is easy compared to before lecture things.

By yousrijames

Dec 2, 2017

very good and useful , but the last week algorithm is very complicated

By Saurab D

Apr 14, 2018

Some of the algorithms are too hard to implement but worth the effort.

By LI W

Oct 18, 2016

too complex, and I don't think in the future work I will apply these.

By Sharan S M

Feb 5, 2019

This was a good course. I mostly understood most of the content

By 陈照

Jul 21, 2020

algorithms are difficult. lectures are good

By Guillaume

Dec 15, 2016

Very focused on bioinformatics problems.

By Miguel A M H

Aug 14, 2016

The lectures are a little bit confused

By 刘杨晓康

Nov 8, 2019

The explanation is very clear

By Hidetake T

Jun 11, 2019

necessary experience

By Long C

Nov 9, 2021

g​reat course!

By Carlos D R S

Jan 24, 2018

Está perro

By Sai M M

Oct 7, 2020

wonderful