Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms on Strings

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms on Strings by University of California San Diego

4.5
stars
981 ratings
173 reviews

About the Course

World and internet is full of textual information. We search for information using textual queries, we read websites, books, e-mails. All those are strings from the point of view of computer science. To make sense of all that information and make search efficient, search engines use many string algorithms. Moreover, the emerging field of personalized medicine uses many search algorithms to find disease-causing mutations in the human genome. In this online course you will learn key pattern matching concepts: tries, suffix trees, suffix arrays and even the Burrows-Wheeler transform....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 7, 2019

Very good course. String algorithms are very important in day today life and one should really know how to solve command problems related to it. This course have described everything so well.

PA
May 12, 2020

course content was great but i personally feels some difficulties in the implementation part so the course is meant to be more implementation oriented . thank you for the wondorful course

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 170 Reviews for Algorithms on Strings

By Karan

Sep 11, 2016

Excellent for working on string related problems in competetive coding as well as development profiles.

By Ahsanul A S

Sep 11, 2020

Relatively hard course! The problem sets were extremely good. Ensures putting enough effort and time.

By Tamilarasu S

Mar 17, 2018

Good course that teaches Burrows wheeler transform, KMP algorithm. The assignments are also very good.

By Eduardo M P

Feb 2, 2019

I would be interesting update Algorihm on Strings to construction of suffix arrays in linear time.

By Hawk G

Dec 17, 2016

I would recommend this part to anyone who wants to learn string algorithms. Thanks for the course!

By Enrique A

Oct 27, 2020

Mil gracias National Research University Higher School of Economics, mil gracias Coursera.

By Juan D B P

Jun 2, 2020

Very nice course, the toughest one up until now in the specialization. But a rewarding one

By g

Aug 31, 2016

Great Course, assignment a little bit harder than previous courses in the specialization

By Vlad N

Jul 28, 2018

Awesome explanations and challenging problems like in all previous courses! Thank you!

By Moaaz

Apr 2, 2021

Course is really tough, but I'm glad by the information I have got from this course!

By Siwei G

Sep 17, 2017

Interesting topics; especially useful to people with an interest on bioinformatics.

By Neng-Yu T

Jul 21, 2017

Give very good knowledge for string process tools, and related common algorithms.

By Huy V

Jul 29, 2017

Very hard course, if not the most hardest course in the specialization. Try it!

By Kregg K

Oct 14, 2021

The forum was empty when taking class. Might be because this class expired

By Stephen L

Sep 3, 2016

Difficulty level increased a bit compared to first 3 courses, be prepared!

By Lin M K

Dec 30, 2017

Very Challenging! Assignments are great to learn the algorithms deeply.

By Ariel P

Jul 22, 2017

Very good course on efficient algorithms for processing long sequences.

By Piyush M

Jun 15, 2018

This is very nice course and I learned various things in this course.

By Kevin K

Sep 13, 2016

This is an interesting and useful but a bit difficult course.

By Debasish M

Aug 23, 2016

Excellent course, properly designed and well presented...

By Joseph G N

Apr 16, 2018

An amazing course it cover a lot of content in few weeks

By Shubham K

May 11, 2020

It is difficult, but it is great especially the videos.

By Vishal G

Jul 27, 2020

This course help me to mastery on string algorithms.

By Parsa E

May 28, 2021

I really loved this course and it was so use full

By Saurabh A

May 29, 2017

thank you, course was good, highly recommended.