Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms on Strings

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms on Strings by University of California San Diego

4.5
stars
980 ratings
172 reviews

About the Course

World and internet is full of textual information. We search for information using textual queries, we read websites, books, e-mails. All those are strings from the point of view of computer science. To make sense of all that information and make search efficient, search engines use many string algorithms. Moreover, the emerging field of personalized medicine uses many search algorithms to find disease-causing mutations in the human genome. In this online course you will learn key pattern matching concepts: tries, suffix trees, suffix arrays and even the Burrows-Wheeler transform....

Top reviews

CS
Jul 7, 2019

Very good course. String algorithms are very important in day today life and one should really know how to solve command problems related to it. This course have described everything so well.

PA
May 12, 2020

course content was great but i personally feels some difficulties in the implementation part so the course is meant to be more implementation oriented . thank you for the wondorful course

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 170 Reviews for Algorithms on Strings

By Joshua M

Aug 26, 2017

Fantastic course. I love that this series is really challenging for me. The content covers a lot of ground, and the problems are difficult and make you really understand how to implement the concepts. This course in particular has made me very interested in pattern matching algorithms. I can't quite keep up with the pace, but that's okay because I'm not in a hurry and I can just switch sessions to go at my own speed. I've been recommending Coursera courses to people I know or meet for sometime now. It's my favorite resource for intensive undergraduate and graduate level material on the internet. Good job!

By mbishibishi e

Sep 22, 2019

I like the way this course walks through pattern matching step by step. One way of effectively taking the courses in this specialization is to solve a fraction of the assignments in each week, then move on and do the same for the a few following weeks, then after you've reached to a few weeks ahead, return to solve the rest you haven't solved. This way, you will be able to revise what you learned in the past weeks and revisiting them will reinforce the material in your brain. The instructors did a great job preparing real programming challenges!

By Christopher W

May 10, 2020

This course totally blew my mind. I always wondered how programs were able to find patterns in long strings so quickly, well mystery solved. I can't imagine the minds of the people who came up with these algorithms, I found it challenging just to have them explained. The lectures were clear, the assignments were illustrative and challenging. What a great experience.

By Ilyas B

Apr 12, 2020

No complex data structure gave me more problems than the suffix tree. Im used to coding anything, segment tree, lazy segment tree, suffix array, weighted union find, graphs, balanced trees, what ever. Still, i couldn't code a suffix tree until i took this corse. I can tell any one intrested that it's not easy, but their best shot is this course.

By Oliver A

Jun 7, 2018

The course content was a bit disconnected this time with some missing parts in between. Maybe it would been better to start with simple string matching and basic data structures and only then progress to the genom processing part.

Fortunately the programming assignment cleared a great deal of the confusion. Never the less a very good course!

By Jonathan O

Dec 11, 2018

This course was not my favorite in the Specialization -- the content just wasn't as interesting, making some of the more demanding problems pretty difficult, but nothing was too difficult, given the excellent preparation delivered via the lectures. Everything you need to know for a problem was given right before!

Still, amazing course.

By THARANGINI S

Aug 25, 2017

Truly one of the best coding experience I have ever had. The lectures were greatly informative and important in terms of content . The assignments(including the optional questions) were made to test the capability of thorough understanding of the topics . My greatest gratitude to the lecturers who taught the course. Great Experience!!

By Ola D

Jul 15, 2021

T​his was a very good course. A little minus for the lectures/lessons by Pawel. He was very inspiring, but it was a little less crisp (note, just a little, overall it was very good) than the lectures by Michael.

T​he lectures by Michael on suffix arrays, suffix trees, and KMP, were simply awesome! Pedagocical masterpieces, really!

By Priyansh B

Dec 21, 2018

I still can't believe that there can be so many algorithms on string pattern matching. Lots of interview questions are based on string algorithms and the I believe that the skills I got from this course is definitely going to help to crack interviews in the future.Moreover, I can implement an efficient search engine efficiently.

By Connor W

Sep 2, 2017

In my opinion this is not the best course in this specialization as some of the contents seem to be absent and students were referred to their other book/course on Bioinformatics. The course does however introduce most of the important algorithms in strings, coupled with good programming exercises.

By Andrey K

Dec 2, 2018

There are some too hard algorithms to implement, but it worth it. It allows to develop patience, mental skills and self-education. I highly recommend this course, some algorithms described here are crucial for computer science and must have to know.

By Shouman D

Oct 2, 2016

Very good course. I learned a lot. The most important part is the assignment. I have not watched all the videos, but checked it only when I am stuck at the programming assignment and the slides are not enough to understand.

By Felipe A G

Jun 10, 2021

Excellent course, I only consider that in the programming task of week number 4 the last problem could be better explained (Suffix Tree from Suffix Array) since it is difficult to understand what the expected output is.

By Arjun M

May 29, 2017

Great content! It gets a little complicated as there are too many notations to keep track of. Probably best to read and re-read a lot several times. Teaching is also very good. Looking forward to the next course.

By Raman P S

Aug 19, 2020

The course was good but it is little difficult to understand.

Also, it teaches us the algorithms by giving an example of DNA sequencing which is difficult to understand.

But overall the course is pretty good.

By Nate R

Oct 18, 2019

Very well put together course. Challenging but understandable. I highly recommend you stick out. If you get stuck check the forums there's lots of helpful things there. Time well spent!

By Héctor C

May 7, 2018

Excelentes algoritmos, nunca había pensado lo complicado que era hacer pattern matching eficientemente en términos de tiempo de procesamiento y memoria.

By Philip G

Nov 19, 2017

great course, interesting concepts and very well delivered content from lecture videos. challenging and rewarding programming assignments.

By Ananth D

Jun 27, 2021

The course is well designed, concepts are clearly elaborated and taught in depth. Personally, it was a challenging course to complete.

By Antonio

Feb 24, 2019

It was awesome. I was very surprised and mesmerized while understanding how the great scientists solved these challenging problems!

By Tuan N

Oct 5, 2019

The professor explained clearly as usual. The first 3 weeks is not too hard but final week took me really long time to understand.

By Yaniv B

Jul 23, 2019

Great course, and part of a great specialization. Lesson are well constructed, and the assignments reflect the lectures very well.

By Prateek

Aug 16, 2016

Really good quality information and examples (includes reasoning). It includes some of the latest developments in this area.

By Guo F

Aug 19, 2020

Wow, this course is challenging, however, it's especially well explained by Michael Levin. Suffix Array, tricky part!

By Mradul T

Aug 21, 2020

Suffix Array and Suffix Tree was the hardest part so far from all the previous courses in this specialization