Chevron Left
Back to Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies by Duke University

4.6
stars
8,142 ratings
1,672 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Top reviews

AC

Nov 2, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

AS

Jun 11, 2020

It is a business centred course that will help you understand the most important metrics. It includes comprehensive glossaries and lectures that will help you in the process and a lot of case studies.

Filter by:

1526 - 1550 of 1,641 Reviews for Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

By Yuzhou

Jul 4, 2020

I like the teaching style of professor to include practical sections related to career path. I think it would be better if the content of this course can be richer and more practical, including more skill-related lessons.

By Thomas P

Jan 26, 2021

This course is a very good introduction to Business Analytics and what is required to become one. Though, I found it hard to follow lecture because the Professor speaks in a way that is very hard to follow naturally.

By Svetlana L

Jun 12, 2017

This is a very basic course, and too much time is spent on explaining basic business concepts. Videos could be much shorter with supplementary notes for those who are completely unfamiliar with business language.

By Ebad A

Oct 17, 2019

A good course that delved into introductory business metrics. However, more focus should have been on increasing tangible contents rather than talking about various data-driven roles in an organization.

By asem a

Jan 28, 2019

First 2 weeks of the course are good and easy to understand, on the other hand , the last week was extremely difficult, full of concepts that are not easy to follow and contain a lot of financial terms

By Xin Y

Nov 19, 2021

C​ourse structure is good, but asking students to grade the assignment makes me confused, cause its unprofessional, and some one seems to give you a lower grade if you have alreay marked his/her work.

By Augusto C

Feb 13, 2018

Although it was an introduction course, the fact that we did not touch a single data was really awkward for a business data analysis course. Nonetheless, I admit it help me a lot to clarify my ideas.

By Luis P

Jan 21, 2018

Its to simple, it coul be more practical. And get in to the business metrics that are truly usefull for enterprises, instead is a review of what are the things that do the people in business data.

By Malin

Dec 2, 2019

Some topics are not explained well enough and I had to search Google to find out. For example all the calculations that needs to be more detailed, explained and provide us with more examples.

By Philip g

Feb 20, 2016

I found this course interesting, but a bit too simple.

From the answers of other students that I marked many are non-native speakers of English who hadn't really understood the questions.

By Bradley V

Apr 2, 2018

Would have given it four stars if it weren't for issues experienced with broken glossary links, course info errors and the lack of scope definition with the final peer review assignment.

By Michael B

Jul 6, 2019

I'd appreciate more meaningful practice and elaboration of the terms discussed. This material went by very quickly, without spending much time learning and processing vocabulary.

By Kay S L

Jan 29, 2019

The examples from Amazon and Google were great, but the rest of the materials were quite mainstream, eg. cash flow, inventory. Also too much focus on the roles and marketplace.

By Kristina M

Mar 5, 2017

Why were we talking about money managers and hedge funds? What does that have to do with data analytics for business? I never saw the connection and they never explained it.

By Vincenzo

Aug 24, 2017

The business case on the Coffee Roaster company is really helpful. For the rest, it seems to me just a collection of disparate metrics with no solid foundation.

By Nyiesha J

Feb 18, 2021

Found the overview of metrics insightful. Financial portion harder to follow, would have preferred more high level, same as other metrics discussed.

By Abhinav S

May 27, 2018

Everything was going good until week 3, in spite of passing the course week 3 remains a little blurry in my head because of lack of explanation.

By Quy N

Jun 24, 2022

The content is not interesting for me, it's not designed in the way that makes learners feel excited and curious to watch all of the content.

By neeshant r

Sep 18, 2020

I really like the first Weeks course where we have distinguished business metrics based on problems at hand.it was quite elaborated.Good.

By Jared A

Jul 23, 2017

The course is informative. I love the content and the subject, but it's dry in places, and it gets challenging to maintain my attention.

By Arjan Z

Feb 12, 2016

Good introduction to business metrics. I was less enthusiastic about all the investment metrics and formulas, but that might just be me.

By Chester J

Sep 2, 2017

Very basic course, pretty much an introduction into the Excel to SQL specialisation. Final assignment is not too challenging.

By Monica M

Mar 28, 2016

Very basic terms. Not very helpful for later concepts and would not recommend for business professionals that have experience

By Akand D

Mar 13, 2016

A lot of time devoted to the job stuff may not be super relevant for most students, and was certainly not super relvant too.

By Katrina E

Oct 10, 2016

Survey course. Excited to apply the knowledge and learn concrete skills in the upcoming courses within this specialization.