Chevron Left
Back to Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
469 ratings
97 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. Specifically, you will be introduced to statistics and how to summarize data and learn concepts of frequency, normal distribution, statistical studies, sampling, and confidence intervals. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through the use of Excel and data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts, but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Summarize large data sets in graphical, tabular, and numerical forms. • Understand the significance of proper sampling and why you can rely on sample information. • Understand why normal distribution can be used in so many settings. • Use sample information to infer about the population with a certain level of confidence about the accuracy of the estimations. • Use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

DA

May 15, 2018

The separation of the concepts and Excel skills made the lessons very easy to navigate. Although I knew the concepts from a previous statistics course, the Excel skills made everything feel like new!

RD

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 92 Reviews for Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

By Marian G M

Jun 11, 2019

exc

By Noah M

Jun 25, 2019

What can I say, this course is amazing! Ms. Fataneh you will be missed, I hope to find more courses you teach in the future!

By Roberto d S V

Aug 12, 2019

Very good Course. It's focused on relevant statitical issues ! Very useful.

By Afolagbade O

Aug 09, 2019

The videos were very explicit and I could practically assimilate the teachings. This also has helped in my career and the skills acquired are been applied appropriately.

By William T

Aug 11, 2019

Great course! Very thorough and in depth explanations.

By Priyansh P

Jun 14, 2019

Learnt a lot through this course

By ARVIND K S

Sep 01, 2019

One of the finest courses in statistics, if you want to learn the power of correct interpretations.

By DABRIEL D

Sep 04, 2019

Great Course!

By Lori L

Nov 11, 2019

The professor is awesome, fair, encouraging and wants you to learn the material.

By Felix L

Oct 12, 2019

Great skill set to learn especially when using the formulas in Excel.

By Matthew M

Nov 06, 2019

Great support materials from the videos and readings to be able to solve the problems

By Joseph B

Nov 07, 2019

Teacher was great

By Christopher G

Nov 07, 2019

What a great professor.

By Timothy M

Nov 14, 2019

Awesome!

By Miguel L

Nov 18, 2019

Excellent introduction to business statistics

By Hector R

Dec 05, 2019

Professor Tagahaboni-Dutta is the best there is when it comes to teaching a difficult course. She makes it fun, interesting and challenging. You get the practical applications of statistics in business, science, sports, and politics.

By Jason J

Dec 12, 2019

Fataneh is an amazing teacher. Coursera's benefit comes from teachers who understand how best to explain concepts so that students understand. This is what education is all about and she nails it. Well done and thank you for taking the time to make a great class!

By Michael

Jan 08, 2018

Clear direction and easy to follow. Great intro to implementing a statistical approach in data analyses.

By Keith M K

Jan 17, 2017

Good instructor. Straight forward material.

By Sudhan K

May 09, 2018

Well organized !!

By Sabina

Nov 06, 2019

Excellent course!

By ROBERTA N

Feb 07, 2019

Great foundational learning on statistics and how to apply for real life data analysis. Especially with understanding how to use Excel to facilitate the formulas and graphical representations. Appreciate having a consumable set of coursework that helped me learn and achieve completion (this does a lot for your confidence level at my age :)) I plan to continue on my Data Analyst learning path and appreciate that this course gave me a good start.

By James S

May 06, 2018

Great class!

By Veronica S

Apr 08, 2019

excellent!

By Joe F

Apr 04, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. The professor explained the topics very clearly and made a difficult topic very interesting and compelling.