Chevron Left
Back to Business English: Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business English: Networking by University of Washington

4.8
stars
2,176 ratings
654 reviews

About the Course

This course begins with a welcome message and an overview of the Specialization. After this introduction, you will be asked to take a proficiency test to see if this course is right for you. During the course, you will begin learning vocabulary and customs related to socializing and networking in English. The goal is to enable you to interact with business contacts in person, on the phone and over email in a professional way. Course Learning Objectives • Determine whether the objectives of this Specialization align with your learning goals • Evaluate your current level of proficiency in business English communication • Present relevant information about yourself in a discussion forum • Develop your networking skills • Write short emails with appropriate formatting • Recognize and produce formal and informal language in emails • Develop vocabulary related to jobs and companies...

Top reviews

RP
Jul 30, 2020

This course make me understand how to email how to use a word. I have a great time to study it easy to understand even though i don't have understand English so much. Thank you to make this course

IK
May 2, 2018

Very good course. Really useful phrases and key aspects of networking are covered. A must course for beginners and people who have been in the business but need to know the basics of networking.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 648 Reviews for Business English: Networking

By Daniel B

Sep 23, 2020

Nice

By Elbon A D

Aug 23, 2020

Good

By SAMUN R S

Jul 14, 2020

best

By Wajd A A

May 22, 2020

Good

By Madhura S

Apr 28, 2020

Good

By Ali K H

Apr 4, 2020

cool

By Muhammad A

Jan 18, 2020

good

By amira a

Nov 30, 2018

good

By Araz A

Feb 25, 2018

good

By santi d a

Oct 18, 2017

g

o

o

d

By Lai Z

Sep 23, 2017

Good

By Camila d O M

Jun 28, 2016

good

By Amit G

Jun 29, 2020

V

By Deleted A

May 16, 2017

V

By GlennZhou

May 26, 2016

G

By Paola A F G

Nov 17, 2020

The content of this course is pertinent and valuable for Learning Business English. The materials straightforwardly present the content, and the quantity is balanced, so the learners do not feel overwhelmed by it. All the videos are a great aid. They help learners with speaking skills (Native speakers instructors provided an opportunity to learn better pronunciation and intonation for certain speech patterns). Also, it is a point of reference to revisit the content amicably.

For future improvement areas, I will suggest revising the assessment. It is valuable to have part of the grading to be performed by peers (we learn from each other and reflect on what has been taught/learned). However, peers are not professionals in Language Teaching. There are key areas such as grammar, vocabulary, syntax, and semantics that only Language professionals can address from a pedagogical and methodological perspective (especially in asynchronous online courses). For example, Grammar was not supposed to be checked by peers. Therefore, there is not a way for the learner to get feedback in this important area, even though some of the lessons have language features as part of their content.

On the other hand, the grading rubrics for peer review should be modified to provide meaningful and constructive feedback. Generally speaking, peer review's feedback was limited, for the most part, to an encouraging sentence rather than observations of what the learner is doing right and the areas that might need some improvement.

I thank you all for the effort and work put into this course. I enjoy learning every week, something new, and I felt the course challenged me to do better at every lesson.

Thank you!

By Sergey A

Jan 2, 2020

Nice course, but it have some western norms not actual for eg Europe, Asia and East. But the course gives lots of interesting info to think, practices to do and topics to discuss. I think i'ts good course for new managers and someone who only starts the career. People which are in business more than 5 years could find in the course only some norms and grammatics (good for non-natives).

By Bobby I

Nov 26, 2019

Complete coverage (grammar, email or text and verbal communication etc). Easy to follow and fun (multiple quiz, test and assignment) but I think its not as comprehensive and as deep as I expected. I would also expext the expert is the one who doing the assignment review and providing specific feedback, not peer

By Daniela H

Sep 7, 2020

Muy buen curso para aprender las formalidades al momento de hacer una llamada profesional, presentar tu cargo y empresa y, enviar correos y mensajes adecuados. Metodología amigable. Sería bueno tener comentarios de profesores respecto a las tareas escritas para que ayuden con la gramática.

By Danny R

Aug 9, 2020

You mostly learn vocabulary and some grammar for different business situation.

The peer graded assignments force you to practice what you just learn, but alone they aren't sufficient. If you take notes and practice in real life, you can actually learn.

By Eduardo S

Sep 4, 2018

The course are very good; the teachers are very good communicating and teaching. And I am waiting the right momment for a collections of business words like Invoicing, Billing, Receipts, Merges, Acquisitions, Joint-ventures, etc. etc...!

By Munshi A M

Apr 28, 2020

Fantastic course indeed. More practical problems and etiquette were taught. Both the course instructor was just amazing. Hope this course will help people to increase their skills on writing emails and increase their networking.

By diana s

Jul 10, 2018

I am interested o see more vocabulary, more comparison texts. For example: official, diplomatic letters vs informal ground. Ways of addressing high profile officials like Diplomats (your Excellency), Ministers, Presidents etc.

By EKENYA F P E

Jul 21, 2016

The knowledge gained is enlightening and life transforming. Thanks so much to all the the lecturers and everyone who participated in the put together of this awesomely amazing course program.