Chevron Left
Back to Business Intelligence Concepts, Tools, and Applications

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Business Intelligence Concepts, Tools, and Applications by University of Colorado System

4.4
462 ratings
81 reviews

About the Course

This is the fourth course in the Data Warehouse for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will gain the knowledge and skills for using data warehouses for business intelligence purposes and for working as a business intelligence developer. You’ll have the opportunity to work with large data sets in a data warehouse environment and will learn the use of MicroStrategy's Online Analytical Processing (OLAP) and Visualization capabilities to create visualizations and dashboards. The course gives an overview of how business intelligence technologies can support decision making across any number of business sectors. These technologies have had a profound impact on corporate strategy, performance, and competitiveness and broadly encompass decision support systems, business intelligence systems, and visual analytics. Modules are organized around the business intelligence concepts, tools, and applications, and the use of data warehouse for business reporting and online analytical processing, for creating visualizations and dashboards, and for business performance management and descriptive analytics....

Top reviews

NA

Mar 25, 2016

The Course is well laid out with plenty of assignments that allow you master the BI by using Microstrategy. Thanks to professor Karimi, it was by far the best BI course that I have ever taken.

GL

Jul 22, 2017

Very good course , with very explanatory and additional material. Deep diving with exercises and especially the last assignment where total understanding was required in order to fulfil it.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 80 Reviews for Business Intelligence Concepts, Tools, and Applications

By Рустам Р

Jul 10, 2018

This course contains many references to external materials. For answers to some questions in quiz it is necessary to study external materials. I do not have time for this. In my opinion, all the information for the quiz must be contained in the attached presentation.

By Robert L

May 31, 2016

this course is great in concept. but the reality was disappointing and will have to improve. the professor gave lots of links to interesting external materials. but his prepared lectures were much briefer and consisted mostly of presenting bullet-point lists. as a result, i found myself studying just to pass the quizes and not to actually enhance my knowledge. :( given the high standard of the other courses in this specialization, i'm sure it will be better next time....

By ILYA S

Feb 19, 2018

Very slow course, there are significant redundancies. The resource links are often obsolete, and there's a really high number of errors on slides - the kinds that would really mess up somebody's career, if they worked in BI.

By Jason B

Jan 25, 2017

A lot of the lecture material is unclear and does not fit with the content I've learned from other BI books, lectures, and experience. Additionally, the quizzes don't seem to test for real-world BI knowledge, rather they test for the ability to interpret the instructors fairly unique views on some BI topics. Furthermore, the additional readings need to be culled significantly, it looks like someone just googled BI topics and then copy and pasted the links they found. Please prioritize the additional readings highest value to lowest value and then post only the 4 to 7 reading that rank the highest. A pairwise comparison process may be useful when doing this.

By Michael P

Oct 02, 2016

Basically just a product demo and the lecturer was very hard to comprehend.

By Meena S K

Jul 25, 2018

This course is not interesting when compared to previous courses 1,2 and 3. Its hard to comprehend the lectures and the training videos provided for Microstrategy doesn't provide much support when it comes to assignments. I feel that the overall exposure to Microstrategy tool we get through this course is very minimal.

By Olivier R

Mar 22, 2019

Is this course an advertisement for Microstrategy ? A lot of videos come directly from the company. I don't have anything against that company, but business and learning are 2 very different things. The link with Microstrategy seems to have led to lazyness : so many low-effort contents (assignments directly taken out of the Microstrategy website, poor structure of shared documents, etc.), endless auto-promotion of the book of the teacher. I really felt like the CEO of Microstrategy was kind enough to share with me his views on BI (which might be the goal of Microstrategy with their partnership with the university). I am not happy having paid for this. The other courses of the specialization are great though. Please remove and rework this particular Course 4 from the specialization.

By Yuval Z

Jan 06, 2018

a very low quality course

By aycha t

Sep 26, 2016

Compared to the other Coursera course I attended ,this one is by far the least useful one. The instructor is super brief and his slides are mostly made of a list of acronyms!

I would not recommend it until they make some serious changes to the content and presentation of material.

By SANJEEVE K G

Dec 26, 2018

Business Intelligence given me new life to me

I have to work more models in this tool

By Heath W

Mar 24, 2019

Very good intro to BI concepts and Microstrategy.

By BENSON E A

Mar 27, 2019

The materials was good

By ghebriou

Aug 10, 2018

Thank you

By Sapronov A

Oct 05, 2018

Gut

By Alexander K

May 30, 2017

Thank you for all.

By Juan C G

May 15, 2017

Excellent!

By Navid A

Mar 25, 2016

The Course is well laid out with plenty of assignments that allow you master the BI by using Microstrategy. Thanks to professor Karimi, it was by far the best BI course that I have ever taken.

By Salil T

Aug 08, 2016

Loved it.

By Bidyut H

Mar 25, 2016

Great course! The professor is very knowledgeable and the materials are up to date with the current industry trends. I was able to apply the concepts learnt in this course in my job.

By Maximilian M

Jun 25, 2018

Great course. To the point.

By abel.saenz@gmail.com

Jun 13, 2017

Excellent Course, great Material and guide to Microstrategy projects

By Arlindo N

May 30, 2016

Very good course. We had the opportunity to learn some business issues and find ways to develop solutions via BI systems. We had also good lessons

By sanket w

Mar 14, 2016

The course has some good technical and analytical understanding of BI tools and application plus the BI project helped me derive useful visualizations. This course has helped me build my analytical skills to a different level which I think is expected in the actual BI industry.

By Mahalakshmy

May 06, 2018

It was amazing. I really learnt a lot from the course.

By PAVAN R T

Jun 29, 2017

The assignments were awesome...Learnt a whole new BI reporting tool...