Chevron Left
Back to High-Impact Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for High-Impact Business Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
3,248 ratings
585 reviews

About the Course

Effective writing is a powerful tool in the business environment. Learn how to articulate your thoughts in a clear and concise manner that will allow your ideas to be better understood by your readers. Improve your business writing skill by learning to select and use appropriate formats for your audience, use the correct medium and adjust your writing style accordingly, as well as identify your objective and communicate it clearly. You'll also learn to spot, correct and avoid the most common writing pitfalls, and gain valuable experience analyzing, writing and revising a wide spectrum of business documents. From a simple interoffice memo to a twenty-page business proposal, learn how to put good business writing to work for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write effective business communications, including bad news, good news, persuasive writing, presentations, emails, memos, business reports and press releases 2. Learn how to edit and proofread business documents 3. Learn how to write for a global market...

Top reviews

TR
Jul 7, 2016

A simplified course that targets areas of business writing which most of us tend to oversee. In this era of digitalisation and information overload, this back to basics method was really refreshing.

GK
Dec 7, 2018

This course was short, poignant and mindful of our busy lives, while teaching us all how to be more impactful in our writing. This is just what I was looking for to give me an extra edge at work!

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 581 Reviews for High-Impact Business Writing

By Devan W

Nov 23, 2020

The instructor of this course is easy to understand and follows a clear method of teaching. Some of the information is a little redundant. However, this is overall a informational course that provides tools for professional development.

By Wasee U

Feb 15, 2020

It is really very engaging and meaningful course. it has boosted my confidence to enter into the arena of freelancing with confidence and expectations. The PDF files of all the videos have added extra topping on the cake.

By Peter M

Apr 16, 2020

Interesting and useful infomation, but for Module 2 the assessment needs to be readdressed. The questions tend towards being repetitious and the possible answers are often subjective and open to multiple interpretation.

By Ngo T D L

Sep 4, 2015

Informative and easy to understand, even though the course could have benefit more if we actually get a few peer-review exercises regarding the type of writing we learned from the course. Overall, good for beginner.

By Paula N T

Feb 13, 2021

Es muy práctico. Ofrece recomendaciones generales a la hora de escribir diferentes documentos o en situaciones laborales. Lamentablemente, algunos de los recursos no se podían descargar o no era posible abrirlos.

By Laura R

Aug 31, 2015

I would have rated the course higher if there were a way to practice writing the documents discussed in the lectures. Great introduction to business writing, though. Very accessible to non-business persons.

By A W

Aug 14, 2016

This is very good and I would recommend it, but it is quite short compared to other Coursera courses that I have paid for. I think they should add more content for the price they are charging.

By Nandini C

Jun 29, 2018

This is very useful for people who are looking for guidance to write error free English, especially official documents. The video lectures are very comprehensive and nicely delivered. Thanks!

By Christos H

Jun 1, 2016

Universally applicable, presented in an entertaining manner, and quite thorough. Even experienced writers will pick up on one or two aspects they usually overlook. Highly recommended!

By Deleted A

Sep 6, 2017

As a business professional looking to expand my knowledge base, I found this course helpful and would recommend it to anyone who interacts with company customers and management.

By Hasan K U

May 30, 2019

Really useful course especially if you have to communicate senior managers or executives. Small, simple but very effective tactics are accurately given. Thanks for the course!

By sarah c d s

Aug 13, 2020

The class is good and teaches the basic. Better if taken before you really start to work in a big company, otherwise you will see a lot of things that you've already learnt.

By TSHEPO A M

Jul 1, 2020

This course provided more insight on how to write professional documents, and access to extra material on the subject matter was a big highlight of this course. thank you

By Kirill L

Feb 24, 2020

Rather good course. I would recommend to place more links for selfeducation. Also it would be greate to see more examples of business correspondence and key expressions.

By Novirene T

Sep 28, 2020

This is a very interesting course. The learning is very relatable with our daily activities both as an academic and a practitioner in any field. Very grateful!

By Nestor G

Apr 24, 2016

Sue Robins is an excellent instructor in the art of business writing. She will help you navigate the nuances and best practices behind a good business document

By Byoungjin K

Oct 19, 2015

This course teaches the basic and fundamental concepts, idea, principles of various forms of business writing. Hope it provides more examples on each topic.

By AISHWARYA B

Jul 14, 2020

I t was quite a wonderful course, compact and easy to comprehend. I would never forget the things that I learnt because of the usage of abundant examples.

By Bayu D W

May 5, 2020

At some situations, the theories were not accompanied with examples and best practices. The lecturer sometimes forgets what to say and less expressive.

By Lebogang M

Jul 22, 2020

Very simplistic course but good refresher for drafting correspondence. The quiz for Week 2 was very confusing though, had to re-attempt several times.

By Niedja d A e S F d S

Nov 27, 2015

I learned a lot with this course, but there are not so many exercises for students to train the content learned. The lectures are very good.

By MD M H

May 17, 2020

The course provides a good overview about all kinds of business writings. The course also touches upon the grammar, spelling etc also.

By Kathryn D

Aug 13, 2015

The information was very helpful. I would have benefited from quiz explanations I kept getting the same two questions wrong on quiz 2.

By tammy C

Nov 23, 2020

Professor spoke too slowly for me. I prefer a slightly faster pace and not as redundant but I understand this was a general course

By Saroj I

May 22, 2020

It was a great experience! In the starting it was pretty easy later on the difficulty level increased, All the above it was fun.