Chevron Left
Back to High-Impact Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for High-Impact Business Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
3,185 ratings
572 reviews

About the Course

Effective writing is a powerful tool in the business environment. Learn how to articulate your thoughts in a clear and concise manner that will allow your ideas to be better understood by your readers. Improve your business writing skill by learning to select and use appropriate formats for your audience, use the correct medium and adjust your writing style accordingly, as well as identify your objective and communicate it clearly. You'll also learn to spot, correct and avoid the most common writing pitfalls, and gain valuable experience analyzing, writing and revising a wide spectrum of business documents. From a simple interoffice memo to a twenty-page business proposal, learn how to put good business writing to work for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write effective business communications, including bad news, good news, persuasive writing, presentations, emails, memos, business reports and press releases 2. Learn how to edit and proofread business documents 3. Learn how to write for a global market...

Top reviews

TR
Jul 7, 2016

A simplified course that targets areas of business writing which most of us tend to oversee. In this era of digitalisation and information overload, this back to basics method was really refreshing.

GK
Dec 7, 2018

This course was short, poignant and mindful of our busy lives, while teaching us all how to be more impactful in our writing. This is just what I was looking for to give me an extra edge at work!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 568 Reviews for High-Impact Business Writing

By David C K

Dec 1, 2020

Great course!

By Divya N

Aug 31, 2015

Great Course!

By Sharanjeet S

Oct 10, 2020

GOOD COURSE

By Chinaza C

Sep 25, 2020

enjoyed it!

By Abdullahi S A

Oct 23, 2018

Impactful!

By Nachiket J

Sep 3, 2015

Insightful

By Sudip G

Oct 14, 2016

Nice one

By Muhammad H

Sep 26, 2020

Amazing

By Jasper

Dec 15, 2020

Thanks

By Jill J

Mar 6, 2019

great

By Mohammad A S S

Oct 15, 2020

good

By Thirividi S S

May 11, 2020

Good

By Amirhossein I

Mar 22, 2016

good

By jordan s

Oct 31, 2017

Good info that is useful to a general audience. I enjoyed what was taught and I liked having a refresher of what makes a good written document.

I'd encourage the team to work on creating a better video. Some issues with white balance and editing. Also,, try to use the in-video quiz feature of Coursera to test people's knowledge.

By Mark L

Aug 29, 2020

A good guide to writing, with basic tips and methods. Easy to follow. It does not provide anything I would consider to be High Impact rather just the essentials to good writing.

Disappointingly for a paid course not all the resources were available as links were broken.

By Deepak J

May 23, 2020

The course was satisfactory. But in a course on Business writing, more examples of emails, letters, etc would make the course better. Anyway, I will work it out from third party sites. But I feel, embedding them in the course itself would make a better impact.

By Khadeeja S A

Aug 15, 2020

This was a brief and helpful course on the basics of business writing. Explaining the topics as precise and brief modules made it easier to learn. The reading materials provided were very helpful to revise and practice the topics discussed in the modules.

By Anca G

Jan 28, 2021

The course is well done and the presenter is very clear. However, I wish it had gone into more details regarding reports, high impact words (examples, use), active voice (examples, use). Also, some of the links provided in resources do not work.

By Edita G

Nov 2, 2020

Course was somewhat useful (especially correct grammar part, as I am not English native), but I'd say there were too many obvious tips. Course resources should be updates, for example in week 3 none of 4 links provided is working anymore.

By Elad Y

May 31, 2019

I found the course, despite its length, to be very basic. Perhaps best suited for individuals with no experience or whose native tongue is not English. I did not find it to be "high-impact", but my expectations may have been different.

By Kelly W

Dec 16, 2019

In this course overview it said I'd now how to write a press release by the end but I didn't learn that. It was mostly focused on grammar, word-use, tense, etc. Good summary, but I don't feel I have higher impact writing after this.

By Vera D

Mar 15, 2021

I didn't learn much in this course, most of the content was already obvious to me. It could be useful, though, to people in their twenties who are just starting their career.

By Janel

Nov 17, 2020

I was expecting to learn more, to go over examples in more detail. I learned a few things about emails and business cases. The teacher was nice and the links were great.

By Joshua

Aug 20, 2015

Very helpful tips for preparing a professional business document. Hoping the course could have more focused exercises to make sure learners actually master the skills.

By Jennifer H

Jul 19, 2020

The content is good but the course tends to get very monotonous with time. Maybe including some hands on work would make things more interesting.