Chevron Left
Back to High-Impact Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for High-Impact Business Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
3,179 ratings
572 reviews

About the Course

Effective writing is a powerful tool in the business environment. Learn how to articulate your thoughts in a clear and concise manner that will allow your ideas to be better understood by your readers. Improve your business writing skill by learning to select and use appropriate formats for your audience, use the correct medium and adjust your writing style accordingly, as well as identify your objective and communicate it clearly. You'll also learn to spot, correct and avoid the most common writing pitfalls, and gain valuable experience analyzing, writing and revising a wide spectrum of business documents. From a simple interoffice memo to a twenty-page business proposal, learn how to put good business writing to work for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write effective business communications, including bad news, good news, persuasive writing, presentations, emails, memos, business reports and press releases 2. Learn how to edit and proofread business documents 3. Learn how to write for a global market...

Top reviews

TR
Jul 7, 2016

A simplified course that targets areas of business writing which most of us tend to oversee. In this era of digitalisation and information overload, this back to basics method was really refreshing.

GK
Dec 7, 2018

This course was short, poignant and mindful of our busy lives, while teaching us all how to be more impactful in our writing. This is just what I was looking for to give me an extra edge at work!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 568 Reviews for High-Impact Business Writing

By Julian G

Nov 3, 2015

Too high level

By Ichiro K

Dec 12, 2017

thank you

By Chuting Z

Mar 9, 2020

useless

By Laura

Mar 14, 2016

i

By Lydia R

Mar 28, 2021

Unfortunately I found the instructor of the class hard to follow, the lecture notes were hard to use due to the many repeated slides and meaningless bullet points with no elaboration or examples. The overall quality of this class was lacking compared to other Coursera offerings. Also this course is best suited for someone who is maybe not a North American native or is along time out from their high school education or very newly transitioning to the business world, as most of this information was basic information that most would have learned in high school or college English courses.

By Fernando

Aug 31, 2020

Very basic course. Some tips are useful but I was expecting more practical exercises or even a peer-reviewed task. Also, some of the links with additional information are broken. Additionally, my impression is that the course has not been updated in years. The course focus on paper and very little in email communication. And no words about social media.

By Troy B

Apr 17, 2020

The lecture was choppy like reading from Q cards that were slow to pop up, and bounced around quite a bit. The visual slides did not support the flow of the lecture very well, and we lacking overall. The course could use more examples and descriptions of Good vs Bad writing in the various forms.

By Anna Z

Sep 14, 2020

To be honest, I almost hated the first two modules. They're too general and I'd say they don't have enough examples. The quizzes are more about guessing than about real understanding of the material. Modules 3 and 4 were okay

By Kevin S

Jul 11, 2020

The quiz questions largely had inaccurate or unclear answers. Additionally, there was very little substance to this course -- nothing you wouldn't get from an 8th grade English class.

By Jaison J M

Jul 24, 2020

The course does not stand upto its title name. This is a course more suitable for grad students. As a person with working experience, these are the basics I know.

By Kelly F

Sep 7, 2017

Videos seemed unpolished. Instructor referred to resources that were never provided. Seems more like the first draft of a course than a finished course.

By Vinayak I

Apr 5, 2016

An mix of general tips on how to write well mixed with some corporate-specific information. Broad overview, but I didn't really learn anything.

By Tricia B

Dec 29, 2020

I hate to be a Negative Nancy, but the instructor's voice was very monotone and boring. Very hard to stay interested in the course.

By Sumeet M

May 10, 2020

The videos are quite useful but if you provide more reading resources it will become more useful in understanding the concepts

By Elisabeth S

Apr 9, 2018

I didn't find this course particularly informative. It was a bit too basic for my expectations.

By Alvaro M

Aug 31, 2015

it's to general. I would like to have done some exercises. Great framework without a punchline.

By Ritika D R

Feb 8, 2016

Very basic. Tricky quiz questions. There seems to be multiple right answers.

By Alex

Jan 28, 2019

Too short and shallow. Worth only for its list of additional resources

By Jude

Dec 28, 2015

Extremely basic. Please put that up front in the course description.

By Nicole P

Oct 28, 2015

It is a good brush up course but a lot of it was common sense.

By Amy G

Sep 2, 2015

I found the video lectures very choppy and difficult to watch.

By Ardasher K

Aug 27, 2015

The course was very generic and didn't teach that much. Sorry.

By Tatiana G

Aug 17, 2015

Not too interesting, but certain things were useful.

By Leyla A

Oct 20, 2015

Very basic, I hoped for a more advanced level.

By Jasmine S

Oct 8, 2020

It's extremely basic for a writing course.