Chevron Left
Back to High-Impact Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for High-Impact Business Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
3,248 ratings
585 reviews

About the Course

Effective writing is a powerful tool in the business environment. Learn how to articulate your thoughts in a clear and concise manner that will allow your ideas to be better understood by your readers. Improve your business writing skill by learning to select and use appropriate formats for your audience, use the correct medium and adjust your writing style accordingly, as well as identify your objective and communicate it clearly. You'll also learn to spot, correct and avoid the most common writing pitfalls, and gain valuable experience analyzing, writing and revising a wide spectrum of business documents. From a simple interoffice memo to a twenty-page business proposal, learn how to put good business writing to work for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write effective business communications, including bad news, good news, persuasive writing, presentations, emails, memos, business reports and press releases 2. Learn how to edit and proofread business documents 3. Learn how to write for a global market...

Top reviews

TR
Jul 7, 2016

A simplified course that targets areas of business writing which most of us tend to oversee. In this era of digitalisation and information overload, this back to basics method was really refreshing.

GK
Dec 7, 2018

This course was short, poignant and mindful of our busy lives, while teaching us all how to be more impactful in our writing. This is just what I was looking for to give me an extra edge at work!

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 581 Reviews for High-Impact Business Writing

By Angel B

Apr 2, 2017

It wasn't Exactly what I'd expected but was still a good course.

By James N

Apr 26, 2020

It would be helpful to have practice with the writing portion.

By David C

Mar 17, 2016

Could have more in depth content, a bit shallow sometimes.

By Ngo T N C

Oct 26, 2015

It's useful to anyone who wants to improve writing skills.

By Sherrie V

Dec 30, 2015

Some irritating errors, but overall it was okay.

By Bruno C

Jan 30, 2016

Felt that it could have more writing exercises.

By Claire M

Feb 18, 2021

Not much new information. Didn't see the value

By Anand D

Jul 6, 2020

Grammar module and quiz are not complimentary.

By Anastasiia K

May 29, 2020

Content was pretty superficial.

By Daniele D

Jan 2, 2021

Improve the quality of quiz

By VishnuChittan t

Jul 3, 2020

need more updated reference

By Hanan A R

Jun 2, 2021

the grammar part was tough

By Shikha G

May 26, 2021

Good for beginners

By Julian G

Nov 3, 2015

Too high level

By Ichiro K

Dec 12, 2017

thank you

By Chuting Z

Mar 9, 2020

useless

By Laura

Mar 14, 2016

i

By Lydia R

Mar 28, 2021

Unfortunately I found the instructor of the class hard to follow, the lecture notes were hard to use due to the many repeated slides and meaningless bullet points with no elaboration or examples. The overall quality of this class was lacking compared to other Coursera offerings. Also this course is best suited for someone who is maybe not a North American native or is along time out from their high school education or very newly transitioning to the business world, as most of this information was basic information that most would have learned in high school or college English courses.

By Fernando

Aug 31, 2020

Very basic course. Some tips are useful but I was expecting more practical exercises or even a peer-reviewed task. Also, some of the links with additional information are broken. Additionally, my impression is that the course has not been updated in years. The course focus on paper and very little in email communication. And no words about social media.

By Troy B

Apr 17, 2020

The lecture was choppy like reading from Q cards that were slow to pop up, and bounced around quite a bit. The visual slides did not support the flow of the lecture very well, and we lacking overall. The course could use more examples and descriptions of Good vs Bad writing in the various forms.

By Anna Z

Sep 14, 2020

To be honest, I almost hated the first two modules. They're too general and I'd say they don't have enough examples. The quizzes are more about guessing than about real understanding of the material. Modules 3 and 4 were okay

By Kevin S

Jul 11, 2020

The quiz questions largely had inaccurate or unclear answers. Additionally, there was very little substance to this course -- nothing you wouldn't get from an 8th grade English class.

By Jaison J M

Jul 24, 2020

The course does not stand upto its title name. This is a course more suitable for grad students. As a person with working experience, these are the basics I know.

By Kelly F

Sep 7, 2017

Videos seemed unpolished. Instructor referred to resources that were never provided. Seems more like the first draft of a course than a finished course.

By Vinayak I

Apr 5, 2016

An mix of general tips on how to write well mixed with some corporate-specific information. Broad overview, but I didn't really learn anything.