Chevron Left
Back to High-Impact Business Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for High-Impact Business Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
3,213 ratings
577 reviews

About the Course

Effective writing is a powerful tool in the business environment. Learn how to articulate your thoughts in a clear and concise manner that will allow your ideas to be better understood by your readers. Improve your business writing skill by learning to select and use appropriate formats for your audience, use the correct medium and adjust your writing style accordingly, as well as identify your objective and communicate it clearly. You'll also learn to spot, correct and avoid the most common writing pitfalls, and gain valuable experience analyzing, writing and revising a wide spectrum of business documents. From a simple interoffice memo to a twenty-page business proposal, learn how to put good business writing to work for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write effective business communications, including bad news, good news, persuasive writing, presentations, emails, memos, business reports and press releases 2. Learn how to edit and proofread business documents 3. Learn how to write for a global market...

Top reviews

TR
Jul 7, 2016

A simplified course that targets areas of business writing which most of us tend to oversee. In this era of digitalisation and information overload, this back to basics method was really refreshing.

GK
Dec 7, 2018

This course was short, poignant and mindful of our busy lives, while teaching us all how to be more impactful in our writing. This is just what I was looking for to give me an extra edge at work!

Filter by:

551 - 574 of 574 Reviews for High-Impact Business Writing

By Nicole P

Oct 28, 2015

It is a good brush up course but a lot of it was common sense.

By Amy G

Sep 2, 2015

I found the video lectures very choppy and difficult to watch.

By Ardasher K

Aug 27, 2015

The course was very generic and didn't teach that much. Sorry.

By Tatiana G

Aug 17, 2015

Not too interesting, but certain things were useful.

By Leyla A

Oct 20, 2015

Very basic, I hoped for a more advanced level.

By Jasmine S

Oct 8, 2020

It's extremely basic for a writing course.

By Erik L

May 16, 2016

Mostly common knowledge

By Rajanikant K

Jul 21, 2020

good

By Jennifer F

Jun 9, 2019

Wow. Okay, where do I start? First, the instructor was robotic and it felt as though she was not the author of the material. When she read the words, it felt there was a disconnect between the sounds and what she understood or processed in her mind. Often I didn't feel she was fully aware of what she was saying. At times, examples she gave were not business examples, which would have been more helpful since this course was about business writing. Her outfits changed all the time, which made me feel that that was more important to her than what she was saying. Often she kept repeating the same concepts, ironically while teaching about messaging being clear, concise, and to the point. I kept saying often, "get to the point!" Finally, there were so many grammar and spelling errors in the transcript I was reading as I followed along. This was also ironic since that is the topic of the course.

By Ju M

Nov 27, 2019

The exercises of this course are really poorly conceived. There are some options that make absolutely no sense. I can be more specific if need be – I have printscreen shots of the exercises that are confusing. The Quizzes for this course should be revised completely – as it stands, it reflects very poorly on the University and Coursera, for having agreed with the contents.

By Anna P

Jul 16, 2017

Very basic, and, sorry to say, boring, for an advanced ESL learner. Videos are almost unwatchable due to technical glitches and monotone delivery, and just reading the transcripts makes one wonder how helpful is a "business writing" class with multiple spelling mistakes and colloquialisms in its transcripts. Dropping out after week two, can't take it any longer.

By Peter W

Apr 16, 2021

I don't understand how this course has 4.5 stars. This course is stuck in 1999. The production value is terrible--- the speaker stumbles on her words, the slides use clipart, there's a section on email and what BCC means? I downloaded one of the files and the bullet points were Lorem Ipsum--- C'mon Coursera--- time to upgrade this course. I want my $ back!

By Yasser C

Sep 29, 2020

The content of this course is very good but this was very far from my expectations because i am here to learn about project management not writing ,the course is very academic and it was very very hard to complete because the questions are not numbrous and we have only one try every 8 hours i took more than two months to finish it

By Quinn R

Dec 5, 2020

Rambling instruction, poor layout, no forum for discussion between students, and an 8 hour wait between quiz retries. Info in the course can be obtained in other ways. This course isn't worth the time and cost.

By Ramyashrii S

May 28, 2016

the instructor keeps repeating the same information throughout all the lectures. It is not as impactful as I thought it would be. The last straw was her saying that-that was an article.

By Roy A

Apr 25, 2020

awful quiz. Highly ambiguous sentences that can be correct from different frameworks. It does not accurately or fairly assess the understanding of the course material.

By harshal k

Jan 20, 2021

The content was good but practical applications and writing practice wasn't involved. Not sure how much I will take out of this course and apply in the real world.

By Daniel J G

Aug 30, 2015

Some questions in the quiz for module 2 are unclear and seem unrelated to the course work.

By Elizabeth T

Feb 8, 2016

I couldn't access all of the reading materials and could never finish this course.

By Su W T

Sep 9, 2019

Need More teaching knowledge for business writing.

By Pooya S

Apr 21, 2016

very low quality and not practical

By 杨婷

Oct 20, 2015

This course is not designed well.

By Ramil I

Apr 25, 2016

Very boring

By Victor C

Oct 6, 2020

Boring