Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,532 ratings

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

LB

Nov 15, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

BM

Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,519 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Beth A

May 3, 2022

I found this course to be valuable. I am a first time, aspiring writer. The blocks of intruction were informative and the writing exercises were interesting, thought provoking and very doable for my skill level. I enjoyed this class very much.

By Tom S

Jun 23, 2018

I recommend this course. I find creating clear plots rather difficult which are time- consuming when done correctly. The steps provided for creating the structure, scenes, and plot are very informative and all one need do is think and write.

By Michaela M

Dec 23, 2020

The instructor was amazing and made everything very clear through the use of example from well known pieces of literature. I was also very happy with my interaction with fellow learners, hopefully I will be buying their books in the future!

By Gunn Y

May 27, 2020

This course was very inspiring and mostly helped me write better. But there were some people who did not try at all and lacked the will to finish this course. But other than that, I think this course was very intelligent and well organized.

By Vishal M

Aug 22, 2019

The course was good, I wish there are separate notes. I did made mine, I found everything helpful. I mean the entire transcript, and since I read the notes that I made handwritten, it took a lot of time for me to digest but it was worth it.

By Haroon B

Mar 29, 2018

It is as intense as you make it. When you glance through the exercises and take the videos, it seem so easy, but it isn't. The early exercises are quite okay, but as you progress you will really need to put in time and effort. Great course.

By Ridhi R

Mar 12, 2018

I love this course! It has given me a lot of information that will come in handy when developing my own stories and ideas. The videos are crisp and to the point, yet wonderfully detailed to open up my thinking possibilities and imagination.

By Atanas K

Sep 20, 2020

What I really liked in this course is that it is focused on writing practice. The amount of theoretical concepts introduced is just about right. Maybe one could add a downloadable version of the 21 rules checklist. Good job and thanks! :)

By Lisa D

May 13, 2018

An excellent class. It helped me sharpen up my writing. I would say this is better than any book I ever read on writing. A huge part of it was in the reading and reviewing of other student's work. I felt I learned even more in doing that.

By Muaz N

Jul 22, 2022

This course really helped me formally learn about writing fiction. My writing has improved significantly due to the advice from the teacher even though I had previously read several books and also taken a master class by James Patterson.

By Nolizwe M

Jan 18, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. The assignments were challenging and pushed me to think outside the box. I most appreciated receiving feedback from peers, and also seeing how they applied new lessons/skills. I highly recommend this course!

By Carlos R

Nov 21, 2018

Fantastic. I really have learned how to identify the structure of the plot in the stories I read, and I am now able to structure plots to my stories - their bones - which I will in a second moment I will fill up with scenes - the flesh.

By Michael R

Jul 5, 2016

I really liked the balance between explanation, instruction and hands-on-exercise. Brando Skyhorse explains things well and he seems to be the knowledgeable, skillful professional and teacher that you can trust to help you move forward.

By Mary M

Dec 30, 2020

This is a fine course with the exception of students' grades depending on others, i.e., peer reviews. students do their required peer reviews yet get a failing grade if others don't review their work in return. That's very unfortunate.

By Sophie B

Dec 28, 2020

ce cours est extrémement interessant, et donne toutes les bases d'écriture pour les écrivains en herbe ou chevronnés. Les explications sont claires, et les échanges avec les écrivains célébres donnent de vraies pistes d'amélioration.

By hector c

Feb 10, 2018

Really good, the exercises are challenging and make you work on making good scenes and stories in very limited word counts. Brando's classes are easy to follow and his advice hits the mark. The guest lectures are also very insightful

By Gloria J M

Feb 7, 2021

Very helpful. I have many story ideas but had no idea where to begin. The feedback from the last assignment showed me how to look at structure. I need more practice but this is definitely a good way to get started. Great instructor.

By Lauren R

Jul 27, 2017

I am loving these classes so far and am excited to continue learning. Just by taking this class and reading the prompts, I'm finding the motivation to write and coming up with more to write about. I couldn't ask for more. Thank you.

By Eileen M M

Aug 11, 2020

Es un curso muy valioso. Lo que aprendes en él, de la mano de expertos de primer nivel, es un gran privilegio. Además, las explicaciones son muy precisas y prácticas. Estoy muy contenta por no haber desaprovechado esta oportunidad.

By Aymen

Aug 9, 2020

This is a wonderful course that provides good guidance and tips for aspiring writers as well as a positive space to practice those guidelines. I recommend this to you, whether you're thinking about writing or are already a writer.

By Gala R

Jun 4, 2020

The course was well done, there were clear examples and the exercises followed the information that was presented. I learned a lot from each module and would recommend it to anyone interested in the 101 on creating a good story.

By Ramona K

Sep 22, 2018

This course has helped me understand how to write so the reader sees what I am telling. More than a story someone reads to you but allows you the ability to bring the reader in to see the action and be a part of what is going on.

By Marko K

Nov 14, 2022

I read a lot of books on how to write, wrote some fiction as well but this is the first time I managed to actually feel like things are coming together and that I am expressing the story the way I am intending. Thanks for that!

By Shreya J

Jul 5, 2020

It was quite a phenomenal course. I Always loved writing but this provided me like a solid base and lots of tips on how to go about doing what I love. Brando Skyhorse was an amazing tutor explaining the concepts very admirably.