Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,763 ratings

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

GS

Invalid date

It was a good course. It was a good grading method, I was a little opposed in the beginning but I now I understand the value of having more than a teacher read your work.

It is very much worth it.

LB

Invalid date

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,607 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Janet S

Jul 20, 2017

I found this to be a challenging - and very eye-opening - course. I really enjoyed the instructor's style. I recommend this course to anyone who either wants to write or is already writing and wants to improve.

By Spyros S

Jan 11, 2021

Amazing course, a lot of quality material for a beginner like me. The assignments reinforced said material beautifully. Overall, I feel a lot more confident in my writing after finishing the course. Thank you.

By C.E. B

Sep 7, 2023

I honestly loved this class. Brando Skyhorse is a wonderful teacher. it made it much easier to organize creating of the plots for my stories and he made it fun to learn I can't wait to start the second course

By Umme K

Aug 24, 2019

A very effective course to learn creative writing. I have surely improved my skills in terms of writing. Thank you for all the valuable things i have learned. Looking forward for the next part of this course.

By Elaine B

Apr 6, 2022

I enjoyed the assignments because the criteria was clearly stated, and they were challenging. I enjoyed Professor Skyhorse's video lessons and his interviews with other authors. Thanks for the opportunity.

By Derya D Y

May 17, 2021

before this course I didn't know how to write in structure or rising action. This course really helped me. I write short stories so much better now. It was great that they give examples on Harry Potter also

By jorge E v D j

Feb 4, 2020

Es un curso excelente que amplía el panorama en la escritura de un relato. Es una guía en el trayecto de la estructura como se conforman las historias. Las clases y el instructor son muy amenos y asertivos.

By Karen R

Nov 2, 2018

I can't say which one of the courses was the best, as I learned so much from each of them. It's been a while since I've taken this course and I'm sure if I took it again, would learn even more. Thank you!

By Laura C

Mar 28, 2017

It is a really good introduction to writing, I love it. The format of the course is excellent for virtual studies, the time periods are good for completing the assignments combine with every day activities.

By NOEMI M

Apr 23, 2022

This course has been fantastic! I enjoyed all the lessons, I learned a lot and I think that I'm a better writer than I was before. I loved every part of it, really a great experience and not at all boring!

By Andrea R H

Jun 23, 2020

Brando Skyhorse is such a great teacher! I loved this course through and through, I really feel like I'm improving my writing and it's helping me with the novels I'm currently working on. A million thanks!

By Hardik R

Jun 15, 2021

My writing skills improved a lot after this course. I have to say, I got way more out of this than I was expecting. The course is articulately designed and well-paced. Loved it. I definitely recommend it.

By Fizzah S

Jun 15, 2021

a very beneficial course for beginners, just do something with the review section as not everyone is capable of reviewing honestly. if a teacher could guide or review the assignments we do, it'd be GREAT.

By Sinny N

Oct 14, 2020

Professor was very clear while explaining his classes, I really loved it. I found his writing advices and tips to be very useful. Also the interviews with the other writers shed a new light on my writing.

By Deleted A

Mar 25, 2020

I've been writing for a long time, even having some success at it, but have never taken any formal training. I feel that you take away from this course what you put into it, even if you're not a beginner.

By Nas G P

Nov 25, 2023

I learned so much in this course. I highly recommend this to anyone who wanted to learn structured writing. Thank you to our Teacher Brando Skyhorse and thank you Coursera for this opportunity to learn!

By Aashna D

Jun 14, 2023

These classes were easy to understand and helpful. I strongly recommend this course to any writer who has never had a formal writer's education (just to be clear, it's not the same as school education).

By Steve C J

Dec 11, 2020

Loved the experience and challenges in this course. Well-designed learning tasks and helpful videos. The conversational setup of those videos was particularly effective (when compared to lecture style).

By Neerja J

May 18, 2020

This was my first writing course, I would say it is well structured and do give you challenges in form of assignments. If you are an aspiring writer, its a good way to begin your writing course journey.

By Felicia R W

Oct 15, 2020

I truly did enjoy the class and I intend to finish the entire series of courses! I just have to move on a slow pace which I'm very happy it is an available option as well as the discounts on classes.

By David K

Sep 2, 2020

I have always been an avid reader. I took this class to familiarize myself with the techniques behind plot development. I would highly recommend this course, and the creative writing specialization.

By similoluwa f

Apr 4, 2019

It was very impactful and insightful...i had to opportunity to thing through my writing creatively. The idea of other writers reviewing my work was a good one as the feedback was quite constructive.

By Camille T

Oct 12, 2018

Extremely helpful! I'm rethinking a lot of my previous approach to writing, especially when it comes to creating interesting scenes and ensuring my characters each have a clear desire while I write.

By Blank

May 21, 2023

Amazing course, really loved everything but you need to find a way to deal with troll, see multiple submissions with nothing written, random letters pressed on the keyboard, or just not in english.

By Nathalie A G

Apr 18, 2022

This course has excellent theorical material and practical cases to study. Also the instructor conducts very creative and clear lessons. To anyone who wants to start writing here's your first step!