Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Analytics for Business

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Analytics for Business by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,788 ratings
748 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the data analytics practices executed in the business world. We will explore such key areas as the analytical process, how data is created, stored, accessed, and how the organization works with data and creates the environment in which analytics can flourish. What you learn in this course will give you a strong foundation in all the areas that support analytics and will help you to better position yourself for success within your organization. You’ll develop skills and a perspective that will make you more productive faster and allow you to become a valuable asset to your organization. This course also provides a basis for going deeper into advanced investigative and computational methods, which you have an opportunity to explore in future courses of the Data Analytics for Business specialization....

Top reviews

SH
May 19, 2021

I liked it so much as it reminded me by a lot of subjects I forgotten during my working years away of my uni degree so i need to back to this one and dig deep in each subject of it again. many thanks.

S
Sep 23, 2020

Very good introduction course. Clear and understandable explanations for beginners, good structure and helpful examples. Also the provided slides are beneficial for later reference and repetition.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 748 Reviews for Introduction to Data Analytics for Business

By Lance R

Jan 1, 2018

This served as a good introduction to the key ideas involved in business analytics. It does not cover each topic in great depth (that would take months), but will give you a good idea where to build your knowledge further. I already have a background in statistics so am familiar with most of the tools used in the specialization. I am taking this to round out my knowledge of how business analytics works in the business world. My only gripe is that we are expected to review three peer assignments to pass, and there are sometimes none to review!

A word of advice here. As you complete each week of this course, ensure to also complete the corresponding section of the week 4 final assignment, as it can be quite long if you're serious about the course.

By Luccas F

Jul 6, 2020

Bom curso, principalmente para quem está começando e quer aprender mais sobre o mercado, mostrando alguns dos desafios que um profissional de dados enfrenta, como trabalha, que ferramentas utiliza. 3 Pontos que merecem destaque:

1 )A a parte de como ter um "mindset" voltado à dados, e uma metodologia para isso

2) Conhecimento teórico sobre base de dados relacionais (Tipos de chave, o que uma tabela deve conter, como devem se relacionar

3) Curso rápido e completo para SQL, cobrindo a maioria das coisas que são utilizadas para executar consultas simples (Joins, Funções de Agregação)

By Colin M

Jul 30, 2020

Overall a great introduction and I learned a lot. This was my first online course and I like the flexibility of viewing video lectures when I had the time. Excellent software: clean interface and easy to understand. I I found the examples for SQL queries unnecessarily complicated where the same name used for tables and data so they were not distinct enough when trying to understand new concepts. For understanding what was covered in this module I needed to go get additional explanations on the internet. Very positive overall.

By Yi L P

Oct 26, 2020

As a data analyst, this course gives me the tools & concepts I need to understand the workplace better. It gives clear understanding on the landscape and the people we work with as a data analyst. I gained good understanding of the different tools and different operations from different parties ranging from IT to business users.

The idea of info-value chain is great, so is the conceptual business model. Will definitely revisit the course.

this course focuses less on technicality, but rather on a good understanding of analytics

By Jesse L

Jul 30, 2019

Great course for people curious about beginning a career in data analytics! The course goes over high level ideas (i.e. how data is captured and stored, commonly used analytical tools, etc.) get you started in that journey, along with some exercises (i.e. SQL) to give you an idea of what an analyst would be doing. I really appreciated the unit going over typical structures of data analytics teams and the roles of the team members as it helped me understand the role that would best fit me.

By Youbaraj S

Sep 28, 2018

David you were awesome, all the concepts were covered elegantly, in fact as I have moved to next course I have started missing your style already. From the course perspective I guess it is very important also to include Power Pivot, I know it may fundamentally change the topics but I feel it will be more relevant than SQL and database design. The best part was conceptual design and really like how you covered most of the aspects in such a small amount of time. Thank you.

By Roshan D

Jun 4, 2020

This course was immensely helpful in beginning my journey in the world of Data analytics in business.The course was wonderfully set up for beginners and gave crisp and clear ideas about how Data Analytics is used in the business world covering both the theoretical and technical aspects. Instructor David is one of the best instructors under whom I've studied a course. If you are looking for a career in Data Analytics in Business this is the right place to begin.

By Kavita K

Mar 9, 2020

Excellent course - very well organized and allowed all skills to pace themselves (while challenging themselves as necessary). Loved the supportive community - I submitted my final peer assignment the NIGHT of when the course was ending and assumed it will be left incomplete. Today, I see a total grade of over 92% which means I passed. Thanks to the peer reviewers who actioned on my submission on time .

By Aniket A K

Jul 26, 2020

Very good course with a great instructor. It's a really good course to learn about the importance and basics of data analytics in Business. I Iearned thoroughly about the following topics and their importance 1. Conceptual Business model 2. Data model and it's attributes 3. Data extraction and implementing it using SQL. 4. Importance of Data Quality in an organisation and standards.

By Riccardo D V

Sep 16, 2019

Enjoyed the course very much. The instructor David Torgerson explains concepts in a concise and easy to understand manner. It was a good refresher course on SQL for me and I also learned new content especially around roles and structures of analytical organization as well as data privacy which is especially relevant in today's business environment.

By Aileen D N

Nov 8, 2020

The lecturer is so good in making the course as simple as possible for beginners like me. He explains very well and he made me love the course that I used to fear. We will be implementing my proposed conceptual business plan in our department. I regret that the last two parts of my submission were not recognized by the peers who reviewed my work.

By Tyler P M

Aug 28, 2020

For those looking to understand business analytics from a high and low level, this is a great introductory course. I don't feel entirely prepared to execute this job in a corporate workplace quite yet, but that's what more advanced courses are for. Really loved the professor. He is super knowledgeable and considerate of practical knowledge.

By yash b

Aug 14, 2020

GREAT ! I must say that, My eagerness and willingness to learn Data analytics has boost up after doing this course. I being A civil engineering Graduate, developed the interest towards Data Analytics and I opted for this Course, this course helped me to understand Data, Need of data, Use of data and further manipulations in it. Thank you!!

By Joshua D

Jun 16, 2020

This has been a great entry course, while some things i felt i grasped very quickly others I had to dive in a bit more. Great level of detail and materials. Also David is awesome! I like his tempo, tone and delivery with his lectures. Also he explains things in a way that is easy to understand and learn from. Can't wait to learn more!

By Tania G

Jul 12, 2021

It was so interesting and important course!! I would say indispensable because we must have analytical knowledge no matter in what sector we work. I work in a huge corporation but smaller corporations really need employers who know the business mainly and have analytical knowledge as they cant afford to have two different persons.

By Carmen A H

Jul 28, 2018

This course has been very interesting and very focused in what is important. Even the part more theoretical has been also a learning experience. My favorite module was the SQL practice.

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn something new this gives me the opportunity to start practicing the SQL.

Carmen

By olgakl77

Feb 15, 2017

Great course! I worked in IT for years and this course closed some gaps in my knowledge in this area. The course is easy to understand and extremely informative in many areas of data analysis. Big thank you to David Torgerson and University of Colorado Boulder. The presentation is just fantastic!

By Ashok K R K

Jul 25, 2020

Was very informative. The professor was very clear in explaining the concepts with clear examples and was easy to understand the basics. The SQL part was bit challenging to follow especially in quiz took lot of time to understand. Overall, I liked it very much and I would absolutely recommend.

By Mykola L

Jul 10, 2020

The amazing course! Material is structured and represents the topics that are important for a basic understanding of data analytics. The professor provided information clearly and easily. The tasks are interesting and engaging. I liked that the tests have some real-life situations description.

By Andrés A P T

Aug 31, 2020

Introduction to Business Analytics represents a space where we can change our thinking way, and change our professional life. I am very pleased to have new experiences, and now I have the possibilities to apply new knowledge mixed with my whole knowledge in math with the real world.

Thanks.

By Nagesh K P

Jul 27, 2020

Typical data analysis involves the collection and organization of data. Then, finding correlations between that analyzed data and the rest of the company's and industry's data. It also entails the ability to spot problems and initiate preventative measures or problem solve creatively

By Usman M

Jun 19, 2017

The course material was easy to understand and very well presented in the form of videos and powerpoint presentations. This course is a perfect stepping stone for anyone who wants to explore Data Analytics and build on it by taking the rest of the courses in the specialization.

By Otto C

Aug 1, 2020

I personally think that it points you in the right direction to get into the BI world. The course is constructed with the information you really need to know in order to understand the systems and the analytics as a hole and not just as a technique that you can apply to data.

By Lourdes G

Jun 28, 2020

Good presentation and clarity of thoughts by the instructor. Well structured course with slides for future reference. Although I would have liked if we had more material on SQL queries. But overall a great course for beginners to have a good understanding of data analytics.

By Graciano P

Aug 18, 2020

Great introductory class on the topic of data analytics for business. This class also includes hands-on work doing SQL queries with real data. Along with exercise for a simulated analysis scenario based in industry that we are familiar with or that we have interest about.