Chevron Left
Back to Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
3,025 ratings

About the Course

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Top reviews

JH

Apr 5, 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

PM

Oct 17, 2020

Even as a dinosaur nerd, I still learned a lot. Instructional videos with embedded quizzes were very well constructed. I'm just a bit bummed that I couldn't access the fossil viewer for some reason.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,049 Reviews for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

By Rohit P

Jun 4, 2020

I am a zoology graduate and was in strict need for paleobiology knowledge. This course provided me with all that and more. The professors are great and they have put a lot of hardwork into buiding this course and it shows. This course in itself is very well put. Every little detail is well put, the tutor is friendly and the material is exceptional!

By Dan P

Jun 7, 2021

This course is excellent. Covers a lot of ground in 12 lessons. I have had a lifelong serious interest in dinosaurs, so I already knew most of the material, but did learn some things about fossils and some of the more technical aspects of paleontology, and some terminology. Great to see Phil Currie, and the main presenter, Betsy, was very good.

By Dave W

Mar 4, 2021

Very well done. Lots of information that is well presented at a good pace.

The only issues are the fossil viewer software is now quite out of date and doesn't work well with modern browsers. Some of the support material on third party websites is also no longer available. Neither of these had a significant negative impact on the course however.

By Lyliah H

Jan 16, 2021

I took this course for general interest and it delivered. I found it very interesting and mostly easy to understand. I feel that I know a lot more than I did before I started the course. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who has an interest or curiosity on the subject. It was well presented and interactive enough to keep my attention.

By Marcos G M

Nov 1, 2018

Está genial este curso, sí que es verdad que algunas palabras son muy técnicas y yo algunas no las supe, pero en general se entiende y la traducción está perfecto. Me encanta este curso, está muy bien elaborado y para todo aquél "friki" de los dinosaurios, este curso es idóneo para aprender a conocerlos y estudiarlos. Muchas gracias. Un saludo.

By ERIC S R

Aug 16, 2020

It´s an amazing course lo learn more about Dinosaurs ! I´m a geology student, I didn´t know many basic concepts of biology, but this course really helped me to learn more about biology and paleobiology. I really recommend this course !!! - Greetings from Torreón, Coahuila, México ! Eric Sánchez Ramos from the Universidad Autónoma de Chihuahua.

By Brian W

Sep 14, 2020

A most amazing course. So much information and detail in so little time! It answered many questions so I can now understand many of the scientific articles I am ready. And the instructors were nothing short of phenominal. So clear, concise so that the course material was easy to understand. Congratulations - I cannot wait to see what's next.

By Dr. R G

Jun 28, 2020

The Dino 101 course was brilliant in every sense. I enjoyed every bit of it. The excellent demonstrations and mode of discussions will help me a lot to enrich my existing knowledge of dinosaurs. Being an assistant professor of Zoology, I must appreciate the content, design of this beautiful course and encourage others to participate the same.

By Erin S

Jun 21, 2020

This course was well-designed and carefully assembled. Text tracked well with the videos which had good production-value. I am a teacher during a pandemic, and I took this course as a sample (good or bad) of an online course. I was surprised by the quality and learned a lot about both paleobiology and student-friendly online course design.

By S K

Apr 19, 2019

Was always intrigued about the dinosaurs and their lives. This course helped in understanding their times as well as introducing me to their morphology and anatomy. Overall, a great course for learning about the dinosaurs. This course is helpful for someone who is interested in learning about the evolution of reptiles, mammals and birds.

By Sheryl E

Dec 8, 2020

An excellent primer into the origins, extinction, and overall what we currently know about the dinosaurs. The notes-video-quiz structure of the course was easy to follow along with and the overall structure of weekly topics flowed nicely. Would highly recommend this course to anyone looking for a self-directed introduction to paleobiology.

By hilton m

Aug 11, 2020

loved it ! my inner child was awed and satisfied, maybe ill pursue this career.

the instructors were very clear , the notes before each lesson were very helpful and the course subjects were easy to understand. i highly recommend anyone reading the reviews to take this course!

those of you who put this course together are awesome! i loved it!

By Sarmad M

Jun 21, 2020

This review is biased because i love dinosaurs. Always wanted to learn more about them. Never really got the chance to growing up. This is a great first place to start learning more about these majestic creatures! The lesson notes and the videos are well prepared for your basic dinosaur newbie. The fossil viewer was my favorite bit though!

By Jennifer J

Feb 20, 2021

I really didn't know much about dinosaurs heading into this course but it went over a lot of (what I assume to be) the basics. It really goes over the points well and the tests aren't too difficult either. The fossil viewer, for me, did occasionally work but not always. When I could access it though I did enjoy using it. I learnt a lot.

By Marie-Chantale B

Aug 30, 2018

This course was fantastic! I was only taking it for my own pleasure as I've always been interested in dinosaurs. It was easy to follow, even if you have no science or paleontology background like me. I highly recommend it. Congratulations to all of those you worked on building this class. I wish there was more online classes like yours.

By Thomas C C

Jul 19, 2020

Fantastic beginners course on dinosaurs. My background is in anthropology, ancient DNA, and geology and it was great to apply some of those principles to another field. Before doing this course I thought palaeontology was too divergent for me to branch into despite having a hobbyist’s interest. Now it seems more plausible than ever!

By Ivar B R

Jun 25, 2022

I​ am so gratefull that i could do this course for free! It was so much fun and it was so interesting. Like you people said in the course I got more questions than answers and i really like that because it is so much to discover about this earth and all the things that lived here. Than you so much :)

Very h​appy student from Sweden

By Sarah B

Feb 21, 2019

This course was extremely informative and beautifully presented. An excellent grounding for the other paleontology courses offered by this passionate team from University of Alberta. I'm looking forward to diving into the more advanced courses from here on out. Thank you so much for all your hard work putting this course together!

By John J C

Dec 25, 2018

I had many concepts and ideas I have read in books made much clearer to me by studying this course! Koodos to the instructors and all that were involved in creating it! As an added bonus, taking it helped with my computer operating skills. (Which were basically non-existent beforehand!) I definitely plan on taking more courses!

By Lovina N

Jun 22, 2020

Absolutely loved doing all 12 weeks of this course! I have always had interest in dinosaurs and this only increased it. All topics were well planned and presented in easy to understand language, which kept me hooked. The short duration of each module also helped as it doesn't feel like taking in too much information at once.

By Vinda M

Feb 27, 2020

As someone from the Caribbean, we are not really exposed to learning materials such as in this course. It gives dinosaur enthusiasts a chance to come a lot closer to understanding these great creatures and in turn equip persons with the ability to pass on what has been learned to others. This Course was indeed a pleasure.

By Javier E S A

Oct 8, 2020

La enseñanza sigue un orden dado por los diferentes aspectos a tener en cuenta en la biología y la ecología de los dinosaurios; las lecturas, el material audiovisual (con una excelente narrativa) y las evaluaciones son ideales para continuar motivado con el estudio de los dinosaurios. Excelente curso, excelentes tutores.

By Gabby G

Mar 23, 2018

I have a degree in Geology, but never had the opportunity to take a class on Dinosaurs. This class was great at explaining introductory concepts for beginners, but also challenged folks who were more advanced. I was able to skim through what I knew, and study at more length what I did not. Overall, it was a great course.

By Jamie G

Jun 15, 2020

I loved this course! I took it for fun since my husband knows everything about dinosaurs, he was a dinosaur kid, and he even learned a few things from talking to me about the course. It was a great course to take for fun or even for those who are interested in pursuing geology, paleontology, paleobiology and much more.