Chevron Left
Back to Étudier en France: French Intermediate course B1-B2

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Étudier en France: French Intermediate course B1-B2 by École Polytechnique

4.8
stars
4,786 ratings

About the Course

Ce cours de français de niveau intermédiaire B1/B2, conforme aux exigences du Cadre européen de Référence pour les Langues, s’inscrit dans le double dispositif “former avec le numérique”et “langue et interculturalité” mis en place par l’Université Paris Saclay. Il s’adresse à tous les étudiants souhaitant poursuivre leurs études supérieures en France. Il leur permettra non seulement d’avoir le niveau requis en français pour suivre des cours dans le système supérieur français en termes de compétences linguistiques, mais les aidera à s’adapter à leur nouvel environnement dans les meilleures conditions. Ce cours propose en effet une immersion dans l’univers étudiant à travers des vidéos de cours, des textes de multiples formats, de courts extraits de films et de vidéos authentiques qui donnent la parole à des étudiants français ou étrangers vivant en France. Les étudiants pourront ainsi travailler toutes les compétences (compréhension orale et écrite, expression orale et écrite, grammaire et vocabulaire), puis tester ensuite leurs acquis grâce aux nombreux quiz proposés et, chaque semaine, ils auront aussi la possibilité de participer aux débats et aux discussions organisés sur le forum. Découvrir la vie en France et dans le monde francophone à travers ses cultures, ses littératures, ses films, ses journaux télévisés et sa langue (standard et plus familière) et comprendre le système d’enseignement supérieur français (assister à un cours magistral, comprendre le fonctionnement de l’évaluation …) : voici quelques-uns des enjeux de ce cours. Ses objectifs sont donc langagiers, mais aussi culturels et pratiques ! Note importante: ce Mooc ne remplace pas la passation de tests attestant du niveau B1 ou B2 tels que ceux proposés par le Ciep: TCF, Delf ou Dalf. Ce cours a été financé grâce au soutien de l’Université Paris-Saclay et celui de la fondation Patrick et Lina Drahi. « l’Ecole polytechnique vous concède une licence personnelle, non exclusive et non transférable vous permettant d’accéder et d’utiliser les contenus diffusés sur le site Coursera. En aucun cas, vous ne pouvez exploiter, de quelle que manière que ce soit les contenus diffusés sur le site Coursera, à d’autres fins que des fins personnelles. Toute reproduction, diffusion et utilisation collective à quelque titre que ce soit, tout usage commercial, ou toute mise à disposition de tiers, en l’état ou modifiés, de contenus, de cours ou d’œuvres intégrées à ceux-ci sont strictement interdits »....

Top reviews

LA

Oct 1, 2022

merci pour ce cours très enrichissant qui couvert beaucoup des aspects de base de langue française et bien sûr donne les clès pour savoir comment bien vivre en france et trouver le bonheur là-bas.

KU

May 31, 2020

Merci ! Grâce à vous le confinement était plus facile à supporter !

Je suis très contente d'être avec vous pendant six semaines.

Bonne chance à tous !

Krystyna Urbańska, Pologne

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,580 Reviews for Étudier en France: French Intermediate course B1-B2

By Marcelo P

Aug 3, 2022

I really enjoyed this course, specially the only male teacher whose name I have forgotten (Sorry). He is so full of energy, and explains evertything well with tons of enthusiasm. One aspect I didn't appreciate that much was the emphasis on grammar and grammatical terms which are really not necessary from the point of view of a speaker. But gladly, it was a tiny part of the course. Maybe because my mother tongue is Portuguese and I rely on intuition I don't need that part much, even though I suspect that non-romance language speakers might profit from that. The structure is good overall, and the examples drawn from real life experiences - including movies - make this course worth taking for French learners who have already covered the basics.

By RLee

Sep 6, 2021

It is a very well-structured French language course which encompasses every needs of living when you arrive in France for further study. It also has a metaphysical angle for higher command of the language. That is the constant exposure to different extracts of literature or exploring further on some language issues. It also has a touch with the current web culture and popular movies in France to make the course more real and down to earth. Professors are engaging with lucid, solid and well-thought explanations which could help clearing ambiguities. This course is a real success. I genuinely wish the team of École Polytechnique could expand further into providing the online courses for C1 and C2, or even French history and literature courses.

By Ceren S

Jan 10, 2021

This review is coming from a language teacher and translator. "Étudier en France: French Intermediate course B1-B2" by Ecole Polytechnique is one of the best online language courses I have seen. Because with this course you can learn French humor by reading a caricature every week, learn by peerteaching by grading each other's writings almost every week, read an incredible amount of quality materials, watch #authentic materials like the videos recorded by foreign students in France about being a student there, or videos from French Youtubers, learn a great deal about the French education system and culture in general. And these are JUST some of the many great things you can learn from this free course. It is truly amazing!

By Isabela V B

Nov 8, 2020

What a great course!! If you're reading these reviews right now, wondering if you should try it out: do it!! For such a small period of time (it's only six weeks long!), it's so, so detailed, well-built and well-taught! The teachers are absolutely amazing and even the most "boring" subjects - like grammar! - are made fun and entertaining! All the videos, film clips, texts and cartoons are so interesting and captivating! If you're thinking that maybe you're not that advanced yet, give it a try anyway; they review A2 subjects and, all-in-all, give great tips and help you get to a higher level by engaging with advanced texts and audios. To all involved in the making of this course, je vous remercie!!! :D

By Rivanda S

Jul 18, 2021

O curso me surpreendeu bastante! O cronograma exige que o aluno já tenha um prévio conhecimento de francês em nível intermediário e tem por objetivo revisar e fixar, através de uma visão global do idioma, os pontos que porventura ainda não tenham sido bem assimilados. Os vídeos são bem elaborados e nada superficiais. As atividades escritas não são simples e nos obrigam a sair da nossa zona de conforto e o fato de sermos convocados a corrigir as atividades de outros colegas nos obriga a trabalhar igualmente o olhar crítico não só sobre outros pontos de vista, mas também outros estilos de escrita e outras culturas. Realmente aprendi muito durante essas 6 semanas de curso!

By Slim T

Jun 28, 2020

Le cours est très bien élaboré. Il m'a permis de pratiquer la langue française à travers des activités d'apprentissage très intéressantes.

J'ai beaucoup aimé la variété des supports: textes, vidéos, dessins, quiz , chansons, articles de presse, vocabulaire, liens...

J'ai aimé aussi l'articulation entre les activités, c'est-à-dire les liens et la complémentarité entre lecture et écriture/ lecture et grammaire...

Le débat, l'espace de discussion et le travail collaboratif entre les pairs ( expression écrite) sont un "précieux" moyen d’échange et d'enrichissement.

Je vous remercie, mes chers professeurs, pour votre générosité et votre précieuse aide.

"MERCI" du fond du cœur.

By Aaron G V

Sep 21, 2020

Je n'avais que 2 ans en apprenant le francais au nivaeau A1 a mon ecole. Je m'ameliorais le francais a travers des podcasts, des livres, des articles sur l'internet, etc. Je n'avais pas eu de la chance de l'apprendre de maniere approfondie. Pourtant, Ce MOOC offert des cours gratuits aux etudiants comme moi. J'ai enfin reussi mon objectif, c'est a dire, avancer au niveau B1

En plus, la theme du cours est appropriee pour moi puisque j'aimerais etudier en France un jour. Moi, je remercie aux professeurs et a l'equipe de l'Ecole Polytechnique pour ce cours formidable et divertissant. Grace a vous, je suis un peu plus proche et pret pour mon projet d'etudes en France.

By Thomas F

May 18, 2020

This is the greatest course I've ever taken!! If you want to get your French to another level I would say It's a must! Challenging and fun at the same time, I've absolutely loved the instructors and the course is so useful and it made me finally fall in love with the language! I can't believe that it's available for free, and I am going to buy the certificate (even though I am not sure if I need it) because I'd feel bad to have benefited from this without giving something back. Thanks again!

If you are thinking about taking this course just give it a shot, you won't regret it I can assure you that!

By Katrin P

Nov 18, 2022

J'ai bien aimé ce cours bien structuré et intégrant les éléments diverses à connaître lorsqu'un étudiant adopte la France pour y faire ses études.

Par contre, l'ergonomie du site peut être, à mon avis, améliorée. Quand on passe d'un sujet à un autre, par exemple d'un quiz à la prochaine étape, il se peut que la page saute. C'est en tout cas l'expérience que j'ai faite à plusieurs reprises. De plus, pour moi, il manquait aussi les devoirs sur les dessins. Je cherchais à donner mes réponses, mais je ne voyais pas d'endroit où je les aurais pu écrire.

Sinon bravo pour ce très bon cours !

By Denise R

Jul 21, 2021

I got a lot out of this course! I appreciate the extent of the movie clips, song lyrics, political cartoons, poems, philosophy passages etc. that the instructors included to create an interesting and well-rounded course. Each week there were tasks that focused on reading, writing, listening, and speaking as well as a focus on grammar and vocabulary. Many of the listening comprehension pieces and the quizzes felt like a stretch as I was doing them, but these skills improved with practice over the length of the class. I would love another course by these instructors. Thank you!!

By Christopher D

Apr 26, 2022

This is a great but somewhat unusual course that is directed primarlily to students who wish to persue university studies in France. It provides insight into housing, the health system, university structure, protocols and bureaucracy that would be otherwise difficult to obtain. There are many interesting videos, a review of basic grammar and plenty of opportunity to use the language. through quizzes and exercises. The instructors are excellent. Anyone who struggles with this course should probably work to raise their level of competency before going to school in France.

By Fabián F H M

Jul 5, 2020

C'est un très bon cours. On apprend beaucoup et si l'on est autonome, on améliore beaucoup dans la compréhension orale et écrite. De plus, les vidéos son très intéressantes. Je me suis bien amusé.

J'ai une seule recommandation: dans les réponses écrites de examens, il serait convenable de spécifier quand il faut mettre un point ou quand non. Je dis cela parce que des fois j'avais des bonnes réponses mais je mettais un point final et par conséquent la réponse était incorrecte, puis je refasais le quiz et je répondais la même chose sans le point et voilà, c'est correct.

By Cláudia L P

Dec 15, 2018

Gostei muito de frequentar este curso que superou as minhas expectativas. A forma como está organizado, com definição de prazos flexíveis para as tarefas, permitiu-me conciliar com o meu trabalho e ainda assim terminar a tempo. Os vídeos, exercícios de compreensão, gramática e escrita, permitiram-me aprender e os recursos fornecidos, possibilitam manter uma aprendizagem contínua após o término do curso. Este curso também permite ter uma visão da vida para um estudante universitário, dando algumas dicas úteis para facilitar a adaptação. Recomendo este curso!

By cristina m

Mar 18, 2022

J'ai adoré le cours. Les professeurs sont super, surtout le professeur Olivier Bertrand qui explique très bien, très didactique et clair. J'ai adoré connaître le sens et l'origine de certains mots. L'enseignante Julie André a une excellente diction et ses cours de prononciation et de phonétique sont spectaculaires. La professeure Isabelle Schaufner n'a pas non plus déçu. Je n'ai qu'une seule critique : parfois, le vocabulaire à examiner et à entraîner venait après la tâche et cela la rendait un peu difficile. Encore bravo et je recommande vivement !

By sonya

Dec 12, 2019

I feel like a challenge to test my French knowledge especially in grammar (pronouns). It has been since 10 years that I attended French course academically speaking. I love to learn more and be able to regain the ease at speaking French. When I focused on English I got confused with the French vocabulary. Anyway it is a great pleasure to feel active and learning. It is true that man is on ongoing learning course in life. LOADS OF THANKS TO THE LECTURERS AND THE GENEROUS INFORMATION. I AM GRATEFUL TO COURSERA AD BEST LUCK TO ALL LEARNERS HERE!

By max f

May 31, 2018

Un très bon cours qui permette de raviver quelques aspects de la grammaire et du vocabulaire français.

Le système du "peer review" des contributions est bon. Mais en plus je désirais une correction et des commentaires par les enseignants (ou leurs assistants). Un grand bouleau et un service qui ne serait bien sûr pas gratuit (mais ainsi on pourrait "alimenter" ses assistants).

Pour des étudiants qui veulent étudier en France une bonne introduction à sa mode de vivre, à son système universitaire et prévient contre quelques de ses pièges .

By Sean M T

Nov 1, 2020

Ce cours est très utile pour ceux qui veulent apprendre ou réapprendre la grammaire requis pour un niveau intermédiaire en français. Les sections académique, qui risquent d’être ennuyeux, sont en fait très bien présenté, par des professeurs charismatiques. Ne vous laissez certainement pas décourager par le titre "Étudier en France" : l'enseignement offert ici est plus généralement applicable que cela, et donne des perspectives sur une gamme de sujets pertinents pour la culture française, même si oui, l’accent est mis sur la vie étudiante.

By Ann G

Apr 21, 2023

I am not planning to study in France, but I saw this as an excellent review of concepts I studied 50 years ago in university. It was difficult for me, particularly the written pieces, but an excellent review and chance to improve my skills. My plan is take my granddaughters to Paris in 2 years, so this was very helpful. It would be especially useful for expats in university as it speaks to lodging, visas and other important topics of daily life in a foreign country. I LOVED it! I wish there were another such course at a higher level.

By Judit M E

Nov 4, 2020

Really good course for keeping up with learning french for free. It has many hours of relevant content in topics, grammar, vocabulary, phonetics, reading, writing and listening. It is a very complete, quite demanding, course that not only teaches you french, but it also shows the french culture, formal and informal situations (relatable and actually useful things you will need if you move there), the french systems, their way of thinking, etc. Overall, allowing you to be more critical as well. Thanks for making this course possible!

By Emilia C

May 18, 2020

Disfrute mucho el aprendizaje de este curso de Francés. El material muy bien organizado, los videos, y la estructura del curso me gustaron mucho. Fue un reto que me propuse y pude dedicar mas del tiempo requerido. Gracias por el aporte valioso de este curso para expandir la cultura francesa y su bello idioma. Esperamos que se ofrezca el siguiente nivel C1 para continuar con el aprendizaje de la lengua francesa. Muchas gracias en verdad a los instructores y a Coursera por abrir esta gran oportunidad a miles de estudiantes.

By Maria B

Sep 7, 2022

Me gustó mucho este curso. Pienso que mi nivel es un poco más bajo, sin embargo pude completar todas las semanas en un tiempo bastante relajado. Aprendí bastante. Las tareas y ejercicios son muy bien diseñados. Los profesores son excelentes. En ocasiones los videos me parecieron un poco rápidos pero siempre se puede repetir varias veces para captar todo y guardar el material de texto. Es muy flexible en ese aspecto.

Ojalá pueda repetirlo y hacer otros. Lo recomiendo.

Gracias COURSERA!

Merci, École Politechnique de France!

By Cailin W

May 19, 2021

Course was very informative and very helpful. One major problem that I had with the quizzes was that they did not often give you any reasoning for why an answer was wrong, which I found to be tedious. You had to go back through the lesson to find one specific rule, and it could have just been explained like the correct answers were. I understand WHY they did it this way, but I was not a fan of that. Otherwise, I think the material was very informative and could be very useful to someone who wanted to study in France.

By Bernardo A

Jun 11, 2020

A Bonheur, je trouvais cet cour par hasard dans l'internet, et immédiatement j'abordais l'intérêt, parce que le Français est la langue que j'adore comme si elle soit ma langue maternelle, l'espagnol. J'ai eu l'occasion de m'inscrire et voilà, finalement j'ai réussi... Mes félicitations à tous, les professeurs avaient été les meilleurs... À bientôt..

Note: j'ai décidé de lire les ouvrages classiques de la littérature Française. Je veux recevoir de l'information sur cours a quelque chose comme çà..

Merci Beaucoup.

By Constanze B

Dec 20, 2023

Even as someone who's studied French for a decade and who's at a higher B2 level, I learned a lot of new things in this course. I particularly enjoyed the push to read longer articles (something I don't do much by myself) and the education on French (university) culture. The quizzes were very helpful, especially as they sometimes explained why certain answers were right / wrong. Overall extremely well-balanced course jam-packed with information and definitely great as a review of the B1/B2 level as well.

By Lorna H R

Sep 22, 2019

I really appreciated being forced to look at my lack of grammar. I enjoyed being exposed to so many aspects-film, music, readings, etc, that I kept wanting to go down those rabbit holes! I have a better idea of what to work on now to improve my french, and I have thought about retaking this course just to improve even more, or looking for another class. Thank you a thousand times for this opportunity and this possibility. I am grateful, as there is no place for me to go to learn French